We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed...”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Hotel Admiral is at the end of the Marina Grande (which, despite its name, is actually the smaller of Sorrento’s two harbours!) and is set at the foot of the cliff, with its bathing deck actually overhanging the sea looking across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. We had no problems with our stay at the hotel itself which was bed and breakfast so we cannot pass judgement on the evening meals; however, the breakfasts had plenty of choice (eg eggs, bacon/sausage, fruit, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, toast, pastries etc) and were perfectly acceptable save that the juices were not fresh, as has been mentioned by others. The bar prices were reasonable (including a couple of happy hours per week) and the bar, dining room and reception staff were also always friendly. We booked direct with the hotel, paying extra (well worth it) for a sea view, but as we were in a room set in between the wings of the hotel and on the third floor, our balcony didn’t get any direct sun. This did not bother us as it kept everything cool but do be aware if you hope to sunbathe on your balcony. Also, the sun loungers outside do not lay flat so if you want to roast your back you have to lie out on the deck itself.

The room itself was welcoming: a good size with a large double and a single bed, and a full size bath plus plenty of clothes space. The TV had a couple of English language news channels but the remote did not work – however, as we only turned it on twice all week this was not a problem for us. A chilled bottle of fizz from the management was a welcome gift on arrival. We were lucky that the week we were there the hotel did not seem to be too full and thus the room was not too noisy – as usual, any noise was not the fault of the hotel but of inconsiderate fellow guests clattering about in hardsoled shoes on tiled floors and shouting in corridors late at night.

My husband had a quadruple heart bypass operation two months before our holiday and we were a little concerned about what we had read of the walk up to Sorrento town from the hotel, but this proved to be wholly achievable if taken sensibly and although there is an hourly shuttle bus service, we never used it.

We ate in the harbour restaurants most nights – the Delfino is wonderful, the Taverna Azzurro was great the first time but when we went back the service was not so good although the food was still lovely. The couple of little general store-type shops in the harbour are overpriced and you would be better going to the supermarkets in Sorrento.

The train station is easily walked to and return tickets to Pompeii and Herculaneum are very cheap – much better priced than the trains in England! Don’t be pressured into getting the tourist bus touted outside Herculaneum station to the site – you only have to walk a few hundred yards straight down the road outside the station and you are there for free.

Sorrento itself is glorious – we spent a lot of time just sitting in the Piazza Tasso watching the world go by and marvelling at how many people/dogs/shopping bags can be fitted on a Vespa. We have been before, we will go again, and we may well stay at the Hotel Admiral.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    338
    154
    40
    20
See reviews for
114
710
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Admiral from the 18th June 2010 for one week. We stayed in room 114, which is a room right on the front with a great view. When we booked in the Manager Giseppe, informed us we had a lovely room and we were not disappointed. From that point onwards, the holiday just got better. The room was very clean and tidy and we could not stop admiring the stunning views across to Vesuvius.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was spectacular, especially as this is only classed a three star hotel. Two meals stay in mind, the gala buffet night and the gala dinner night.
The sun loungers are free and there are plenty of them and once again stunning views, a very relaxing place to unwind.
The Admiral is situated in the corner of Marina Grande and I preferred this location to the main part of Sorrento. There is a bit of a hill to walk into Sorrento, but this is not a problem especially when you need to walk off the dinners in the evening. It is only about a 10-15 min walk.
The Thomson rep, Jamie was superb and it quite honestly one of the best reps we have had througout our travels. He was very honest and even when my friend had to fly back to her home in Paris (not by Thomson) at the end of the holiday (due to a home move), he tried his utmost to get her on an earlier bus transfer and when this was not possible, he provided a lot of information on ways to get to the airport.
We did two Thomson excursions, Amalfi Drive which is a must - would recommend the boat trip for 10 euros is also taken, and also Pompeii and Hericulum in one day. We did not get to see capri but many other guests did, so I guess we will have to return.
The staff from the maid, reception staff and the waiters were always very helpful and great fun.
We had a great time and we have both said we would stay at the Admiral again. We did not want to return home and I guess that is a sign of a great holiday
The Admiral is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb071Tyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This delightful hotel was a real find and great value for money - we'd definitely go back. Our balcony room was at the side of the hotel with a great view over the Marina Grande and Sorrento. It was only a 10-15 minute walk into the heart of Sorrento - with great views on the way. There's a real buzz about the Marina Grande, but, unlike many of the hotels on the main road, it's well away from traffic so was very peaceful. The terrace at the front of the hotel is built out over the sea and is the perfect place to chill out with a drink; beautiful at night, watching the twinkling lights of the harbour and the coast. There are lots of restaurants in the harbour area, but it is a working fishing port and we watched them unloading all sorts of fish, including swordfish and tuna.
We stayed half board and the food was excellent and plentiful so the walk into the heart of Sorrento or up to the Ascot Hotel (the pick up point for the bookable excursions) helped to work off some of the calories! The buffet night and gala nights were both fun.
The staff in the hotel were great - warm and welcoming and very helpful - couldn't fault them. This isn't a huge anonymous hotel where you are just a number.
We did loads of trips. The Amalfi drive was excellent (worth paying the extra 10 euros and doing the boat trip along the coast in Amalfi). All of the trips were well organised, but most could be done independently and much more cheaply. Take the ferry to Capri and then use the funicular (about 3 euros one way) up to Capri town. There are buses to Ana Capri and the chairlift from there was very
worthwhile - very peaceful and with superb views and a place to buy a drink and snack. From the Augustus gardens in Capri Town, we walked down to the Marina Piccola - a beautiful area with public beaches (pebbles) and lots of restaurants - and caught the bus back up to the town.
You can use the local train to get to Pompeii or Herculaneum and it's only 3.90 Euros each return. It stops very close to Pompeii and about a ten minute walk (come out of the station and straight down the main street towards the sea) to Herculaneum. When we visited Vesuvius, it was capped with cloud so we walked in thick 'fog' and saw nothing; we'll have to go back some time.
We enjoyed the helpful free walkabout with the Thomson's rep, Jamie, on our first day and went back to have lunch at 'O Parrucchiano - a gorgeous garden restaurant in the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Visited this hotel on a visit to Sorrento on 19 June and stayed for 3 nights.

Room was large and airy, and had the standard amenities: Phone, TV, en-suite bathroom, etc. Welcoming bottle of local champagne made me feel like a five-star guest.

Upon checking in though, the lady at the front desk (Nadia) informed me that instead of having a single room for 3 days, I was booked for 3 days in three rooms. As I'm a solo traveler, this clearly was a mistake.

The wonderful staff sorted out the matter with the booking agency pronto (a misunderstanding).

Another great feature was the fact that the hotel bar charged reasonable prices for their drinks. Other travelers told me horror stories of drink prices in their hotels, but the Hotel Admiral did not attempt to rip off their guests. This made for a great atmosphere in the communal area, especially when the world-cup soccer matches were being televised.

Also, the room had a great balcony with a fantastic sea view!

I cannot vouch for the restaurant as I have not eaten there except for breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful, although slightly boring with bread, continental style meats and cheese as well as eggs and bacon. I can however vouch for the Restaurant Delfino (about 200 metres from the hotel, on the beach) - an absolutely great restaurant.

Lastly, the fact that the hotel had a Thompson's tour rep on site was really useful for planning tours. Jamie (the rep) is honest and well informed, and assisted me in picking a great trip to the Amalfi coast.

I really enjoyed staying at the hotel and was really ad to leave. Had a great time and truly enjoyed my stay. Thanks to the sterling staff and the great manager (Mario, if I remember correctly!).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connoisseur_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUGHBOROUGH
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

It's only a 3 star, and the decor is certainly simple, but it's the *only* hotel in Sorrento which is at sea level, the staff are efficient and friendly, the food is very good (breakfast a bit boring, but quality is fine), the drinks are not overpriced compared with elsewhere in town, and the views across the bay to Naples are superb. Difficult to fault apart perhaps for the ever-unsmiling and unhelpful Nadia on reception, and it is *essential* to book a full sea-view room, but this was one of the few two-week holidays I've been on where I was genuinely sorry to leave, and I'd happily have stayed for another two weeks! The location in Marina Greande allows you to watch the workings of a real fishing village, and of course you have several of the best fish restaurants in town right on your doorstep, Emilia's and Delphino being particularly good. As many others have said, avoid the 5 sisters restaurant, poor food and bad attitude!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMacStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Thank goodness we chose Marina Grande and Hotel Admiral, a haven of peace and delight away from the noise and touristy bustle of Sorrento, lovely as it is. We sent an e-mail in advance to warn of my garlic allergy, no problems at all, even got my own silver salvers of veg at times, and constantly reassured by Maurizio our special waiter "no garlic" even in the delicious desserts(they all had a wonderful sense of humour). Antonio, the Maitre d' , is not only a totally efficient professional, but charming and entertaining, definite compliments to the chef too! The buffet/gala nights were quite something, with huge succulent fish/joints of meat. Re complaints about the noisy music.....don't go late so the only table is next to the speakers, we had no problems. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable with delightful furnishings, what a bonus with the balcony...large enough for a tennis court! We paid a seaview supp and requested a high room (tall cliff=shadow!!), incredible views of all Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Georgia and Nadia on reception have had some bad press, why , lovely ladies always willing to help, but they can't do the impossible, small hotel not everyone can have same rooms. Plus a smile and please go a long way!!! If you want 5* facilities, go to a 5* hotel where you'll pay for them. Our evenings were spent in the bar/lounge entertained by music, and the bar team of Andrea and Guiseppe! Our heartfelt thanks go to the manager Guiseppe and all his wonderful team. We have to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Admiral. The views are to die for. Opening the bedroom french door you had a panoramic view of Naples Bay and Vesuvius. Food was good and service friendly and quick, we had one meal alfresco which was very enjoyable. The outside of the Hotel could have done with a paint touch up in places but due to bad weather in May they were unable to complete the annual tidy up. We will be back at this Hotel as we enjoyed our holiday and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
1,237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing