We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
South Staffs
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful Sorrento”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have just returned from a one week stay in the Hotel Admiral. We where fortunate to have a wonderful room which was the 'icing on the cake' for our week in this delighful and interesting part of Italy.
It is a shame that the hotel could potentially ruin someones holiday and in some respects I blame Thomson for this, they should be honest and let their customers have an idea if they will be getting a full, side or no sea view I am sure people would pay a little more or less for this knowledge.
On the whole I found the food acceptable, but the manner of the staff with the exception of the lady who cleaned our room was inconsistent especially the restaurant staff.
In particular the buffet evening was not a relaxed affair this was a shame as the food was very good but you had only one hour to select and enjoy.
The position of the hotel is magical, perhaps with a little more care both from Thomson and the Hotel Management the problems that have been experienced can be rectified.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthStaffsSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    324
    143
    38
    19
See reviews for
106
671
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

left my comments on travel forum re Hotel Admiral..forgot to mention if your're a pool lover this hotel is definately not for you..it is very small, salt water and is in the shade for the best part of the day..in fact by 3.30ish the whole hotel is completely in the shade

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italylover050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed here for one week with Thompsons. On our first night I awoke at 3am to find we had a "visitor" of the four-legged kind in the room with us. We complained immediately and they offered us another room. Next morning the pest control man inspected the room and said it was not possible for vermin to be there. He put stuff down to deter our "visitor". I feel that after this incident the staff classed us as "trouble-makers" and did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome. I also feel that they did not believe us and that I was making the whole thing up. Slept with the light on for the rest of the holiday but hardly slept at all as I was terrified our visitor would make another appearance. This ruined what was otherwise a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My husband and I have just got back from a week at the Admiral on Friday and what a wonderful time we had! The hotel was just what we expected from a 3* - very clean, lovely staff, a super room with a huge balcony and fantastic views!
I am surprised by some peoples comments on the food at the hotel. Breakfast was absolutely fine.... a continental breakfast but there was also eggs, bacon and tasty fresh donuts each day.
Dinner was really enjoyable and, having stayed in a few hotels in other parts of Italy before, we found it very traditional in style. There were about 5 starters to choose from, including lovely pasta in fresh tasty sauces, and 5 mains courses of various meats, fishes and vegetarian options. I really cannot fault the food! For those that didn't enjoy the food perhaps you're better off going to pizza express!
The position of the hotel was perfect. The marina grande is very pretty and just over 10 mins walk from the bustle of the old town in Sorrento. The walk up was fine, even at night time.
All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and our room was a perfect size and very clean. Our rep Jamie was really helpful - even when we asked him for the train timetable for getting to Pompei instead of booking a trip with Thomson.
Overall, I think the hotel was better than we expected and we would love to go back one day!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcake28j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We booked a Thompson package hoiday at the Hotel Admiral and it was Perfecto! The hotel is situated in the Marina Grande area. It is about 10mins walk uphill to the Plaza Tasso or main square in Sorrento, via steps. You would have to be extremely unfit to find this in any way strenuous! The Hotel Admiral is very picturesque and quaint and we had a 2nd floor sea/ Vesuvius facing room with balcony of which there are only 8. Other smaller sea facing rooms are available so it may be on a first book basis, although some other rooms are cheaper? From the balcony you could watch the sunrise and in the evening watch the many firework displays up on the cliffs. The hotel staff were friendly and the food was varied, fresh, very satisfying and tasty. Everyday there was a salad bar, fresh rolls and a choice of 4 dishes per 3 courses with 2 vegetarian options. Beds and towels were changed everyday and the hotel is very clean and has been newly painted. The atmosphere is relaxed and because the hotel is small, 62 rooms, everything is to hand and all communal areas are on one floor. Any trips booked had a pick up from the Ascot Hotel in Sorrento which was on the main road, again up the steps. One trip worth doing with the reps is the Amalfi Drive as this would be difficult to do alone. It was amazing! We had an optional boat trip that cost 10 euros and was well worth it and a lunch stop in Scala which cost 13 euros. We weren't told of these extras when we booked but you can opt out if you like. There was no other place to eat in Scala however, so take something with you or eat a good breakfast. On this Amalfi Coast trip we also visited Positano, Amalfi, Scala and Ravello and our guide Alberio was funny and knowledgeable. We had lovely experiences of travelling on our own by train, chatting to locals and holidaymakers alike, no hassles whatsoever. We visited Pompei and Herculaneum on the train. Pompei fare was 1.3 euros and Ercolano 1.9 euros each way. Entrance fees are 11 euros each but you can buy a 5 site ticket for only 20 euros if you visit them in 3 days. This is much cheaper that the £38 tour price charged per visit when you travel with a tour guide. Be aware that if you show your passport at either site, you will get a reduction as an EU citizen and you will also need a passport if you want to hire a handheld commentary guide at 19.5 euros. Outside both rail stations were minibus-taxis to take you to Vesuvius. The cost was 10 euros taxi and 6.5 euros for Vesuvius. They take you to 1000 feet and then the climb to the top takes about 20 mins. We climbed it at at Midday on the hottest day...not our best decision but you soon cool down once you are level with the crater which is immense. If you walk to the 'end', about half way around, you can buy a postcard for 50 cents and they will stamp it with a special stamp. Be aware that the taxi will give you a time to be back at the drop off point or they will return without you. This happened to us but we just squeezed into another minibus so weren't left stranded. These minibuses are very frequent. We strolled down to the main Marina to get a boat to Capri which cost 27 euros return. Once in Capri, we climbed the steps from the Marina Grande to the Centre. I would not recommend this as it was quite strenuous. Next time I will wait in the unbelievably large queue for the funicular, about 3.5 euros each way. Capri is enchanting with its narrow walkways and everpresent bouganvillia. The rubber trees are something else! We walked to the Villa Jovis where Tiberius lived. As this is one of the highest points of the island, the views were amazing. There was a festival at the weekend that we were in Sorrento which made the evenings more fun but it is a beautiful part of Italy and well worth a visit. I would definitely stay at the Admiral again as it was so nice to leave the hustle and bustle of Sorrento and take a romantic walk back to the peace and quiet of Marina Grande.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We researched our holiday to Sorrento in some detail and listened to other visitors and read reviews.We were either misguided or our standards are not the same .
Positives.
1. Great views and friendly guests.
2. Sun terrace was small but plenty of sun loungers-however the design of these meant that it was impossible to lie on your front-like hammocks.
Negatives.
1)Room very small and on the side of the building.We were given to understand from other holiday makers that the best rooms apparently go to independent / non 'Thompson' guests.
2)Balcony was rusty, tiny and no sun whatsoever at any time of the day.
3)Bathroom small.Shower curtain had mildew around the bottom and tiles were cracked, mouldy and in some places missing altogether.Towels were past their best some days-suspicious marks and musty smell.
4.) Food very average and the buffet evening was a step back in time-like school dinners.
5.)Location- a mangeable walk to the town if you can avoid the scooters-yes I know it's Italy!! and survive the steps.Try to avoid the sewage treatment works if you can as you walk up to the town
6) Pool a disgrace.Sea water- dirty and very small, in the shade for most of the day.
7.) Staff had two levels of service-very attentive to some guests and virtually ignored others.
8.) Thomson rep was a interesting character who had career abitions - my wife and I thought he'd be better suited in a red coat at Butlins!
9)We normally travel with Thompson Gold, next year we will ..... you've got it, be using Thompson Gold!
10) We were both really looking forward to our holiday in Sorrento, however we were very disappointed and are in no hurry to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritchie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We chose this hotel based on doing tons of research on trip advisor. It is highly rated amongst the 100 hotels in Sorrento, but it's rating is completely false. I'll list the positive first.
1. Amazing views- can't beat them
2. Our ocean front room on the top floor had a huge balcony that could easily host 20 people.

On the negative side:
1. Horrible food. The breakfast that was included in the price was poor. The coffee was terrible and the service left something to be desired.
2. The entire hotel is completely dated and run down. Dirty walls, old paintings in the hall ways, and elevator that can not stop at more than one floor.
3. THE ABSOLUTE WORST LINENS I'VE EVER SEEN!!!!!! Every towel in our room was gray ( I guess they don't use bleach) frayed and had holes in them. Believe me, this is completely accurate. The bedcovers were tattered and looked like they belonged in the 80's, and I'm sure they haven't been changed since then.
4. The bathroom are small with old fixtures, a light that takes a few minutes to come on, and toilet paper holders and shower heads full of crusted calcium from years of use. Plus, the entire floor smelled of cigarettes. GROSS!
5. Most of the staff is average at best. A couple of the guys working here are friendly.
6. Location- It is at the very end of Sorrento and it is a long steep walk to the town.
7. The pool sucks, and that is one of the reasons we came here, since we knew Sorrento doesn't have great beaches.

We paid 150 Euros a night here, which isn't cheap, and it was not money well spent. At best this hotel is a 2 star. We are not pickey travellers, and almost always stay at average hotels such as The Best Western, Holiday Inn, etc. We weren't expecting a 5 star, but this certainly didn't meet it's great reviews.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPS154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Sorrento

Property: Hotel Admiral Sorrento
Address: Via Marina Grande 218, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing