We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our 5th visit to Sorrento and the Zi Teresa, We like the hotel and it's staff who are always friendly and very helpful, all the staff including Gian Franco do their utmost to rectify any problems that may occur, and help with places to visit and also suggest where to explore. The rooms are kept clean and beds made by a team of friendly maids. The police station across the road is not a problem, we do not find the hotel location noisy it being off the main road, but Sorrento is a busy place. The train station is only a short walk away and the trains do get busy but give good access to Pompeii, Herculaneum,Oplontis, the cable car and roman villas at Castellammare De Stabia, not forgetting Naples (don't be put off going here).
Food is always a personal experience, we find the food ok and we never go hungry, Don't expect English food, The breakfast selection is plentiful, it being a sweet selection and the introduction of scrambled eggs this year is yet another option and they were good.
The pool area built last year is well used and is a good sunny area. The garden area is also pleasant to sit in.
A short walk from the hotel takes you into the main square (Piazza Tasso) where there are restaurants and bars to visit, you can take the steps down also to Marina Piccola where the ferries leave to Capri, Naples,Ischia,Positano and Amelfi. if the steps are too much then ask for the directions to the Beach lift.
We will hopefully be returning to the Zi Teresa and Sorrento next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaracatLincoln_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in Sorrento at end of June - Hotel was very pleasant, pool was very welcome after a day of sightseeing - nice chap who looked after the pool & served drinks & snacks. If you don't take a pool towel they will provide one for a couple of euros. Hotel staff very friendly & room nice and big with a balcony overlooking the pool - can be a bit noisy in the day but not too bad at night - don't open the windows at night - mosquitos !! Didn't have the evening meals but the people who were on package deals seemed to have to chose in the morning - breakfast was a bit bland, lots of chocolate cakes & sugary items - as usual, tea and coffee not good. Rooms had a basic hairdryer and safe you had to pay for - cleaned rooms & changed towels each day. No fridge but you could bring drinks & food up if you wanted - would advise you bring a travel kettle etc if you want an early drink - can use the tap water (so I'm told but would be better to use bottled water). The hotel can arrange a taxi back to the airport for you but this can be a bit expensive - we found a cheaper deal in one of the local taxi/trip offices as we walked into the main square - 105 euros for taxi for four of us - 85 if you had a smaller taxi. The coach which can be found outside the station is much cheaper - 10 euros per person - but this took about 90 mins to get to Sorrento and was very hot - the taxi back took 60 mins early in the morning (7.00). If you want to use the coach -Curreri Viaggi Service to get to Sorrento then be aware that it is not situated outside the airport anymore - you need to cross right over the road & out of the airport, go left and follow the road along & it is parked in a little layby on your right - can take about 10 mins with a case & lots of traffic. Lots of lovely places to eat, we went a couple of times to Bar Kontatto which is just before the station if you are heading up to the main square - food was nice & staff were friendly & pleasant - some restaurants charge you for the bread & other snacks (they just bring them up to the table without asking you) but others provide them & glasses of limoncello for free - such as Syrenuse Bar Ristorante on Piazza Tasso. We took a boat trip around the Amalfi coast & arranged this through the hotel - about 35 euros each. Trip was good value for money but be warned - the first 15 mins of the trip as it headed up to Capri & past was the worst boat trip I have ever been on - the water didn't look bad but the boat wasn't big enough to ride the waves (took about 30 people) & a couple of us were sick - take travel pills before you travel and riding outside seemed to work better but you got covered in salt !! Other people say the coach can make you ill on this trip but might be less than the boat. We took the Hydrofoil to Capri (about 35 euros) and this was fine - lovely island & signposts everywhere - quite steep though and took a while to reach any of the sights - Arco Naturale was pretty -small restaurant near by - Grotta Matermania was next to this but steps down seemed a long way down !! I would recommend Sorrento as a good base for the area - nice & warm in June but not too hot & very friendly people. Trains are easy to use, just remember to validate ticket - you can buy tickets in shop on right as you go into station - most people speak english.

Room Tip: Single rooms are box rooms - no balconies as far as we could see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lianne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First the good things - and there are plenty of good things to say. This hotel is well located tucked down a quiet side street 5 minutes from the main square. The staff are helpful, polite and friendly. The rooms are cleaned daily and the hotel in general is very clean and well maintained. The pool is quite small - definitely not for serious swimmers - but, again, very clean, deep and perfect for a cool dip which we certainly needed as the whole week was +33C. Guests staying at the hotel when we were there were generally quite quiet and reserved but friendly. I really can't fault this hotel and would have returned another time .... but for one thing ... the food.

We booked half board for the first time ever as we were concerned about prices in Sorrento, the euro etc. By the fourth day of our stay we gave up on dinner and started eating out in the town despite having paid for dinner at the hotel. Breakfast is a little disappointing with no pure fresh fruit juice, very limited choice of fruit (only apples all week I think) and tinned Delmonte type fruit salad on all but one day when it was fresh fruit. There were some slices of processed cheese and very cheap, pale pink, spam type meat, yoghurt, cereal and lots of cake and some bread. All in, not great but acceptable.

Dinner is a set menu and you have to make your choices that day at breakfast. There are only three choices for starter (usually one soup, two pasta) and main course and one dessert. The food tasted OK and it was cooked to a reasonable standard but it was just so limited in choice, bland and unimaginative - and this in Italy!! Visualise a piece of chicken and a potato cake on a white plate and some chopped iceberg lettuce on a white side plate - dinner. Place this dinner in quite a large, pale room with overhead lighting Changing the lighting and adding some colour to the room and the food would make all the difference. Main course options included "cheese sandwich" and "ham omelette". I'm surprised to hear some people saying the food was wonderful - I just wonder what they cook/eat at home? Such a shame.

I would recommend this hotel as a lovely place to stay - but definitely don't book half board and don't get too excited about breakfast.

The restaurants in Sorrento are fabulous - really good food and full of atmosphere. We tried several and were never disappointed. The prices were no higher than in any tourist resort with mains from 8/9 euros for pasta dishes up to 12/16 for mid range pizza/meat/fish dishes and on up into the 20s for higher range dishes.

Steer completely clear of the taxi drivers. If you find yourself stuck in Positano (the buses get very full and won't let you on near the end of the day) and a small, young, slim taxi driver offers to cut you a deal back to Sorrento for 10 euros each - SAY NO. As my daughter was back in Sorrento alone and we were keen to get back to her, we took him up on the offer and found ourselves the victims of a really nasty con trick. Taxi drivers apart, the locals were very welcoming and friendly.

Thank you Zi Theresa for a lovely restful stay in a really pleasant hotel but please improve your food.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (5th) and our room with a balcony was lovely and had a side view of Vesuviu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rae108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Zi Teresa with my parents, my Mum is in a wheelchair and the staff bent over backwards to help us. Before the trip I made sure the lift went to all floors including the dining room, however what I did not anticipate was the steps leading to the hotel entrance. The first day we went out and came back in through the underground carpark using the ramp but one of the staff saw us on the CCTV and told us we could use the corridor at the back of the kitchen which brought us out at street level - saving a lot of muscle power in temperatures of 30 degrees plus.

The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the towels changed daily with soft fluffy towels, the communal areas were also clean with air conditioning.

We have been to Sorrento many times but previously stayed in Sant Agnello but chose this hotel for the location with having Mum in a wheelchair. The location of the hotel was excellent with the train station only a few minutes walk away and a good friendly bar (The Banana Split) at the end of the street.

Some reviews on here were saying that the Police Station was a negative but we found it another thing to "people watch" and it was not at all noisy.

We will definitely be going back to Zi Teresa

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just spent a week at this hotel and for a 3* we found it excellent value. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the rooms were cleaned every day. We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the lemon groves. We realised after one day that the rooms at the back are probably the quietest because Sorrento never goes to sleep! There is also a little walk from where the bus is able to drop off but that does mean the hotel is not on the main road like some are.

The pool area is not huge but was very welcome at the end of a long hot day.

As other reviewers have commented, breakfast is certainly different but was very plentiful. If you want English food don't go to Italy. Evening meals were a little disappointing. Everything was hot and well cooked but just a little bland. We went half board because were told eating out in Sorrento was expensive but this is not the case if you stay off the main squares. And there are simply loads of places to eat.

As another reviewer commented, we found the head waiter very abrasive. I understand he will talk more to Italian people, but sometimes he would have a conversation with them from one side of the restaurant to the other whilst he was serving us so were ignored. We did find this rather rude.

We only did one trip with Thomson - the Amalfi drive - and this was a really good day out.

The hotel is only about 5 mins walk from the train station where you can get the train to Pompeii for 2 euros and it takes about half an hour. After Pompeii, you can get the bus from there to Vesuvius which costs about 22 euros each for the bus and entrance. It's about a 20 minute uphill walk from where the bus drops you but the views are well worth it. Just bear in mind that the path is made of ash and very dusty and gritty.

We also caught the ferry from the port (about 15 mins walk from the hotel) to Capri. This works out quite expensive and we didn't think it was worth it when you got there. It's alright if you're happy looking at ridiculously expensive shops. It was 35 euros each for the ferry, 10 euros each for the bus into Capri, 10 euros for the bus if you go to Anacapri and 10 euros each for the cable car.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again but would go bed and breakfast bearing in mind how many restaurants are in the area. Our favourite was the Basilica just off Tasso square which did really good food and quite reasonable.

All in all we had a brilliant week and would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a fantastic time at ZI Teresa from the 28 June to the 12 July 2013 . Breakfast was not what we normally eat but why go to Italy and expect British . Ok the cakes and croissants put on a few a pounds but it was well worth it ! You adapt ! The staff at the reception(night staff included) , the restaurant and the pool were great .The evening meals were beyond critisism.The hotel rooms were very spacious and kept very clean and we asked for a room with a view and got it ! We will be back ! (The lady in red and husband )

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,
we would like thanking you very much for your appreciations regarding our staff, food and cleanliness. We always do our best to satisfy our guests and so we are very very happy when they understand and appreciate our efforts. This is the best reward to our work.

Thank you very much again and see you soon here in Sorrento, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we have just returned from this hotel and on the whole we had a very good 10 day stay. the staff were very friendly and helpful from the start. the room we had was over looking the pool and bed area. this was ok as the pool was only open from 10 in the morning till 6 in the evening. we found breakfast to be of the Italian type(meats, cheese, cakes, toast and coffee and tea)on two mornings there was scrambled eggs. This was ok because when I go to another country I don,t want everything English. the service around the pool was very good and a good price for a hotel. the evening meal had a choice of starters mains and a surprise sweet. the standard of food was good and the service excellent. the only fault I had with the room was that I could here the people in the next room talking, this was found to be through a vent in the bathroom. but all in all we had a very good ten days in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your words. We are very glad you have appreciated our hotel and our services and we are happy we have managed to make your stay in our hotel pleasant.

We hope to have you again as our guest in the future. Grazie e a presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £87 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing