We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the negative comments”
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't believe all the negative comments”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

After reading all the reviews I was a bit anxious about coming here.
I found the hotel clean, nice staff ( if you're friendly they recipricate!) and it was relatively handy for getting to the main areas.
Food was edible and we never found anything stale. The bread is different to ours so will appear crustier and chewier.
Dining room staff were pleasant and we even managed to get smiles from the oldest waiter eventually! We were given the oppertunity to change our table to a quiter spot away from a large group of schoolchildren.
a definate negative is the thin walls!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smogEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear SmogEdinburgh,
thank you very much for Your objective and precise comment. We thank You very much having tried to do us justice and we apologize if You have found some fault that made your stay in Sorrento less nice. We don't know if we will be able in a short term's time to begin some structural jobs to remedy the so thin walls, but surely we will schedule them in the future.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    226
    89
    35
    29
See reviews for
113
291
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. As it was just 3 star we thought it would be ok as a base for our sightseeing but it was much nicer than expected. Lovely food & charming dining room staff & manager. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor. Ours was on the 5th & was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jannmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Lovely clean hotel rooms a fair size and kept very clean. Main problems were you could hear everything said next door through the air vents and the shower was either burning hot or freezing cold in 30 second bursts!
We only had breakfast 2 days as everything offered was incredibly stale and the coffee was revolting. We went out for breakfast after that as a fresh pastry and a good coffee is reasonably cheap to buy.
As for the dinners, if we had the money to eat out we would have. The food was either bland or oversalted, a bit like an Italian version of bad school dinners. On the evening I couldn't bring myself to eat the putrid mountain of gloop in front of me the head waiter took it away muttering "BRITISH" in a very disparaging way under his breath. Two nights dessert was a plate with 2 small bunches of seedless grapes, a rock hard unripe peach and an unripe (still green) orange between 2 of us. The ultimate had to be the night the waiter got very excited about giving us Inglese Trifle which unfortunately contained grey custard, elderly aunties everywhere would be spinning in their graves! The bread rolls got more stale as the week went on to the point where they could be used as an offensive weapon.
Most surreal moments were the appearance of a very depressed looking Italian man with a Casio keyboard who sat and played such musical delights as The Girl From Ipanema while tears of laughter rolled down our cheeks. Also the lovely 95 year old lady who hadn't been provided with a wheelchair and was given an office chair on wheels and rowed herself along the marble floors with her walking stick.
The daytime receptionist was lovely but not so much the one on at night. Who after berating us for not leaving our keys when we went out then shouted the Italian for Lesbians at his colleague at the bar at the top of his voice while we were still waiting for the lift.
If you want a hotel on a room only basis then Zi Teresa would be fine but at all costs avoid the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrissie1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We found the best part of the hotel was Michele at the front desk. He was always smiling and immensely helpful at giving us directions and information. The room was clean and nice enough, the bed comfortable but lacked a clock. We liked having a balcony. The downside is the room is noisy especially in the bathroom, where you can hear intimate details of what is going on in your neighbor's bathroom through the vent. Shower head was broken and water temperature fluctuated.

The breakfast was almost inedible, I saw a pastry that actually had mold on it and there was not much to eat besides pastries. The cappuccino was ok. We were the youngest couple we saw there and so it felt a bit like being in a retirement home cafeteria.

My main complaint was that we tried to use the telephone in the room to make an international call via a phone card. The info card in the room says to just dial 0 for an outside line. I tried to do so and got a busy signal. I called the front desk and he reiterated to dial 0 then the country code and number (it was the younger desk attendant). I tried again several times and to no avail. I called the desk again to ask if perhaps there was a problem with our phone, and was told the phones in the rooms usually work but I could make my call from the desk if I wished. Being that it was a personal phone call that wasn't going to be brief, I declined. Unfortunately due to scheduling that was my only chance to make the call and I missed out. The next day I mentioned it to Michele at the desk, and he said he would turn our phone line on for us. Apparently you have to request this before you can use the phone in the room! Would have been nice for that to have been mentioned when we checked in, or on the pamphlet in the room, or maybe during one of my 2 phone calls to the desk. Or perhaps, they could just do it automatically when you check in! I am going to chalk it up to a language barrier because there is no other reasonable explanation.

Also we would have loved a pool.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuoverose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here in August this year, the room was very clean and a good size. Breakfast was not to our liking, stale buns and cakes. Evening meal was a little better, (if you like fish). The older waiters werent that friendly, Had a nice sun terrace on the roof but no pool. Wont stay here again as too far from main square. On the plus side there is a great little bar (Banana Split) at the end of the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank molly3328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights during August. Overall we felt the hotel was average and on return we probably wouldn't stay there again.

The pros
- Our room was large, and clean with a good bathroom
- Airconditioning was working very well, a must in the heat
- We felt like it was good value in regards to how expensive the town is overall
- Francos (?) pizza is just down the street, and it is fabulous

The cons
- The hotel isn't really that central if you're walking places. Whilst the website says 500ms from the square, it's definitely further. It's a solid 10 minute walk to the bus station and probably 15minutes to the main section of town. If you want to go swimming or to the port, it's a good 25 to 30 mins. There were definitely closer hotels.
- Breakfast is truly awful, the food was stale some days and the coffee was really really bad
- We did not find the staff to be very helpful and there was a lack of any helpful materials on what to see and do around the area
- There is no free internet but in comparison to some other places, 15 euros for 3 days access is quite ok

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneygirl182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

we have just returned from a stay at the zi teresa and have had a very good week the hotel was very good but it could be so much better . room was large -we were three ladies sharing- spotlessly clean and linen changed daily, a balcony .and free air con. beautiful marble floors and lovely lounge to sit in BUT the food wasnt very good at all breakfast was crossants and cake, toast was rock hard by the time you put it through the toaster twice to brown ,the cheese and ham yuk ! is it so hard to scramble or boil a few eggs? . the evening meals were dire oh you got plenty 3 choices of 1st and 2nd courses , and ice cream , not the kind you buy in the shops and once fruit salad or should i say melon bits. 1st course usually 2 pasta dishes and soup 2nd course fish chicken or pork(not on same day) which all had same oil vinegar mix over. no veg one day my friend decided to get the cheese dish which had us in stitches because all she got was 4 different bits of cheese nothing else, we were lucky to get some lettuce as a side dish one day . mostly it was edible but bland and boring the waiters were great though john franco the head waiter looked a bit dour he was ok guido was great and the little one we called the dumb waiter cos he never spoke but was lovely, same with the staff on the desk and the cleaners. then there is the the outside 1stly to get into the hotel there is 3 flights of stairs. thompson our tour operator drops you round the corner at the hotel flora and you are left to drag your cases there yourself and up into the hotel, there is no-one to help you which is ok if you,re fit . there is a bar which is never open before 7.oo nowhere to buy a cold drink or tea or coffee thankfully we took a travel kettle, there is a terrace but door was never open and a roof terrace which needed cleaning and had no shade at all so unless you wanted to fry to a crisp it was impossible to use. thankfully we had a balcony overlooking the lemon grove. it sounds as though im saying its all bad its not, just dont expect fabulous meals and comfortable surroundings to relax in . there is a bus stop round the corner takes you to the centre or you can walk in 20min we turned right as we came out of hotel and cut through to the back road which took us away from the really busy corsa itlilia onto a quieter road and a little shorter walk. if you want to go to marina piccolo for boats cross road oposite flora hotel and just past garage you can get the c bus which goes round san agnello and down to harbour . in fact if anyone about to book i think san agnello, just along the road is a much nicer place to stay. also if you want to explore on yuor own buy a 3 or 7 day ticket which takes you from naples all the way down the coast to salerno as many times as you want. the open top bus hop on hop off bus is well worth going on, you pick it up at the bus station. this is also the train station and you can get straight to vesuvius from there and hire a guide if you want yourself. all in all you can do all of the trips so cheaply and easily without booking through your rep . its been 4yrs since we were there and the prices have gone up and the exchange rate down and so everything was v expensive a taxi from tasso sq was 20 euro , a vodka and coke 7 euro, a toasty and coffee 12 euro, a small beer 5euro. we went to the foreigners club most nights which is just off piazza antonino near tasso sq where there is dancing and a live band which we found great fun and drinks reasonable as there isnt much nightlife in sorrento that we found mostly restaurants and a few bars . the best cup of tea in sorrento is at the cafe latino which is just past the irsh bar on corsa italia massimo that owns it is a lovely gent and once worked in england we called it the secret garden a cool shadey retreat right in the centre, the frozen strawberry daquaries are to die for. in all going to italy is not a cheap holiday to book so you expect hopefully that good food is going to be on offer and it wasnt and the facilities none exisistent so get along to san agnello the la pergola, florida or grand park sole much much better hotels with pools and a much better area

Room Tip: room with balcony overlooking lemon grove have good views of vesuvius and are cooler and away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jacqueline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing