We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel but be prepared to be patient with the management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
2 reviews
“A good hotel but be prepared to be patient with the management”
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I can see why people like this hotel, but I think a measure of a good hotel depends on a) whether you encounter any problems and b) what the hotels response is. We found that the management had to be persuaded to put the heating on - we had been given an excuse about it being broken with an engineer due before it was suddenly 'fixed' by the manager. We also had some problems with the arrangments for departure. They complained they knew nothing of our departure time and blamed the travel company's lack of communication. This left us late and needing to run with cases to our shuttle bus with the usual end-of-holiday anxieties about departure. The manager was unhelpful, his apology lacking in conviction. However, the food in this hotel was brilliant. The rooms reasonably clean and the staff helpful on the whole. The location is picturesque to say the least. The town easy to get to, for those with mobility problems get the bus (once per hour) or walk a steep incline. There is no tea or coffee in the room, although the complimentary wine on arrival was nice. The tv is all italien, with no bbc24 (advertising it has sky tv was misleading). All in all a good hotel and value for money, if you dont rock the fishing boat.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    324
    143
    38
    19
See reviews for
106
671
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed at The Admiral in Sept. 2009. We found the hotel excellent in every way. All the staff were friendly and seemed demonstrated a genuine desire to please. The cleanliness of the rooms and the room service were a credit to the staff concerned. The hotel is in a beautiful location in the Marine Grande and commands , probably, the best position in Sorrento. We stayed half board tariff which, we feel, qualifies us to say that both the continental style breakfast and the evening meal was to a high standard both in quality and variety. Our rooms were superb and we would recommend paying the supplement for a sea view, at the time of booking, not that the other rooms are sub standard in any way, but thet the views from the front of the hotel are well worth the extra. It might be worth noting that, due to it's position at the bottom of the town, the hotel might not suit persons with mobility problems but, having said that there is a regular bus from the harbour to the town. We have no hestitation in recommending the hotel and it is difficult to understand how anyone could find fault with it. The Admiral is a credit to Management and staff in general and we would stay nowhere else in Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GILLYDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Spent the penultimate week in October at this hotel, our first time based here but third time in Sorrento.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the food's good, the rooms are clean, but best of all is the view over the water towards Vesuvius. We had a fourth floor room with balcony (more of a terrace really). Because of its location at one end of the Marina Grande it's very quiet and peaceful. A bit of a trek to Sorrento centre but no problem if you enjoy walking. And last but not least, it's at the cheaper end of the market.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I stayed 4 days at Admiral and it was a nice experience. Location is very quiet and you can get to the central station (train and bus) of Sorrento by bus from a stop near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west Lothian
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Admiral in Sorrento which we found excellent and good value for what we paid.
Prior to going, we had read some very mixed reviews on this hotel and decided to have a very open mind and decide for ourselves on arrival.
I am pleased we did so for we found the hotel staff friendly and helpful, the bedrooms comfortable and clean, the public areas ideal for relaxing and the quality of food and presentation for a three star hotel above reproach.
Yes, the hotel is not the most accessible but if two 65 year olds can manage the walk to the town centre several times each day then I don't see a problem.
The huge bonus was the unrestricted views from the hotel across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius and the coming and going of the shipping into Sorrento.
So I would urge you to give this place a try

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jagojeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I have left the hotel a few weeks ago and was upset to go,i have to say its been the best experiance of a stay i have had ever.The hotel is in a beautifal quaint locals marina.The hotel its self sits proudly at the end out the was and has splendid views.
The hotel is incrediable welcoming and you get a real sence of home on arrival.
The girls at reception,Nardia,Geoge and Subrina are all excellent at there jobs and well presentsed(although i cant help but think long neck scarfs would be more complementling specially in the heat).The bar duo are wonderful,i pleasent young lad then theres mr bond of course!who has to be one of the most lovely gentleman i have ever met,so funny yet proffessional and extremely hard working-there cocktails are deliciouse!Resturante is deadley though-do expect to come off those diets that us ladies pride ourselves for to gain extra pounds!theres a wide range of food to die for,the garlour night is a feast and i could not thought it.Staff are fab,the two young lads are adorable and the other waiters are spot on,Then the Head waiter Antonio,very charming and humble!
The room was lovely and so so clean,with the maids greeting us everyday it was perfect!The Entertainment is quirky and George does infact have a huge... bumbag that goes everywhere with him!
Thomsons is always a company i go with nut i can honestly say i havnt come across such a spectacular rep as there was in the hotel!Lindsay was attentive and funny aswell as being caring a well organised,we went on her wine tasting evening and we had a bull!a real credit to thomsons is lindsay and she will be sadley missed i expect by the staff when she goes in a few weeks!
o,theres one person i almost missed...well no i wanted to leave him till last and thats the hotel manager Guiseppe-such a lovely gentleman-so helpful and so hansome!He really went out his way to assist when we needed him and was in every day mingling with all the guests-a fine gentleman!
I am a fond traveller to italy but i can never get enough of pompeii and herculanium,but the trip to ischia is extremley good aswell!The food is fab and Sorrento is spectacular to visit and of course i wouldnt stay in any other place but the Admiral!

Almost forgot-i do believe its 007 mr bonds the barmans birthday any day now-HAPPY BIRTHDAY FAFFALINA xx

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds yorks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

What a little gem of a hotel, having looked at reviews for this hotel we booked with Portland, so glad we did, perfect location, excellent staff , superb rooms, sea views a must, we had a top floor room looking over Vesuvious, amazing. The food was very good, always lots of choice beautifully presented. The harbour is so unspoilt not at all touristy we found lots of Americans eating down there and they loved it.
If you want to visit Pompeii , Herculaneum etc ( if you are over 65 take your passports & its free entry) don't book the expensive excursions, we did everything by bus or train, easy to get about & cheap. We also went to Amalfi and Positano both stunning places by bus on the Amalfi drive. Loved everything about this holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaxLeedsYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing