We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely ITALIAN food and friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely ITALIAN food and friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent a great week at this “small and friendly” hotel booked through Thomson, and would highly recommend it. The staff are hardworking, friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, comfortable, large and airy, decorated in a typically Italian fashion, with good sized bathrooms (shower good, hairdryer not very effective as others have warned – bring your own!) Towels changed daily, beds every other and shower gel when needed. Most rooms have small balconies: some overlook the pool on the sunny front side; others, like ours (#403) are cooler and overlook lemon groves and on towards the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Ask for a room on a high floor for the best views, but if you can’t get one, there’s always the roof terrace on floor 6 with fabulous views of the Bay, the volcano and the sunsets, with a drink and camera at hand! You can even check out which cruise ships are in port that day (with a pair of binoculars to read the names!) and whilst we were there, we watched TWO firework displays and some natural fireworks – no, not Vesuvius, an electrical storm which went on for several hours!

Buffet breakfast is typically Italian with lots of pastries (both sweet and savoury), as well as cereal, (tinned) fruit salad or prunes, fruit juice (orange and grapefruit), croissants, toast, and, on Thursdays and Sundays, scrambled eggs – worth the wait! Gianfranco, the head waiter, will serve you tea, coffee or hot chocolate and give you a basic lesson in his beloved Italian! If you are staying half board, you choose your evening meal over breakfast, from three antipasti and three entrees; the desert is chef’s sorpresa (surprise)! That way there is little waste and the food is prepared and (almost) waiting for you. If told in advance, the hotel can cater for special diets (both gluten and lactose intolerances were dealt with without any fuss). The evening meal was waiter service and the BEST Italian food we have ever tasted, courses beginning large and getting smaller each time, but you often struggled to fit in the dessert! Coffee/tea can be purchased in the lounge above after the meal.

The pool (small but adequate for a little gentle exercise and cooling off) has a Jacuzzi – ask Luigi if it’s not working - and is open from 10 – 6, and there were plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds to relax on after a long day’s walking round ruins or shops! Watch out for the friendly lizard.

The hotel has a great location: set back from the busy Corsa Italia main road but only 10 minutes’ stroll from central Piazza Tasso, train and bus stations and 15 minutes’ walk from the ferries. If you want a change from Luigi’s lunch or are looking for something for a picnic, on the Corsa Italia across the road close by there is a fresh fruit and veg store and Rita’s Pasticceria, which sells delicious pizza as well as lovely deserts, and a Deco supermarket 5 minutes down the main road.

NB the side road is too narrow for coaches to negotiate, so Thomson guests were dropped off and picked up at the Hotel Flora just round the corner on the main road.

Tip 1: if possible, avoid Friday departures from Naples' small airport - I believe they are a bit of a nightmare and entail arriving very early for your flight (thus curtailing your holiday somewhat!)

Tip 2 for a quieter walk into the centre, turn right out of the hotel and then left at the T junction by the sports stadium. On the way into town you can even walk through shady lemon groves and taste some of the locally produced Limoncello (there were also liquorice and basil flavours when we visited).

Room Tip: High floor (4 or 5) with a pool view if you like it hot, a lemon grove view if you like it cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    210
    82
    33
    28
See reviews for
94
269
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The location of the hotel is quite convenient, just a few minutes walk away from the train station and town central. The room was quite spacious and clean. I didn't need the air con and just left the windows open as it was quite breezy. It was a little bit tucked away from the main road so it was nice and quiet. I was planning to take the ferry to Capri early in the morning and the reception staff was really friendly! He gave me a map of Capri and gave me a few suggestions. Turns out he was originally from Capri! The map was extremely helpful because the tourist info booth wasn't open yet when we arrived, so it was nice to have it on hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

On arrival we were concerned about the noise from the main road, this was short lived. On entering the side road the noise reduced dramatically and once inside the hotel is peaceful and relaxed. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The standard of the rooms is good, very clean and the bed although firm was not uncomfortable. The rooms are cleaned daily with towel changes and bedding was changed every other day. The only downside which was probably due to personal preference was the breakfast - too many sweet options for my liking but for anyone used to this, I am sure it was a lovely morning meal. The toaster was a painful experience and perhaps either a superior model or another toaster may make it easier. The waiting staff were lovely, friendly and always greeted you with a smile. We were only booked B/B so can't comment on the evening meals although the daily menu looked quite good. In all it was worth the cost and made a great base to see Sorrento and surrounding areas. Close to bus and train station and a short walk to the centre of Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kariow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is my second visit to ZI,I was surprised to find a new swimming pool and sun lounge area at front of hotel a much needed addition to the hotel.The staff were excellent as expected in a very Italian Hotel,A good sign I find is if its guests are mainly Italian there cant be much wrong with the hotel.A lovely atmostphere throughout hotel,friendly polite staff especialy Gianfranco who runs the dinning room like clockwork .On a Sunday afternoon there appeared several parents and children who didnt seem to be guests but friends of office staff this should be looked at as pool area is not really big enough for additional people.

Room Tip: Make sure you order a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gascoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Zi Teresa for our honeymoon for 2 weeks. We had a brilliant time. The location was fantastic with just a short walk to the main square but the hotel itself was tucked away in a side street so not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle. The hotel itself is small but kept beautifully. Room had a balcony with a view of Vesuvius which was great. Fantastic staff all very friendly, helpful and hardworking including all at reception desk, Gianfranco and the other waiters at breakfast and dinner and Luigi who worked by the pool area, all incredibly attentive. Good selection at breakfast and plenty to eat at dinner! We certainly didn't go hungry! The pool area was a little smaller than we initially expected but we never had any trouble getting a lounger and it was a nice peaceful area which as a young couple wanting to relax we really appreciated! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are a credit to it and we would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here from 12th-19th August 2013. We booked half board accommodation and stayed in room 206 on the second floor. It has a little balcony and overlooks a vineyard. Has shutters and air con to keep the room cool which worked well. Hardly any outside noise which was a nice surprise as the hotel is just off a bust main road. The room was spotless and the standard was maintained through the whole hotel. Food was sufficient and fit for purpose but I would definitely recommend eating out at least a few times during your trip if budget allows as Sorrento has some lovely places to eat ('Meating' being our favorite - see reviews)

The staff were all friendly and professional, from reception to the restaurant.

Pros:

1) The amazing hidden roof terrace!! You must go and check this out on level 6.This became our favorite place to relax, a truly stunning view over the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. Very quiet up there, not sure many people know about it and has great sun loungers.
2) The staff as stated.
3) Hotel cleanliness
4) Great location for exploring Sorrento. Only 10 mins walk from the centre/harbour.

Cons:

1) The only thing I can fault is that drinks - even water - were NOT included in the evening meal which I had assumed would be so allow and extra 5 -10 euros per meal for that.

I would recommend staying here for a basic 3* hotel and it was perfect for our budget trip to Italy. If you want luxury, then I'd go up a star or two but for us, this place did the job.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThatBritishBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I went for a two-week stay with my mother to the hotel Zi Teresa. We arrived late at night, when the restaurant had already closed, and we found a meal of Italian meats and cheeses in our room when we entered, which was a nice touch.

The hotel is small yet clean. Most of the staff are friendly enough, and will do what they can to help you. However, when we (along with several other residents) had a problem with our much needed air-conditioning not working, the reception staff were VERY dismissive, telling us that according to their computer there was nothing wrong with our air-con. We took a temperature reading in our room of 27c, which would be fine had we not been sold an air-conditioned room! They finally called out an engineer after several conversations.

The restaurant was good, on average. There are three staff that work there, and as long as you don't in some way upset the head waiter, all is good. The food isn't the best quality, but it's ok. You do have to choose your evening meal in the morning though.

The sun terrace is small, but has a lovely little swimming pool, which is delightful for cooling off in.

Overall we weren't unhappy with our stay. We have stayed in both better and worse places. It's reasonable, though not great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelhp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing