We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tirrenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tirrenia
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

First time abroad, so very cautious but I needn't have been.
The hotel is gorgeous, the gardens and terraces on every floor are stunning, a real taste of Italy.
The staff are all very friendly and very helpful- all speak english.
The hotel is in an amazing location, close to the local public transport and lovely walks to the marina.
Would definitely visit again. Stayed in a sea view double, there is heavy traffic below.. But you do not notice it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    157
    70
    16
    9
See reviews for
40
175
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasiano di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

As a tour manager, I've learned that customer service means everything. And this hotel not only has one of the best staff I've been in contact with, but also the food is amazing. My respect goes to the chef and the restaurant manager. The waiters are also great. The hotel is very well positioned and the rooms are fairly clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danlek2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of a “Top to Toe of Italy” holiday. I cannot comment on value, because the cost was included in the package.

The hotel is in the coastal and holiday town of Sorrento, on the main road. Naples, Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and the Isle of Capri are all in reasonable reach, so Sorrento provides a good base for touring.

Although the lounge and bar area are comfortable, the bedrooms in the Hotel Tirrenia need redecorating. There is a pleasant bar and fitness area on the roof, which is good for an evening drink, as it is away from the road.

Although the service was reasonable, the food in the restaurant was poor. Some of our tour group ate elsewhere, even though their dinner had been included in the cost of the holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of main street and Station. Rooftop sun terrace and jacuzzi very pleasant after a day out and about. Rooftop bar has nice views. Hotel very clean and well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful, particulalrly in the restaurant. Only problem is that rooms at the front overlook a busy road and traffic noise can be heard from early morning to late night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BCD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our tour of Italy. The hotel is in a great location on the edge of the main street. Our room was small, with nowhere to put 2 full size suitcases without a struggle, but the bathroom had a good shower with decent hot water. The WiFi was also free and had good coverage including in our room. What really let the hotel down for us is the food. The choices were very limited, including turkey and chips on one occasion. Certainly a new one on me. Booking drinks to a room also created problems and drinks at dinner had to be paid for in cash after dinner, which seemed ridiculous.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank orangytangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Tirrenia. This is a lovely clean hotel in a superb location within easy walking distance of the main square in Sorrento, all the shops, restaurants and train station.
We were half board basis in the hotel but only as this was the cheapest option (cheaper than B&B!). We only ate one evening meal at the hotel and although the food was OK the atmosphere was not the same as dining in town. However, the buffet breakfasts were superb and you could eat as much as you wanted.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel and at first we were disappointed with the view. From Room 315 we could just see the sea between buildings adjoining the hotel each side. However, this proved a bonus as it kept the room cool and it was very quiet. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom and shower facilities were excellent.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and it was a shame we had to leave!
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would get the sun, but the road at the front of the hotel was very busy and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Tirennia Hotel. This hotel is well situated for the train station 20 minutes walk away, and there is a bus stop nearby. To get to Pompeii and Herculaneum was easy on the train and reasonably priced. (Pensioners please note: If you have id on you i.e. passport, driving licence, you do not have to pay an entry fee at either venue)! At the Port you can get a ferry to Capri, Ischia etc. The main Piazza and shops and bars are in close proximity. We were made very welcome at the Hotel. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. The breakfast each morning is buffet style, but the evening meal is waiter service, with a choice of three starters, three main courses and two desserts. There are two very attractive terraces, one with an excellent view of Vesuvius. The rooftop Jacuzzi was a great feature after a hard day sightseeing! We found all the Staff to be very helpful and courteous and would certainly recommend it. Please bear in mind that Sorrento is a very busy place with much traffic!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaria A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Tirrenia, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sallannet,
thank you so much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoied your stay with us and we hope that your comment will attract other peolple taht want a perfect stay in Sorrento. We hope to see you again, warm regards,
Hotel Tirrenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivage Hotel
Rivage Hotel
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirrenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirrenia

Property: Hotel Tirrenia
Address: Via Capo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirrenia 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tirrenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing