We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK- unexciting but good location”
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK- unexciting but good location”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Hotel is very uninspiring- not much adoring the walls, large open spaces with basic seating. Rooms are basic - our first had lots of mould over bath/ shower and we were given another without question. Mould caused by no venting in bathrooms - heat of showers attracts insects. The bathroom in our second room didn't have mould, but the soap tray, bath plug hole and shower attachment were all dirty.
Breakfasts are OK - decent hot water for tea and lovely yogurt. We were half board and the 4 evening meals were OK (we had difficulty choosing from one of the menus) but unexciting and not expertly cooked.
WiFi and bedroom safe were free.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location of this hotel is excellent - really, the best thing abhout it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    160
    72
    16
    9
See reviews for
42
177
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel is in traditional style - ceramic tiled floors in rooms etc. Rooftop Bar is nice place to while away an hour or two. Sun terrace/Gym is nice but in need of some attention. Jacuzzi is unheated. Traditional home cooked food also nice.
Hotel is on a busy road and although the rooms at the front of the hotel offer balconies, the fumes and dirt from the road make it nigh on impossible to spend any time on the balcony. Rear facing rooms (without balconies) are much quieter.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan10086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwyran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our Archers tour and were quite surprised at how basic this hotel was. It was adeqate for one overnight stay and the breakfast had a range of food to choose from. The set meal in the evening was acceptable but offered no choice and showed no Italian flair!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here as part of the group. The hotel is central on a main road nearby plenty of bars & restaurants.The reception and lounge with a graden terrace are nice & comfortable. The food in the restaurant was always well presented and the staff always pleasant & helpful.

Room Tip: Friendly Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy-Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel in Sorrento. Had to go back the second time as it was a perfect holiday. Firstly the excursions we took were only half hour away from hotel, no coach stress. The hotel is situated on a main road with lots of shops, cafes, restaurants and two piazzas. So for those who can't for some reason venture far it is the ideal hotel for you. We were with a group from Malta.

But we are talking about the hotel. The room was a decent size and always found it clean with fresh towels etc. The food was excellent and unlike any other hotel when we finished eating the waiters came to our tables asking if we want seconds. All the staff were very helpfull and speaking English was not really a problem.

For sure we will visit again next year. It was sad leaving Sorrento on September 3rd...

Room Tip: Choosing a room depends on what your sleep is like. I prefer a room with a street view. It isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CompoSliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour of southern Italy. The decor was bare bones but adequate. We had a nice little balcony with views of the hills and town. The best part was having a shower stall instead of steep tub with handheld shower like most Italian hotels. Our included dinner was tasty (pork chops, roasted potatoes). Breakfast buffet good, too. There is free wi-fi in the hotel but you have to ask for passwords for each person in the room. The rooftop terrace with bar had great views of the town and harbor and hills but the drinks were small & had very little alcohol. There is a mini-mart directly in front of the hotel with drinks and fruit at reasonable prices. It is also only a short walk to lots of shops, both apparel and souvenir & the main piazza & lots of street entertainers to watch in the evening. The apparel shops close in the afternoon but the souvenir shops stay open & all are open to 10 pm. There is some noise from the busy street in front from trucks and scooters so bring earplugs for sleeping. The elevators are tiny - 4 people or 2 people with suitcases is about all it can handle. Overall, though, a decent & comfortable hotel in a charming town.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, try to get a room that's not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 53TXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a Travelsphere Tour, we found all areas of the hotel to to be very clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was always well presented and very good. The staff were obviously very happy and worked well together to provide a very good service. The location of the hotel was at one end of the main street of the town and was an ideal location for exploring the beautiful streets and restaurants of this fantastic town and at the same time, far enough away from the any noisy pubs.
I will defiantly be re-visiting.

Room Tip: It's worth contacting the hotel before travelling and asking for a quiet room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AlanandCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Property: Hotel Tirrenia
Address: Via Capo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing