We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - the third time”
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel - the third time”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is just a lovely hotel. The rooms are bright and spacious and we were fortunate enough to have a balcony with a view of Vesuvius. They are kept very clean. The roof terrace offers the opportunity to sunbathe and more importantly to experience some of the wonderful firework displays over the Bay. There is plenty of choice for breakfast - fruit salad, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, cheese, ham, cakes and pie. Other reviews complain about the cake but I observed the majority enjoying it. Although not to my taste there was plenty to suit me. The coffee was served by the charming Gianfranco and there was plenty of it. No complaints at all - well perhaps the heavy smokers using their balconies! In August it appear to be popular with Italian visitors which must be a good sign. Plan to go back.

Room Tip: Balconies at front were a bit too hot for me - those wishing to use them during the day may prefer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    226
    89
    35
    30
See reviews for
113
291
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Friendly staff, nice ambience. Very central for the town, only a few minutes to slowly walk to shops, bars and restraunts. Sun deck can get busy, but it is clean and pleasant. Nice little pool, great for cooling off as it is hot in august. Ideal place for couples. Food is OK, we went half board and found the evening meals to be reasonable - not haute cuisine but OK, and cheaper than dining out every night. Our room was quite nice - thank goodness for air conditioning. Shower was brilliant, very powerful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Me and my 19 year old daughters spent 10 nights in Zi Teresa the staff were excellent, the rooms cleaned daily, the food was superb and the waiters were fantastic, friendly and efficient. Would definitely use this hotel again. For a 3 star it was excellent value for money and very well placed to walk into the main square in Sorrento or the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnePod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from staying here with my husband and was very disappointed. The hotel is tiny and down a little alley although this made it quiet in comparison to others. The hotel staff were very friendly. We were given room 102 to begin with which only had a window which when opened looked onto a brick wall! We asked to move which we did but this cost us 20 Euros per night- a money making exercise. The pool is tiny probably only accommodates 10 people and there are only 20 beds around it. You are not allowed to eat or drink anything around the pool if it has been bought outside, this would be ok if the snack bar had a variety of foods and was reasonable but it was expensive and poor. We had a pizza one day and when we picked up a slice the topping just slid off it! Also everything is charged to your room and paid at the end of the holiday therefore you could end up with a massive bill.
The food in general was very poor. Breakfast was just cornflakes, muesli, cakes, bread, croissants, tinned fruit and sometimes scrambled eggs. This was self service however the tea and coffee was bought to you. The service was slow and sometimes we had eaten our breakfast before the waiter came, don't see why you can't help yourself to hot drinks.
The evening menu has to be chosen at breakfast and there is a choice of three starters and three main courses but again poor- one choice was lentil soup and aubergine casserole! It was mainly pork, fish and chicken but in sauces, we tried to ask for it without the sauce which sometimes worked!. We never had lasagne or pizza for a meal and we were in Italy!
We think this is a two star hotel- the only reason it is three is so that the tourist tax is paid.
Would not recommend this hotel or Sorrento which was also disappointing. Go somewhere else:)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the front with a balcony- 207-2011, 307-3011, 407-4011. the rooms on the back look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank killerqueen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lady73098, Direttore at Hotel Zi Teresa, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Kind Guest,
frankly we cannot tell you how disappointed we are regarding your review.
First of all as we make our work hard and always trying to satisfy our guests and then because some complaints of yours are really unacceptable.
First of all the room: you have booked your room with Thomson. This agency has in our hotel both rooms with window and rooms with balcony, of course with different prices. Why have you booked a room with window if you wish one with balcony? We have tried to satisfy your wish changing your room, but naturally a supplement was demanded. Do you think EUR 20.00 are excessive as difference between a standard and a superior room? We told you the extra charge immediately.
Why have you accepted it if it was not right for you?
Regarding the pool, it is true that it is not an Olympic swimming pool, but it is proper to refresh and to sunbathe. Perhaps, have you sometimes not found place? We think no. We assure you that the space around the pool is enough for the clients that usually stay on it. Regarding your comment that on the pool area you cannot eat or drink things bought out of the hotel, it seems us superfluous to comment straight. By chance, have you never thought to sit down in a restaurant and to
demand to eat foods brought from house or bought elsewhere?
Regarding the supper: first of all it is not true that you have never had lasagne, as they were on the menù on Sunday just after your arrival on Friday. Sorry if they escaped you! Besides the menù foresees so many Italian dishes. During your stay we had in the menù lentil soup but also ravioli alla caprese, spaghetti alla puttanesca, fettuccine alla bolognese, risotto allo zafferano, orecchiette con broccoli, cannelloni alla sorrentina...... It is true, we have no pizza (also if however you have eaten it on the pool), but in Italy we make pizza in wood oven and, trust me, no hotel has one of it, neither 5 star hotels!
Regarding the main courses? Every evening we have a choice among 3 main courses, one of fish (during your stay we have offered you salmon, squids, sole, sword fish, codfish, sea bream) one of meat (during your stay we had pork, chicken or turkey) and one vegetarian( aubergines casserole, Mozzarella Cheese, Omelette, caprese salad, tomato and tunafish salad).
This kind of menu seems not poor, is it true? We are a 3 stars hotel, not a 4 stars or 5 stars hotel!
Finally some words regarding your reproach on our hotel location. We are in a small lateral street, with respect to the main Sorrento Corso Italia. This for many of our guests is our point of strength, as we are in the centre of Sorrento, but we are not on the main noisy road and therefore in a quieter position.
Again, we repeat you, we are really dismayed by your words, which we find unfair and uncalled, probably conditioned by the application of the supplement for the changing of room, that, we repeat, if considered excessive, it could be not approved.
However we hope that in the future you can recall your Sorrento stay with a smile, the same smile you had at the check out from the hotel and which let us believe that you was happy for your stay. Despite all our city is beautiful and pleasant and worthy of come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel, our first visit to Sorrento. We booked half board , and we were a little dubious , having read the previous reviews. It is after all a 3 star hotel, however , all the staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean, towels changed every day.
the food was simply cooked, go for the fish. We had swordfish, sea bass, cod, and salmon steak. I thought it was cooked well and appetising. Breakfast has a huge array of food which should suit most appetites. The downside to the hotel was I thought the pool area, there were probably only 10 sun beds , so quite small. The pool side snacks were of great value and very tasty. I would recommend this hotel for its superb location, 10 minutes from both train and bus station.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back with a balcony are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank separker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Returned from Sorrento after a two week break and thanks to Zi Theresa and Thompson's had a wonderful time. Yes the food is not 5 star but we had no complaints and the dining room staff were all lovely even the head waiter, I wasn't keen on a couple of the dishes but you just speak up and they are happy to give you something else. The young man who looks after you by the pool is very helpful and run off his feet .poolside snacks and drinks we thought better than the local cafe's and possibly better value. We did Amalfi drive with Thompson's and would recommend it,the guide is very knowledgeable and entertaining and the views amazing ,it takes your breath away,also did Vesuvius and again the guide was fantastic she is a wine expert and knows her stuff,we were taken to a vineyard and winery at bottom of Vesuvius and walked round the vineyards and unexplained about different grapes and soil red and then onto the assent to Vesuvius,you have to walk up to the crater approx 20 mins ,it's not for the unfit particularly in 30c heat.We headed back to the vineyard for a lovely homemade lunch and most importantly wine tasting, no pressure to purchase and drink as many refills as you want,needless to say a quiet coach and snoring going back! For boat trips walk down to marina piccalo we did a full day for 28 EUR swimming by fragalioni rocks,Capri, possitano and Amalfi,nice to have a day at sea for a change.
Thank you to the lovely guests we met at Zi Theresa and all the staff you made my holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a great little hotel to make as your base camp, its clean, very friendly and the staff will do almost anything to enhance your stay with them.
the position of the hotel is a good central location where you can walk to almost anywhere you want to in Sorento, but do not make the mistake of going half board because you will almost certainly have a negative eliment to your holiday.
basically the meals are well cooked and well presented, but the choice is at best minimal for example its the first time in forty years of hotels that we were offered an omelette for the main coarse, the portions seemed fine for most ladies watching their weight but woefully inadequate for most fully grown guys.
use this place as your base camp and you will not be disapointed, go half board after reading this and you cant say that you were not told!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing