We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel has been refurbished to a good standard, the lobby is a retro style which fits in nicely with the rest of the hotel, its clean and the staff are very friendly, the rooms are a good size with a big bathroom the beds are a bit on the hard side but not uncomfortable. we had a room at the front which was on the fourth floor which wasn't too bad with the traffic below, if you had a lower room you probably wouldn't sleep. The bar service was good.
This was the good part!
The breakfast was not too bad if you like a lot of bread ( hard as rock) ,cheese and ham.
The evening meals were awful! , child portions for adults, example moose that was frozen and tasted like ice cream, a cake that turned out to be chocolate moose, and turkey that tasted like pork i wont go on i could be here all day! this was a travelsphere holiday which in itself was good .

Room Tip: choose rooms on higher floors for less noise on the front. rear rooms for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    163
    73
    16
    9
See reviews for
42
181
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for four nights in June 2013. rooms and bathrooms are clean but air conditioning did not work, normally you spend all day out but sleeping was quite uncomfortable, temperatures on that date over 30° C.
Breakfast included but not of the standard you would expect on a hotel of this price range.
Asked for quotation of taxi ride to Naples train station and it was cheaper in the agency across the street that provided an excelent service by the way.
Jacuzzi on terrace good for no more than a small group, ypou will not share a jacuzzi with people you do not know

Room Tip: Rooms facing via Capo very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodrigo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a family broom-it was huge with comfortable beds. Our grandson had a chair bed which was properly sprung and comfy.We were at the back with a huge balcony with loungers and chairs and table- great view of bay and Vesuvius. terrace futher slong had even better view of the volcano.
Huge bathroom with bath and showe over. We had huckaback towels which were very odd. Sometimes we had a waffle towel which dried better-still seem od after British fluffy egyptian cotton!

Service excellent. Alarm call every morning-we made early starts on our Travelsphere holiday.

Tere is only one small lift and 4 floors. If you have walking difficulties be aware that Italian visitors ( and there are many) will push you out of the way to get into the lift even if you are trying to get out!

The bad thing is the food-it is terrible! It is all frozen and microwaved or heated in the oven-esp omelettes! For those with a
large appetite the 2 tiny pieces of potato given at evening meal will not be sufficient.Breakfast average- nothing hot. Good selection of teas.Rolls fine.

Overall this would be 4 star if it had decent food.

Room Tip: 402! had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice quiet location at the end of the main blvd. easy close access to everything. The hotel staff was very nice rooms were spotless. Towels a little on the cardboard side,but they got you dry.
The hotel has a nice refreshing jacuzzi on the fifth floor and a nice terrace bar facing the sea on the fourth floor.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea if possible and higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuePiazza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This friendly small hotel is well situated for a short stroll to the busy centre of Sorrento.For us the
best feature of the Tirrenia was the wonderful staff who went out of their way to be helpful and at all times extremely polite.Knowing that it was situated on a busy main road we had requested a quiet room which turned out to be exactly as requested.The bedroom was plainly furnished but spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day.Perhaps the air-conditioning could have been more effective but as we were both quite tired had no bother getting to sleep on the very comfortable beds.The only slightly disappointing thing was the frozen fish as we had both anticipated having lovely fresh fish caught straight from the Mediterranean.These slightly niggly complaints however did in no way detract from a great holiday.

Room Tip: Do not hold back when asking for any special requests as they will do their level best to accomodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've just returned from my summer holiday staying at the Hotel Tirrenia. I chose this hotel because it was a little cheaper than some of the other hotels in Sorrento in peak season and seemed to offer a good location. The rooms are fairly basic, typical Italian - dark wood, tiled floors but the bedroom we had was spacious and with plenty of windows and a little balcony. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the bathroom was a good size with a lovely walk in shower. The hotel is on the main road but with the windows closed on an evening and the air conditioning, it didn't in any way hinder our sleep - the beds were lovely and comfortable and . the location is great - a short walk to all the quaint streets and harbours (and you can catch a regular bus back from marina grande if the walk back is a little too steep for you). The public areas are clean and comfortable and the food is good, drinks are a good price for a hotel bar. What really made the hotel stand out was the staff - they couldn't of been any more helpful and by the end of our holiday it felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends. I loved Sorrento and the surrounding areas and would have no hesitation in staying here again if I returned - which I probably will.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a good hotel for basing yourself in Sorrento at the Southern end of the Corsa Italia. It is next to the hospital but we were not disturbed by that at all. Its clean and tidy and the staff are excellent, particularly Nando who runs the bar and Gabriel and his staff in the restaurant who couldn't be more helpful. There are some downsides to this hotel. The rooms are a little dated and ours was a bit cramped with a wardrobe door and shower cubicle door not closing properly.....but the rooms are clean and again the cleaning staff friendly and helpful. I agree with the comments about breakfast made by others, eggs and bacon/sausages wouldn't go amiss, and the evening menus had some interesting combinations but for what I paid for the holiday I wasn't expecting much more. Overall a very pleasant hotel that's in reality a decently average hotel (But let's face it Italy IS expensive) but rated good because of the helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the back of the hotel or take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaultheVicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Property: Hotel Tirrenia
Address: Via Capo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing