We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independent Travellers”
Review of Hotel La Badia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Badia
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Independent Travellers”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here from 4-15th September, and cannot fault this very special place. Marissa and her family are an excellent team, and her staff complement the family - all are professional, welcoming and friendly, without being intrusive.

My husband had long harboured a wish to visit La Badia - with a particular desire to stay in Room 10bis - and we achieved this by booking directly with the hotel, many months in advance. Our trip was all, and more, than we had hoped it would be.

Other reviewers have more than adequately covered the provision of this lovely hotel. No review, though, can quite capture the ever-changing beauty of the view over Sorrento from La Badia. Early morning mists, signalling the start of autumn; the first woodsmoke of the day drifting down over the cliffs towards the Marina Piccola; the shimmer of heat around the base of Vesuvius and distant Naples; the late afternoon light as the sun reflects off the water and cliffs; the sunsets over Ischia, which would bring a sudden lump to the throat, as one tries to grasp the changing beauty of the day's end. The piney scents, the sounds of cicadas and hens, the refreshing coolness of the planted interior, the pleasant heat of the balconies, the somnolent shade of the hammocks, the scurry of lizards, the great broccoli-like pine trees. All this, with the uncomplicated grace which is La Badia, cannot be captured in a travel brochure, but this is what awaits you as you walk through the iron-arched gateways and into this other-wordly place.

Room Tip: Room 10 bis.The only suite. Corner room on 1st floor.No balcony, but double opening large windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMYP934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    184
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
77
326
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Recently stayed at this very friendly and well run hotel, and would recommend it to anyone. Our room was spacious, clean and with view towards Vesuvius and bay of Naples. The food was excellent quality and plenty of it. I believe some rooms were not so spacious and didnt have a bath. Tea making facility would have been good as would a small fridge in the room, but I am nit picking here. General hotel nicely decorated with room to spread out. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Some nights we ate on terrace over looking bay, it was heaven and very romantic if that was what u wanted. Would love to go back

Room Tip: Room 15 was worth the extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just stayed at Hotel La Badia and have had the most wonderful time. Maria and all her staff were so kind and helpful. A special thanks to Raphaella for tracking down a much loved Jimmy K that we left in a restaurant. Service way beyond the call of duty!!! Room 10 Bis was superb and views to die for over Sorrento and the Bay of Napoli. Thank you so much again for making our stay so enjoyable. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: 10 Bis is a wonderful room, huge with a seating area and views from 3 huge picture windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WetsocksS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of August, travelling with Riviera Travel and had a wonderful holiday. We paid extra for a sea view room and were not disappointed. Stayed in Room 1, directly behind the reception and did not find this noisy at all. Had a large balcony with good views of the bay and across towards Naples and Mount Versuvias. Added bonus in this room is that you can get a wifi signal in the room! Staff were friendly and accommodating and always happy to offer an alternative choice for dinner if you did not like anything on the menu. We found the food to be good with very ample portions. The pool, gardens and seating areas are all lovely, with lots of places to relax either on the terraces, or in the gardens in hammocks or on a swing seat. The walk down the path to the main streets in Sorrento really does only take about 12 minutes - a little bit longer on the return up hill but fabulous views to admire along the way. The only negative comment is that my husband "lost" his pyjamas when the bedding was changed one day - never to be returned !! The itinerary with Riviera is quite exhausting but everything is well organised and it would be a shame to miss all the sights/tours they have on offer. It would be useful to add a few days onto the end of the holiday to relax by the pool !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The entire staff (many family members) were so accommodating. This was an old home on a farm and is still surrounded by a grove of olive trees. Wonderful little pockets of beautiful space to get together with friends. As the family explained, it was not built originally as a hotel, and the various rooms were all converted... hence different sizes and layouts. Ours was beautiful with high ceilings, tasteful decorations, and a fabulous view of the sea/Mt. Vesuvius from our window. They were helpful when a member of our group needed help recovering luggage lost by the airport, when we brought in wine bought in town and wanted to chill it there, when we needed an early breakfast to catch an early bus.....
It was a moderate walk into town, but the area was quiet and allowed you to 'get away' from the bustle of the city.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the lower level that do not have much of a view, or were not as big as ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Have just returned from a week at this hotel with riviera, which we really enjoyed !My husband has coeliacs and the restaurant gave him his own very varied menu, nothing was too much trouble

the rooms were comfortable and there were many areas where we could sit in the hotel either to just relax or to admire the amazing views.

the hotel is set among olive groves and there are hammocks to lie on as well as normal seats and benches if you want to have some time alone

there is a free, pre bookable taxi available to and from the hotel and also a fairly steep but quick path from the hotel into town , so do not be put off by the isolated locaton worth bringing a torch though

The swimming pool is oval in shape and becomes quite deep so ,may not be suitable for young children or non swimmers, There are however, plenty of sun beds available and towels can be hired at 1 euro for your stay

we enjoyed it so much that we plan to return next year but will do several trips on our own so we can return in our own time

Room Tip: not worth paying extra for a balcony as there are many public areas where you can be alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was my second year at La Badia and yet again I cannot fault it. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere enabling the guest to feel part of an italian experience rather than the blandness of a large chain hotel. This hotel is run by a family and you can tell! Nothing is too much trouble and they do everything with a smile. I have stayed in room 2 and 21 and both were charming. The food is superb. I have no recommendation in recommending this beautiful hotel and, like Glenda, I will be retuning next year( Sorry Glenda and Chris!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Badia

Property: Hotel La Badia
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 8 | Via Capodimonte, 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Badia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a small abbey, La Badia is situated in one of the prettiest parts of Sorrento, with splendid views of the Bay of Naples, and is surrounded by centuries-old olive and orange groves.Rooms: Each of the hotel's 41 rooms is individually furnished and equipped with en suite bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, air-conditioning, safe, and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Hotel
La Badia Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing