We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change the Tea & Coffee at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“Change the Tea & Coffee at breakfast”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. All the staff are helpful & friendly. Food is lovely for a 3 star hotel. The Sunday buffet is fantastic, sorry i didn't take a photo. Unfortunately, the tea & coffee at breakfast are a let down. The 'hot water' is definetly not hot, just tepid, and the tea bags supplied are dreadful, even the British don't like the coffee, it's so weak. Coffee from the little bar after dinner is very nice.(not included in dinner price). The walk from the Marina Grande to Sorrento is quite steep, over cobbled steps, not for the faint hearted or unfit. The alternate route up the road, is quite daunting too. There is a bus every half an hour, but at 2 euros, this cost soon mounts up. Taxis's are available but not reliable, if they do turn up they are expensive. (12 euros).The hotel would benefit from a shuttle bus of its own at peak times & to take people to excursion pick up points. Sorrento is an expensive place, exaggerated by the poor exhange rate,(£ to Euro). You cannot do Sorrento on a low budget. Tour trips are expensive, and have hidden costs. (Lunch & entrance fees not included). The views are fantastic across the Bay of Naples

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    326
    147
    39
    19
See reviews for
108
684
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
italy
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

You will really enjoy staying in the Admiral Hotel, the staff are very friendly, and nothing is too much bother. The waiter Miki will always greet you with a smile every morning and evening. The manager Gisepie, is always available, and a lovely man, you feel like youve known him for ages, he love to chat, about his hotel,and his family, both of which he is very proud. The hotel is very stylish, and very well decorated and clean. The bedrooms are spacious, and the maids always keep the room spotless, and clean towels every day. The Admiral is a very comforable, and relaxing hotel, and the postion is to be envied by other hotels. And the staff, including the manager, enjoy fishing from the decking, trying to catch those litte fish. Once you have stayed in this lovely hotel, you will want to come back again and again,(as many of the quest have been doing over the years). to enjoy the wonderful relaxing feel of Sorrrento and the lovely hotel Admiral. We had a ball, and we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenlandItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Just back from another amazing week staying in Sorrento at the Hotel Admiral in Marina Grande. This hotel is in the best location. This is the third time we have stayed at the Admiral and won't hesitate to go back again. All the staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you. Thank you to Andreas for keeping the drinks flowing and thank you to all the restaurant staff especially Guiseppe. The food is excellent - especially the Gala dinner where Chef Luigi parades through with the food. Sorrento is the most wonderful place and staying in Marina Grande makes it that little bit special. Strolling past all the locals going about their everyday lives is lovely. There is nothing better than sitting on your balcony with the views of the harbour with the sea gently lapping and Vesuvius looming majestically across the bay. Highly recommend Fauno Bar in Piazza Tasso - excellent for people watching. Every time we go to Sorrento, it feels like going home - can't wait for next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorrento09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Hotel Admiral is not quite in the centre of Sorrento but in many ways this enabled us to see more of the city. It is set in a really authentic marina with fantastic restaurants right on the sea. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, and if possible ask for a sea view - it is stunning! Our room had a balcony that overlooked the bay and it was the perfect place to relax. The staff are all helpful and speak excellent English, and took it upon themselves to help in little ways such as finding bus timetables etc. Breakfast was included and was a nice variety of cakes, breads, cereal, cheese, ham, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, fruit and yoghurt. All in all we couldn't have asked for better - and at such a reasonable price!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPriceCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at the Admiral in August 2009 (we are both in our twenties). The Hotel is situated on the cliff overlooking Marina Grande and the Sea view rooms look out over the bay and onto Vesuvius which is an amazing sight first thing in the morning. There is a 10-15 min walk up some stairs to the town centre, which is quite steep, but not too strenuous. However, right next to the Hotel you have numerous beautiful restaurants which serve a wide variety of Italian dishes. We stayed at the hotel on a Half Board basis and ate there every night. The menu was varied every night, with several choices for each course and was much better than we anticipated. They also have a Buffet dinner one night (which was excellent, with so much choice and variety) and a Gala Dinner another night. Breakfast was normal buffet style with a variety of hot and cold choices. The bar had a wide variety of local and international drinks and also had a Happy Hour twice a week where you can get very nice Cocktails. All Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them (especially 'Superman!')
All in all this is a wonderful hotel with such a beautiful location. We really didn't want to leave and we definitely would return to this hotel. I would highly recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weebit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband and I went here in August. I cannot describe how fantastic this hotel is. This was our second visit to Sorrento but first time at the Admiral. We had a room overlooking the bay and it was breathtaking. You literally opened the blinds and there was the sea inches from our window. The Manager is so helpful and the staff (every single one of them) were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The Gala night is such an experience you cannot miss it and the buffets on the terrace every Sunday were lovely. The best hotel we have been to and we will always have such fond memories of an amazing stay The Admiral. Determined to return in years to come.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodyel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

oh my god,what a place stunning just stunning,hotel location perfect,would highly recommend you pay extra for sea view,oh what a veiw,well worth the extra money as you can sunbath out on your balcony.room was very clean,food just brill,gala nite and buffet nite not to be missed,caught tail end of st anna festival which was lovely,if going on excursions watch out for hidden extras.will defininently be going back to the admiral hotel in the future,wee got engaged in the near by island of capri. best holiday ever.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
1,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing