We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,066
US$892
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$480
US$451
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$307
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$228
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
471
361
165
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
361
165
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina grandesea viewhalf boardbay of naplesgala nightfishing villageminute uphill walkthe busmount vesuviusthomson repevening mealup hillhuge balconymain townhead waiterwelcome meetingdecking area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This hotel is well situated with a beautiful view of the bay with Vesuvius in the distance. It is at the end of a road which means it is quiet (no sounds of Vespas). The room was clean and adeqautely furnished with good air conditioning. The balcony was facing the bay with more than a limited view of the sea. The staff were excellent in every way and the food was good and authentic Italian (I don't eat meat but there was plenty for me to choose from). The salt-water pool is small but adequate for dipping and there were always plenty of sunchairs for lounging on the deck which was facing the sea. The hotel is at one end of the little fishing village of Marina Grande which has some excellent restaurants (Il Delfino was suberb but don't go to Di Levi as the food was vile) and Sorrento town was not far to walk to (uphill but I managed it and I'm not very fit). If you want a quiet, peaceful holiday this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valtmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

What a fantastic hotel, it may be 3 star but believe me the staff and the food are 5 star. I accept that some people may have been disappointed with there rooms but we were lucky, we paid the extra for a sea view and it was well worth it. We had a room on the 3rd floor with a private balcony and a fantastic view of vesuvius and the Marina Grande. Big hello to the rep Jamie who is always on hand should you need him, and guiseppe and andreas also. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We followed the directions on the hotels website for arriving at the hotel, thinking it was within walking distance. It is not. And lugging heaving suitcases 40 minutes across town is not my idea of fun. The hotel website should recommend taking public transporation there. However when we arrived, the manager could sense I was unhappy and sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room. After the bottle and tanning on the deck on the water with a beautiful view of Mount Vesuvius, I was happy. The wait staff was very nice, and breakfast was good. But it is inconveniently located, and only 2 buses are available per hour to the city center, which do not really stop at the city center, so be prepared to walk. Cab rides are an expensive 15euros, for a 5 minute ride. But this hotel does have the luxury of a pool and relaxation and a nice balcony you would otherwise not get from town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Beware Room 108 at this hotel. We booked a room with a balcony. The 'balcony' turned out to be the rear of a terrace, a 5x5 foot area fenced off with rusty iron railings with 6 so-called balconies on it. We were behind room 107 & 109's 'balconies' and very public. We had to look over the tops of other people's heads, as well as their backs to see the sea and they could see into our room if we left the doors open. The worst 'balcony' in over 20 years of hotel travels all over the world. I complained to the receptionist but she became surly and said that we couldn't change rooms because they were fully booked. Our rep. was a great lad but he was helpless.
Our room was ok but needed re-decorating, as did the landing and stairway to the ground floor. The outside of the hotel aso needed some painting done. The food was ok, the staff generally, including the manager , were professional and hardwoking, but the evening entertainment consisted of a man on a keyboard who was incredibly boring night after night and soon emptied the lounge night after night. A great pity because the hotel had a lot going for it positionwise.
Beware excursions also. They don't include entrance fee to Pompeii for example; the cost of a very short boat trip in Amalfi or any meals is extra. It racks the costs up
(The saving grace on the Amalfi Drive is the wonderful guide Iris).We went to Pompeii and Hurculaneum on the train for about 7-50 Euros return each time and got in free because we are over65s. Thomson's trip cost around 35 Euros each time and for only half a day. No contest.
Sorrento is wonderful and we had a fantastic time overall, but beware where you stay

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenaroundandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Hotel Admiral is at the end of the Marina Grande (which, despite its name, is actually the smaller of Sorrento’s two harbours!) and is set at the foot of the cliff, with its bathing deck actually overhanging the sea looking across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. We had no problems with our stay at the hotel itself which was bed and breakfast so we cannot pass judgement on the evening meals; however, the breakfasts had plenty of choice (eg eggs, bacon/sausage, fruit, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, toast, pastries etc) and were perfectly acceptable save that the juices were not fresh, as has been mentioned by others. The bar prices were reasonable (including a couple of happy hours per week) and the bar, dining room and reception staff were also always friendly. We booked direct with the hotel, paying extra (well worth it) for a sea view, but as we were in a room set in between the wings of the hotel and on the third floor, our balcony didn’t get any direct sun. This did not bother us as it kept everything cool but do be aware if you hope to sunbathe on your balcony. Also, the sun loungers outside do not lay flat so if you want to roast your back you have to lie out on the deck itself.

The room itself was welcoming: a good size with a large double and a single bed, and a full size bath plus plenty of clothes space. The TV had a couple of English language news channels but the remote did not work – however, as we only turned it on twice all week this was not a problem for us. A chilled bottle of fizz from the management was a welcome gift on arrival. We were lucky that the week we were there the hotel did not seem to be too full and thus the room was not too noisy – as usual, any noise was not the fault of the hotel but of inconsiderate fellow guests clattering about in hardsoled shoes on tiled floors and shouting in corridors late at night.

My husband had a quadruple heart bypass operation two months before our holiday and we were a little concerned about what we had read of the walk up to Sorrento town from the hotel, but this proved to be wholly achievable if taken sensibly and although there is an hourly shuttle bus service, we never used it.

We ate in the harbour restaurants most nights – the Delfino is wonderful, the Taverna Azzurro was great the first time but when we went back the service was not so good although the food was still lovely. The couple of little general store-type shops in the harbour are overpriced and you would be better going to the supermarkets in Sorrento.

The train station is easily walked to and return tickets to Pompeii and Herculaneum are very cheap – much better priced than the trains in England! Don’t be pressured into getting the tourist bus touted outside Herculaneum station to the site – you only have to walk a few hundred yards straight down the road outside the station and you are there for free.

Sorrento itself is glorious – we spent a lot of time just sitting in the Piazza Tasso watching the world go by and marvelling at how many people/dogs/shopping bags can be fitted on a Vespa. We have been before, we will go again, and we may well stay at the Hotel Admiral.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews