We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Nice hotel, very quiet. Food OK but they are not good with vegatables, over cooked and limited choice.
It is a 'good walk to town' but the buses are fine.
7.20 euro for a 24hr bus and train ticket is good value. It covers the Circumvesuviana train and the bus to Amalfi, plus all in between.
I would advise anyone to book a room witha sea view and balcony. If not, don't go there, you will be envious of the people who have..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

We have just returned from a week in Sorrento at this hotel and would both definitely return. First things first, though: be warned, this hotel seems in the main to attract an older clientele and predominantly British. While this didn't deter us (we went out exploring etc most days), it was noticeable in the evenings and at breakfast (we booked with Thomson, who sell the package as half board)...seemed like some people liked to have "their" table etc.
The official rating of this hotel is 3 stars, which I would say is accurate. There are other more luxurious hotels in Sorrento, but in my opinion none can match this hotel for its to-die-for location. If it's uninterrupted views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvious that you are after, then this hotel cannot be beaten. As other reviewers have stated (and it's stated very clearly in Thomson's information too), this hotel is situated on the Marina Grande, which was the original marina in Sorrento as well as the location for some of Sophia Loren's earlier films. The location of this hotel will not be suitable for those with difficulties walking. Vehicles larger than a Fiat 500 cannot be driven to the door of the hotel, owing to the very narrow streets, which will mean at least a 150 yard walk with your suitcase. The most convenient walk into town is along the marina and then uphill via fairly gently sloping steps which are not individually steep although you might "feel the burn" by the time you reach the top! The walk took us about 15 to 20 minutes, although we usually stopped to take in the breathtaking views.
The location of the hotel also means that it is wonderfully peaceful compared to the madness surrounding the hotels in the town centre. The Marina Grande is the smallest of the marinas (it is still a working fishing marina however) and so is fairly quiet and very laid back.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We paid the modest supplement for a seaview and was well worth it. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard each day and my only quible would be that the shower was not powerful enough! A very minor niggle, which was well and truly cancelled out by the fabulous views from the balcony and the lovely staff at the hotel.
All of the staff were polite and friendly. A particular mention has to go to Andreas, who runs the bar during lunch and evening. He was very friendly, funny and accommodating; nothing was ever too much trouble and he took an obvious pride in doing a good job. The prices at the bar both for drinks and snacks/lunch were very reasonable and on a par with prices in the town, maybe slightly cheaper. The lunch snack menu was fairly simple but covered most tastes. We ordered a couple of simple lunches in the hotel and all were cooked well and tasty.
I note that other reviewers have criticised the breakfast and dinner menus served. My experience was that the breakfast was pretty standard continental fare (sweet rolls, yoghurts, cereals, fruit, meats, cheese, egg etc) which was fine for me. Dinner is an enormous affair, typically with a starter (risotto, pasta, soup), main course (meat, fish with vegetables) and dessert (seemingly always tiramisu as well as cake, fruit). The starters are as big as the mains, so it takes some eating! I disagree with another reviewer who states that the food was poorly cooked. On the contrary, my experience was that the chef had quite obviously taken the time to cook dishes that utilised seasonal ingredients. My only criticism regarding the food is that it was somewhat Anglicised, probably to cater for the particular clientele (see above).
The Admiral is good value for money to the extent that we didn't mind foregoing dinner at the hotel on occasions in order to sample some of the lovely restaurants. The best was but a stone's throw away: Delphino's. Now I noticed that this restaurant is frequented predominantly by Americans (perhaps it is specifically marketed within the U.S., I am not sure), plus Italians. The food here is fantastic and great value. The service is great and they always give you a little something extra, for example a free starter and limoncello to finish. Although a seafood restaurant, there are plenty of choices for those who don't like seafood. For those that do, try the seafood risotto from the specials menu!
All in all, a lovely quiet hotel which will suit those who don't mind stretching their legs in order to explore the town. Finally, the Thomson rep for the hotel is currently a young chap called Jamie. He has 3 hotels to look after and manages spendidly with what is obviously a very busy work diary (not to mention some very demanding customers of a certain age). Many thanks to him for the exceptionally informative welcome meeting and tour. How he manages to always have a smile on his face and a kind word for everybody is beyond me...I just hope that Thomson reward him with a nice easy location for his next posting!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LearnedFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My bofriend and I stayed at this hotel in October 2009, it was our first holiday together and has most definately set a precedent.

With the hotel being at the end of a residential harbour it was so peaceful in the day away from the hustle of the main square, but yet still easy accessible, it was about a 10 minute walk either up steps or a road way. Going away in October we had taken a gamble with the weather, but the sun shined every day and we had a choice of relaxing round the pool in the morning, then when the sun came off there we had a choice of two bathing platforms and if you eat at the restaurants you don't need to pay for sunbeds, there was a small patch of beach where you could sunbath and paddle in the sea if you wish.

The hotel was fabulous for being 3 star, we arrived late evening and food was prepared for us and a bottle of Spurmati waiting in the room for us, the rooms were clean and sufficent but were 3 star, when we opened the doors to the balcony we could not believe the length of it and it over looked the sea and mount vesuvius, it was perfect. Breakfast was stated as continental but there was always an option of scrambled eggs, bacon or sausages. Evening meal was a three course sit down meal, with a choice of 3/4 options for each course. Each week they hold a gala night which is about 6 courses and also a buffet evening where i have never seen so much food laid out, the meals were definatley more than 3 star, all staff are very welcoming but also the fellow guests were too.

We decided against booking the thompson excursion (except for the wine festival) due to the hefty price, but we tagged along with another couple and did pompeii, which was great, there is a bus which can take you up to the town and then the railway station is not far, they did do all the work though we just tagged on!

The bathing platforms were great and the one with yellow coverings had steps into the sea if you fancied a dip. The town was nice to have a stroll to on the night and for a bit of lunch, but one day the boyfriend and I went to the local shop by the hotel and they make up sandwiches so we had a beach picnic which was more cost effective than eating lunch at restaurants everday day.

We could not fault this holiday, hotel was great, food was fantastic, staff very friendly and what they say about George is true lol! Location was out of this world, but going in October the sun did come off the hotel come 12ish which meant the pool never warmed up and it was time to grab some lunch and retire to the bathing platforms. The only thing we would say is that Sorrento is pricey.

Just another little thing all drinks that you get at the hotel they put on a tab for you, which is great but you can get carried away with what you have spent but the reception have no problem with you settling the bar bill mid week if you wish.

Most definatley go back but would go September time next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella_Aragosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Just returned from a week at the Admiral hotel Sorrento,we booked this holiday with a travel company,as it was the cheapest way,So what can one say about the Admiral Hotel,
Well! nothing bad,the room was spacious,king size comfortable bed,sufficient storage of a high quality,air conditioned,views depended on what you paid,as with balcony`s,
Bathroom,good size,usual amenities,clean towels,soap ect daily,room cleaned daily to a high standard,service from reception was excellent.
BUT not yet come to the good bit, THE FOOD out of this world,service in hotel resturant,
by waiters in morning suits from 0700,restaurant manager (ex cruise liner restaurant manager) could not do enough for you.
Two special nights in restaurant, Sunday buffet night,fabulous,chief with giant turkey,Thursday night,Gala night,Cooked pig paraded around restaurant,to clapping from guests.
The hotel sit`s on the edge of the bay,amongst a small fishing community,with a short walk into the town of Sorrento,with it`s wonderfull resturants,and narrow streets of interesting shops,the atmosphere of the town is warm and friendly.
Prices are as the UK,

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We have just got back from a week at the Admiral Horel in Sorrento. Firstly the room we had was a seaview on the second floor which is a very modest supplement addition to the overall price of the holiday and well worth it.

The bed itself was comfortable and the room was bright airy and spacious. The overall cleanliness of this hotel was very good and it was also quiet at night as you are on the Marina Grande which is a quaint fishing village, just a steep 15 minute walk from the main square in to Sorrento ( not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties although there is an hourly bus service to the main square) The marina has various fish restaurants, a couple we sampled and the best one we found was Trattoria De Emilia, this has a limited menu but well cooked locally caught fish, pasta dishes and very reasonably priced. We eat at the 5 De Liva sisters restaurant which although an ok meal was very overpriced in comparison to Trattoria De Emilia.

We were staying on a half board basis and overall the evening meals were quite good (some evenings better than others) but I have to say we did not like the breakfast at all that was on offer. I am not expecting a full english on holiday on the continent but we thought it was very basic and as this hotel is exclusive for Thomson/First choice UK holiday guests mainly for the summer the breakfast did not reflect this. The cereals I tried were stale and the scrambled eggs I think were made from the powdered variety and not at all appertising. Limited choice of ham/cheese etc and overall I felt the breakfast let the hotel down. Sliced melon, fresh fruit salad more cheeses and different varieties of ham would of been a nice addition so consequently it meant we had to eat out lunch times which was an added expense we had not bargained for. We did eat out 2 evenings but this was our choice to celebrate an anniversay and try a local restaurant in the town. Speaking to other guest some felt the food overall was quite good but several agreed that the breakfast could be improved upon.

The staff here are very friendly and work appear to work hard, the hotel manager is hands on and can be seen regularly talking to guests in the lounge or outside on the decking patio etc. The hotel is quite small but we liked this as it was more personable and the main foyer/ reception also doubles as the main lounge bar too.

Would I recommend this hotel to others... well yes I would but be prepared that you may have to eat out more frequently than anticipated however the upshot is that this hotel is a 3* and alot less expensive than some of the others we considered so we got what we paid for in the food department. When I return to Sorrento I shall consider this in my choice of hotels but if this hotel offered room only or so call B & B then I may go back there as the rest of it was very pleasurable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Admiral Hotel in Sorrento
And I thought I would once again share my views,

We went with Thomsons, I was satisfied with the service especially the local holiday advisor ‘ Jamie’, lots of enthusiasm and helpful

The Hotel
Internally everything is neat, tidy and clean, a bit more effort could have been made on the exterior, to say this is the start of the season I thought the outside looked shabby ( no out of season cosmetic touch-up.)
The room maid service was excellent, rooms kept really clean with fresh towels every day. Well done to the ladies !
The lounge bar is ok and at 4 Euros a pint is the cheapest beer in Marina Grande, prices for spirits are the same as the local tavernas ( about 6 euros for a Gin& Tonic)

The Room
Our room was on the fourth floor (407), this room seemed to be smaller than our neighbours for some reason, however it was big enough for us
The views from the balcony are ‘to die for’ straight across the bay looking at Vesuvius.
Unfortunately we where directly below one of the big main air conditioning fans on the roof, when it switched on it started with a resounding thump and then ran loudly for several minutes, this happened throughout the day and night at frequent intervals for the duration of our stay.
Other guests on the second floor told us they could hear it too.
When we questioned the hotel staff about the noise they denied all knowledge of it

The Food
We stayed half board and I have to say I wish we hadn’t.
Breakfast consisted of a selection of cold meats, cheese, cereals etc, the only hot food available was scrambled egg, bacon or hotdog sausages, this was put out at 7am and then kept warm ? by three tea lights (see the attached picture)
The evening meals were equally unmemorable, with the exception of the Thursday night Gala dinner the meals were rarely better than warm.
The main courses consisted of poorly cooked meat or fish and greasy potatoes and on most occasions limp/watery cabbage
The dessert selection was limited, also you need to look what there is, the waiter doesn’t always tell you everything.

The lounge bar does a reasonably good snack lunch at a fair price.
These come freshly cooked and hot.

Sorrento.
Marina Grande itself is quite pleasant with a selection of restaurants and bars to visit.
You can walk into Sorrento from the hotel although it is a good uphill trek
If you are poor on your feet or have breathing difficulties it could be too much.
You can catch a local bus from outside the ‘Tabachi’ (200 mtrs from the hotel) which takes you right into the centre of Sorrento. You also buy your tickets at the ‘Tabacci’ 2.40 euros a single trip.
Sorrento itself is a lovely town, plenty of life and colour, the back streets offer the best shopping with most of the shopkeepers being friendly and helpful.
Practicing your Italian always helps but English is almost a second language to the locals.
If you intend to go to Pompeii try doing it yourself on the local transport
The train is 3.40 euros return and you get off the local bus from the hotel at the train station. The entrance to the ruins is just outside Pompeii train station.

Would I use the Admiral hotel again – probably No.
Would I go to Sorrento again – probably Yes

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyhound9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Hotel Admiral in Sorrento. The hotel is on the harbour, with lovely views across the water to Vesuvius. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and sea view. The same views are available from the communal deck area, so if you are out a lot and don’t mind staring at a rock face, a rear room might be ok. The hotel is very clean. The beds are a good size (my husband is 6’3) and comfy. Good, hot showers and fantastic evening meals €20 per head. The situation is also good, peaceful with a 10 – 15 min enjoyable walk up a gentle incline into the town.
We can only think of a couple of possible improvements such as a kettle and mini-fridge in the room + facilities to print boarding passes for return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleybanister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing