We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #66 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Tirennia Hotel. This hotel is well situated for the train station 20 minutes walk away, and there is a bus stop nearby. To get to Pompeii and Herculaneum was easy on the train and reasonably priced. (Pensioners please note: If you have id on you i.e. passport, driving licence, you do not have to pay an entry fee at either venue)! At the Port you can get a ferry to Capri, Ischia etc. The main Piazza and shops and bars are in close proximity. We were made very welcome at the Hotel. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. The breakfast each morning is buffet style, but the evening meal is waiter service, with a choice of three starters, three main courses and two desserts. There are two very attractive terraces, one with an excellent view of Vesuvius. The rooftop Jacuzzi was a great feature after a hard day sightseeing! We found all the Staff to be very helpful and courteous and would certainly recommend it. Please bear in mind that Sorrento is a very busy place with much traffic!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaria A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Tirrenia, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sallannet,
thank you so much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoied your stay with us and we hope that your comment will attract other peolple taht want a perfect stay in Sorrento. We hope to see you again, warm regards,
Hotel Tirrenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    160
    72
    16
    9
See reviews for
42
177
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Tirrenia for 2 weeks in May and would gladly stay there again.
The hotel is located on a main road but only a few hundred metres from The Drains and about a 10 minute walk to the main square. The train station is about a 20 minute walk away and I believe there is a bus stop nearby. There is a supermarket close by and shops directly across the road.

The Room.
We were given a room on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel which unlike a lot of the other rooms, had a double balcony at the front and quite a high wall which gave some privacy.
The room itself was quite spacious with 2 single beds pushed together. There was a small flat screen tv (not HD in case you were wondering) which had the usual news channels in English and plenty of storage space.
The bathroom had a fantastic power shower but it was quite difficult at first climbing in and out of the bath until we realised the shower screen was on a hinge and could be opened outwards.
Unfortunately, the air con in the rooms didn't seem to be operational when we first arrived and was only switched on, on the 28th May which I found an inconvenience due to it being quite hot and if you opened the patio doors, the traffic noise was very loud. We could have also done with a fridge which you couldn't even hire which I think is something that they should look at offering in the future. There are also no tea or coffee making facilities so you'll need to bring a kettle if you want a brew in your room.
We are both non smokers and found it annoying when people in the adjacent rooms were smoking on their balconies and the smoke blew into our rooms. A little picky I know but I choose not to smoke so I don't want to be inhaling someone else's.
There is free WI FI. It's ok but can be a bit hit and miss which is the same in most hotels I've stayed in, even if you pay for it.
The towels are thin and sometimes there have been negative comments made by other visitors.
However, they do the job of drying you and are changed every single day without exception.
Hotel Facilities
The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were both friendly and helpful. There is a lovely roof terrace for sunbathing and a jacuzzi with cold water to cool you down. I went in it a couple of times and always found the water to be very clean. There is a terrace on the 4th floor with a bar and fantastic views of the bay of Naples and of Vesuvius. There is also a terrace just off the lobby which is very pleasant. They advertise having a gym but after seeing the very basic equipment, I chose not to use it.

Food.
We found the food good value for money. There were only a couple of occasions in the fortnight we were there when we couldn't find anything we liked for our evening meal so we chose to eat out.
Breakfast is buffet style and consists of cakes, pastries, fruit, ham, cheese and cereal. There is also toast and hard boiled eggs if you want them. We found it adequate and could always find something to keep us going.
The head waiter, Gabriele deserves a special mention. He was always immaculately turned out, polite and extremely accommodating if we needed anything. He gives you the menu in the morning so you can choose what you want for your dinner. There are 3 options for a starter, main course and then 2 choices for desert. We had pasta and pizza a few times but other dishes like liver and onions and omelettes were also very nice.
The drinks are very reasonably priced. 12 euro for a bottle of La Crima Christi wine which is very good for Sorrento.
One thing I would say is that if you are with Thomas Cook, beware of the inflated excursion costs. We chose the Amalfi 'experience' over the Amalfi Drive as we did the latter last year. We knew that this was on a coach and that dinner was charged at 13 euros. The experience was sold to us as being a far smaller group in a minibus and lunch was included. The difference in price was 32 euros each.
We decided to choose this but wished we hadn't! The mini bus held about 20 people and lunch was a curled up ham and cheese sandwich which was given to us at 10am. The guide did say we would be given," unlimited beer, water or soft drinks". What we actually got was one bottle of water between two people and one beer each! So, for an extra 32 euros we got to see Positano for an hour. What a complete rip off... and it rained!
Overall, I would say the Tirrenia is an excellent 3 star hotel which is great value for money in an otherwise expensive resort and when we come back, we will have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back must be less noisy and have better views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaria A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Tirrenia, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Misty,
there are no wards to thank you enough for this wonderful comment. We wil be glad to host you again in the next future. Warm regards,
Hotel Tirrenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in the middle of May (a Thomas Cook half-board deal, booked via Coop Travel). For the price we paid I think we got good value. We were really pleased with some aspects (bar/rooftop Jacuzzi) but disappointed with others (the food and reception service). Our review is split into sections below.

Reception

On arrival (after a long and delay-filled journey – don’t get us started on Naples airport’s ineptitude), we queued at reception. Upon reaching the desk we were told we weren’t on ‘the list’ (of Thomas Cook bookees) and sent to the back of the queue while ‘they sorted everyone else out’. Given it was 20:45 and we were told the restaurant closed at 21:00 and we were very tired after a day of travelling, we were fairly unhappy to be sent to the back of the queue! Then when it was our turn again, we had magically appeared on the list. This felt like very bad service. Luckily (or not, see food section below) we were still able to eat in the restaurant. Upon checkout they tried to overcharge us for some wine we had ordered one night (we ordered 250ml; they charged for half a bottle). Luckily, as you sign the receipt at the table each night it was easily resolved. We’d recommend that you check the final bill carefully.

Restaurant/half-board food

The food was awful. Breakfast comprised bland cereal, lukewarm milk, stale bread for toast, processed meat and cheese, pastries and cakes and plenty of last night’s leftovers (for example cold tasteless pizza or pears and cream). A ‘squash’ juice was available (orange or pineapple – very tasty) and thankfully, hot water and tea bags. When staying half board one was expected to select the evening meal choice while eating breakfast. Meals included pasta, risotto, fish, parsley omelette, ‘choice of cheese’ (you were given two cheeses – the same processed cheese as at breakfast), chicken and turkey. There was a vegetarian option daily (stuffed peppers; baked aubergines; courgette pasta). All meals came with tinned vegetables and potatoes in varying forms (roast; potato-cake; chips etc). The quality was average to terrible. You’re in Italy, how can you get a pizza wrong? The turkey was very strange and tasted like pork. The fish was frozen (didn’t try but heard other residents complaining). The desserts were very 1980s (blancmange; mousse; parfait; custard with bitter caramel). The wine options started at half a bottle for about €8. One night we got a different option which included a 25cl bottle (= 1 large glass) for €4.50. Even though we were half board we skipped two nights and went and ate elsewhere (can’t rate the carbonara at Ristorante Pizzeria Da Gigino - Via degli Archi, 15 enough!). We felt like we got dirty looks off the main restaurant staff member for saying we didn’t want to eat there but we wanted to have a couple of nice meals while we were there!

Room

Our room (403) was standard and clean bar a few cobwebs in the upper corners. The bathroom and wardrobe doors were sliding ones which maximized space and there was a bath/shower so plenty of room. The towels were odd waffle tea towel-type but if you ask for towels for the Jacuzzi you get proper fluffy toweling towels. The room was advertised as ‘side sea view’ – the sea view was straight ahead but between the balcony of room 402 and the hospital. We overlooked a rather noisy generator at the back of the hospital but as there were some very cute kittens playing around it we didn’t mind too much. This balcony only got sunshine for a small proportion of the day but as we were out and about a lot this wasn’t an issue. The main problem with our room was that because it was right underneath the sun terrace there was a lot of noise early in the morning and late at night from the scraping and dragging of deckchairs and sun loungers (we assumed in and out of the storage shed). We didn’t complain as we didn’t want to move to a room without a sea view though. The double glazing did block a lot of the street noise but occasional ambulances at the hospital were quite loud as was the firework display one night! If you’re a light sleeper you may struggle but it was far quieter than the rooms on the Via Capo side of the hotel. Also, even though there were signs about the wifi it wasn't obvious it was free. We were not given any information about the hotel on arrival or in our room - it's a good job I'd visited their website beforehand.

Sun terrace/Jacuzzi

The sun terrace had a hammock and plenty of deckchairs and sun loungers. There is a Jacuzzi that fits about six people in as well as a toilet, shower and laundry bin for towels. The Jacuzzi was not heated but this was quite refreshing during the 26 degree heat.

Bars

The ground floor bar was very pleasant with both indoor and outdoor seating options. The 4th floor bar offered wonderful views over the bay and of Vesuvius. There was plenty of choice on the cocktail menu and we were delighted to receive free snacks (crisps, peanuts and pretzels) when we ordered 2 cocktails. The bar tender (Pedro?) was great – we’re only sorry we didn’t remember to leave him a tip.

Location

Excellent location! Right in the heart of the town - 5 mins walk from the shopping streets; 7 mins walk from the main square Piazza Tasso (and nearby Valley of the Mills); 10 mins from a lovely free lemon grove; 10-15 mins from the train station; 15 mins from Marina Grande (hotel is right next to the steps that lead to the windy road down to the beach). Easy to find as next to the hospital and on a main road so you felt safe getting back to it at night.

Room Tip: A higher floor (4) away from the side on the main road will be the quietest, but avoid 403 due to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniewrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaria A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Tirrenia, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Jennie,
thank you for your comment.
We well out of your words to explain people that will read, that we had a lot of rooms coming in that day and all in the same time, included your room. We just lost 1 of the 3 papers where the list was and, since where 15 minutes left for the dinner, we preferred to ask you to wait a minute and give rooms at the other people.
While a person of the reception was making check-in everybody, another person found the paper in our "in-house guests" folder, where your and other 3 reservations were. You just had 5 minutes later your room key as you had normally dinner like the other guests.
For the bill, we are really sorry about it, but it was just a mistake. We never overcharge sombody, it was a human error.
About the food, we usally are famous for our kitchen and people that works in are serious and professional. May be you and your husband didn't like our dishes, but everybody enjoy our kitchen service. We keep saying that there is no difference between Thomas Cook guests and private individual guests for us, the service is the same for everybody.
Anyway, we thank you for the good words about the other services, room, roof and bar, we will do our best to make an amazing stay for our guests,
We hope to see you in the future.
Warm Regards,
Hotel Tirrenia Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Right within walking distance to the coast and the beautiful alley ways of shops, restaurants and bars. You can walk from here to the coast to get the boats out to Capri. Rooms are good and the service is great! It's right on the main drag so location is brilliant. Also has parking behind the hotel but it costs. 40 euro for the 2 days we were here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights during a fully escorted tour of Rome and Sorrento. Our room was at the back and not at all noisy. Lovely views of Vesuvius and the Bay from the terrace. The hotel is right in the middle of town. Perfect location. Clean and friendly, ideal location, what more do you need?

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a pleasant hotel on a fairly busy road just on the edge of the main shopping/pubs/restaurant areas.

The staff were courteous and welcoming..

Our room was on the same level as the pleasant room terrace. The room was clean although not huge. Bathroom dated but clean. Sky tv.. Air con didn't really amount to anything that could be described as efficient. Mattresses fine..

There is a balcony and seating provided and its fine overlooking the road..

Being realistic Sorrento is a busy place so its not quite probably anywhere near where we are- The payoff being everythings a short walk and on level ground.

Food wise the breakfast buffet is very good plenty of choices- I'm gluten intolerrant and they were excellent in providing bread and biscuits/cake..Evening meals were adequate nothing fancy but ideal not huge oportions.

If you turn left out of the hotel and take the steps on the left and walk down to the Harbour if you turn right and walk to the last restaurant (part of the seating is over the water) there is a superb fish restaurant- busy at weekends - its worth the treat portion sizes for starters and side dishes are main meal portion size so sharing is a better option if you want an equally huge pudding- good value considering location..We had sardines it was just great.. If you carryon walking you will find a series of slopes and steps that lead back up to the main areas its a nice walk.

Roof terrace is lovely- easy transport links to Capri- Tour day trips to Pompeii

Its a good reasonably priced location to travel out from

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a Travelsphere holiday and, given that my wife and I paid nearly £2000 for a week's holiday, I would have expected a much better standard of hotel than this ! The room was pretty basic with a partial sea view (the rest of the view being part of a tatty building !). Interesting towels as some have already mentioned - must be the cheapest available in Italy ! Breakfast was fine but dinners were akin to 'school dinners' with tinned veg and dubious meat (there is an excellent greengrocers just across the road so why fresh vegetables are not used is beyond me). Some on the trip had rooms which overlooked the road and complained about the noise but ours was fine. The location was very good - pretty much in the middle of Sorrento and the staff were excellent. So - if you are paying budget prices, the hotel is fine but not if paying a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel don't seem noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradfordLadBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Property: Hotel Tirrenia
Address: Via Capo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing