We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better than this in Sorrento”
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Once again (see my review of the San Marco, Fiuggi) Travelsphere pick a hotel located to make life hell for the coach driver. Bang on the main street with no where to park safely. This main street location is also a serious disadvantage for hotel guests. We started off with a "front room with balcony - on the first floor". Sounds nice? Forget it!. The room immediately overlooks the main street and is very noisy for most of the day particularly with the windows open. We asked for the air conditioning to be put on but the civic authorities do not allow this in the winter (Mid october - the winter!!??) It was in fact too warm in the room so we asked to be moved to a room at the back where we could at least open the window and get a bit of cool air. This had a bit of a sea view although no balcony. The second room was quieter and cooler but lacked a fridge and, as mentioned, no A/C. The whole hotel had a "tired" look and could do with refurbishment.

Meals were basic and not particularly plentiful - hearty appetites would probably go hungry.

Walking round Sorrento we saw many other 3 star hotels which were better located - I am sure you could do better than this one if you can make your own choice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front - there is no view and they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

reasonable enough 3 star and no better (the hotel Ascot opposite is about the same) good location 5 minutes from the square and also down hill to the seafront bay. Sorrento is great and stayed before at the Micaelangelo at the other end of town which is a 4 start and it shows compared to the Tirennia. food ok but table service and much better eating out. with the vast selection of hotels in Sorrento the Tirennia must survive on coach tours as there is a lot of choice.
the hotel is directly on the main road so front rooms are noisy and back rooms have little view to speak of but are at least quiet. never quite worked out how the aircon worked but at least it did work. Capri is an expensive exercise so get the bus from the bus station at the other end of town for 7.45 euros return and take the coast road to Amalfi (1 and a half hours).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

we went to this hotel as oart of a travelsphere tour.the hotel has quite small rooms,but if you get a sea view and a balcony its not too bad.the hotel seemed to be understaffed but the staff they had tried their best.the barman was really helpful and the recepttion staff were good.the hotel was centrelly located which was a good thing as the food was awful(most of our party went out to eat).all in all this place was very average

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the rear or the side away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairsyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Hotel is very uninspiring- not much adoring the walls, large open spaces with basic seating. Rooms are basic - our first had lots of mould over bath/ shower and we were given another without question. Mould caused by no venting in bathrooms - heat of showers attracts insects. The bathroom in our second room didn't have mould, but the soap tray, bath plug hole and shower attachment were all dirty.
Breakfasts are OK - decent hot water for tea and lovely yogurt. We were half board and the 4 evening meals were OK (we had difficulty choosing from one of the menus) but unexciting and not expertly cooked.
WiFi and bedroom safe were free.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location of this hotel is excellent - really, the best thing abhout it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel is in traditional style - ceramic tiled floors in rooms etc. Rooftop Bar is nice place to while away an hour or two. Sun terrace/Gym is nice but in need of some attention. Jacuzzi is unheated. Traditional home cooked food also nice.
Hotel is on a busy road and although the rooms at the front of the hotel offer balconies, the fumes and dirt from the road make it nigh on impossible to spend any time on the balcony. Rear facing rooms (without balconies) are much quieter.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan10086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our Archers tour and were quite surprised at how basic this hotel was. It was adeqate for one overnight stay and the breakfast had a range of food to choose from. The set meal in the evening was acceptable but offered no choice and showed no Italian flair!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here as part of the group. The hotel is central on a main road nearby plenty of bars & restaurants.The reception and lounge with a graden terrace are nice & comfortable. The food in the restaurant was always well presented and the staff always pleasant & helpful.

Room Tip: Friendly Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy-Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Address: Via Capo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £76 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing