We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Badia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$479
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
328
196
28
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
196
28
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelolive grovesconverted monasterybay of naplesfamily rundining terraceshort cutoverlooking the baylovely hotelwalk into townhead waiteramazing viewslovely swimming poolelevated positiongala dinneritalian foodboiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

La Badia is such a beautiful family hotel, situated in the olive and lemon groves in the hills 7 minutes (timed) to walk into Sorrento town and 10 minutes (timed) to get back. The location is ideal for trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, the Amalfi Drive and Capri. La Badia hotel is typically Italian from the delightful decor to the delicious Italian food. The rooms are air conditioned, pretty, fresh, clean and comfortable. We had a family room with two Juliet balconies with spectacular views of Sorrento bay and Vesuvius. The swimming pool is a good size, set in a pretty location surrounded by fuschia bourgainvillea flowers and it was never crowded - sometimes we were the only people there. The restaurant overlooks the sea and the food was varied and delicious catering well for vegetarians. The hammocks under the olive trees were an added bonus - and an enjoyable way to spend time out of the sun. All the staff were helpful and friendly and I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family we had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We chose La Badia from the list offered by Riviera and were not disappointed. We wanted a quiet place with character and got exactly that. Everyone seems to find it spotlessly clean and it is, with all towels changed daily. We had a nice room (Rosa) with sea-facing balcony and would have been even better if we had tea/coffee facilities.
The breakfasts were good, fresh fare and lots of choice. Reviewers appear divided over the evening meal but we always enjoyed ours, thanks also, it must be said, to the friendly staff and the terraced dining area with great views.
The secluded pool was beautifully maintained, with flowers growing everywhere. My partner loved the hammocks amongst the olive trees. La Badia is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Located (literally) 10 min walk outside of Sorrento, this hotel has a stunning view, nice little swimming pool, good restaurant and nice rooms, albeit slightly tired.
The walk is easily doable, especially on the way down and there are plenty of ice cream shops to keep you going for the way back! Taxis are criminally expensive and should be avoided if you can. There is a bus (not a hotel shuttle bus), but doesn't run that regularly and we walked instead. Personally I would avoid staying in the town centre as it is very busy with vehicle and pedestrian traffic, especially at weekends.
We ate in the restaurant twice, partly because of the outstanding view, partly because of the extremely friendly staff and the partly because of the excellent food. However, we ate off an a la carte menu and I got the impression that when the hotel do half board (which I think they do a lot of the time), the food might not be so good with less variety and less ambitious options.
There were a couple of small glitches in the room, which lost its 5th star (although it was close and nearly recovered by the highly entertaining head waiter), such as only one plug socket, quite dated bathroom, but all very comfortable and not a major issue.
Wi-Fi only works in reception.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6 and 7 all have terraces with amazing views over the bay. However, as the hotel don't charge any more for them (not sure why!) and everyone in the know requests them, they are quite hard to get. All I can say is ask nicely but don't bank on it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We turned up about 930 after the restaurant had closed but the bar man took pity on us and got the kitchen to make us a sandwich .On the three nights we were there the bar was very quiet and generally people must have walked into town which was a pity.

The swimming pool was lovely and delightful after a day out .

The path in to town was much better than risking the pavementless winding road and took about 15 min though it was a bit hotter on the way back up the hill .

Wifi was only in reception but as the Walls were thick this was understandable.

My boyfriend loved the hammocks under the olive trees .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREDAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were with a Riveria tour and on our arrival at La Badia we felt we were
welcomed into a family environment. The views from this hotel are stunning, overlooking Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. There are gorgeous rambling gardens and olive groves, the organic oil from which was used in the hotel for our meals. We enjoyed the walk into town - and were proud of ourselves for achieving the walk back in the heat with only two stops!
We loved the quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the town and we will be back.



Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank BrisbaneUKJayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews