We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Badia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Badia
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

A unique friendly, family run hotel. Set in beautiful surroundings. Ecellent food and service. Evening dinning on the terrace with panoramic views of Naples and Versuvius. Great view as the sun sets. A good size leisure pool for idleing away a few hours. Being set on a hill side does present a slight problem for anyone who may not be fit. The footpath/road down to the town is a bit of a climb, but taken at a stroll offers wonderful views. There is a taxi and bus service into town for the less able. Being a converted Abby, each room is individual, ours was compact but offered reasonable space for two.
I would recommend this Hotel to the more independent and adventurous traveller.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harpersa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    168
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
71
282
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield,Derbyshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

At the beginning of June my husband and I had a wonderful holiday, staying at the LaBadia Hotel in Sorrento, a converted 16th. century monestary high above Sorrento itself, overlooking the sea with views of Vesuvius and naples. This is a small family run hotel with friendly, attentive staff. The rooms are tastefully furnished and everywhere is spotlessly clean. Our ground floor room at the rear of the hotel was spacious with a terrace area with seating, surrounded by acres of olive trees. At the end of a day's tour this was the perfect place to relax away from the hustle and bustle, a tranquil setting, the silence broken only by bird song.
Food was adequate, well cooked and presented. As someone who likes a "full English" to start the day when on holiday, I soon got used to a continental breakfast. T he croisants were delicious. We were happy with the dinner menus although m ore choice for dessert would have been nice.
The weather was beautiful throughout our stay and most evenings dinner was served on the terrace where we watched the sun setting.
I would definitely stay at LaBadia again, in fact, I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marran99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We were presented with a choice of 3 hotels for our package tour and on arriving in Sorrento, the setting of La Badia convinced us that we'd made the right choice. Positioned up on a hill, a short walking distance from the busy town, the views are superb while the hotel is a terrific looking place (a converted Monastery).
There are reviews complaining about the food, and indeed a couple we met on the first day said it was a bit 'so-so'. However, we ate every scrap of food put in front of us and enjoyed it immensely. Maybe we're easily pleased, but we couldn't complain at all (although I suppose there was an absence of pizza and not a lot of vegetables if we were to be picky). It was definitely preferable to eat at the hotel than to be overcharged for a meal in the town.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the room was clean and functional. Getting an early night wasn't so easy though, thanks to the acoustics of the stairwell - the banging of doors, the lift and anyone talking, ended up sounding so loud, that it was actually easier to sleep with the air conditioning droning away.
The only minor disappointment was the 'sea view', this was only possible through a tiny 1ft square window in the toilet, or by leaning out the side window. I believe another couple found this was also the case, complained and were moved. We weren't so bothered though (any time spent at the hotel was either eating on the terrace or by the pool).
Overall though we don't regret the choice at all and would strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogan_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We returned last week from Riviera's Amalfi Coast tour and wish to say thank you for putting on such an excellent package. We stayed at La Badia hotel, Sorrento, simple, small, quaint and with loads of character. Not one of your high rise modern hotels. Easy walk to the town for the energetic. Or buses and free taxi at set times. Staff were excellent, fun and the place was spotless including the terrace and pool areas. Except the lower gardens which could be better maintained for those who wish to wander. Food was Italian and plenty (for those who complain and want fish & chips, yorkshire pudding etc - go to Blackpool next year!). Jenny our guide was very informative and helpful. Surprising because we never thought we would go on a group holiday. All in all, a great package of Amalfi coast, Pompeii, Volcano, Isle of Capri etc. Many many thanks Riviera.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColchesterDandU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Have just returned from 7 days at La Badia and we enjoyed every minute. The staff could not have done more for us. The hotel is so lovely and the feeling of the history of the place surrounds you.Meals I thought were good and nicely presented, sometimes this is where holidays booked as an all in tour can fall down as operators cut costs where they can but I felt that the food was good value, plentiful and a nice taste of Italy. We don't go for English meat and two veg when away, but like to taste the local cuisine and I felt that we had a good selection.The dining area was very pleasant and eating out on the patio under the awnings in gorgeous weather was a memorable experience.Our room was a little small but had everything we needed including the view of the bay and as it was ground floor also an outside patio with basket furniture. We enjoyed watching the local birds etc. I didn't want the pool but it certainly looked inviting and plenty of sunbeds for those who want to get baked. It is within walking distance of the town but this is a bit hard on older people to walk back but there is a very convenient bus service.
Riviera travel who we went with also put on a free taxi service into town at night so if you want some night life this is an excellent service.I had read some of the reviews before going and was apprehensive but now that I have been I feel that the poor ones do La Badia a disservice. We had a wonderful week and I could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aider52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We have just returned from a week at La Badia, and what a joy it was to stay at a hotel where the staff are really pleasant and helpful. We were not happy with the room we were given (it was on the top floor, and although it had stunning views, it was very small).
With no hesitation, we were shown two others and chose one on a lower floor. It was much larger, and still had lovely views.
Because it was a former monastery, the hotel has a rather quirky layout. There are no long corridors with rooms leading off. There are inner courtyards and little hallways which are beautifully tiled in traditional patterns. The rooms are all different. Some are large, some small; some have balconies or a terrace. It just seems to be the luck of the draw which one you get. Our room had a small Juliet balcony, but beautiful views across the bay to Capri, Naples and Vesuvius. It was kept spotlessly clean, and the towels were changed every day.
The pool area was lovely, surrounded by wisteria and bougainvillaea. It was a pleasant place to relax and swim after a day's sightseeing. Everywhere was peaceful, with no piped music, not even in the dining room or the terrace.
The food was not gourmet, but there was a choice of starter and main course and the pasta was lovely. There was however room for improvement. A selection of salads would have been appreciated, and some traditional Italian desserts rather than just ice-cream. That said, to dine on the terrace and watch the sun setting over Capri was an unforgettable experience. Once a week they have a "Gala Evening" with a special meal and a guitar player - all very low key and pleasant.
La Badia is not a run of the mill hotel with all mod cons. but a little gem which we would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonHappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Stayed at the La Badia for one week in May with Riveira Travel group.
After a false start in getting a room with no real sea view (having paid the supplement for one) our stay was very enjoyable. It's a bit of a lottery with the rooms as they are all different. Originally in one of the large basement rooms which has a patio area outside, but also a noisy boiler room next door. We ended up on the top floor which has small "porthole" type window, but the view accross the Bay of Naples was simply stunning. I have read some negative reports about the food here, but breakfasts were fine (no variation and the juice not very good) and the evening meals were Italian "style" with plentiful starters and a small main course. I was expecting to have to dine out for a few nights, but can honestly say we had only one poor main course the whole week.
Wine menu ok and reasonably priced (avoid the local Sorrento wine though)
Very clean hotel in picturesque grounds and friendly welcoming staff.
Lovely patio and pool area. Great location for views, but maybe a little out of town if you are not very mobile. Pre-bookable transport available with Riviera as taxi back from town is expensive (15 euro)
Did a lot of research on Tripadvisor on all the hotels Riviera use in Sorrento and this one came out on top. Very pleased that I made the right choice!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Badia

Property: Hotel La Badia
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 8 | Via Capodimonte, 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Badia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a small abbey, La Badia is situated in one of the prettiest parts of Sorrento, with splendid views of the Bay of Naples, and is surrounded by centuries-old olive and orange groves.Rooms: Each of the hotel's 41 rooms is individually furnished and equipped with en suite bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, air-conditioning, safe, and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Hotel
La Badia Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing