We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 28 October 2013

So the qualifiers first; it's a small hotel, about 60 rooms, feels family owned, no flat screen tv, no iPod Dock, no fitness suite and you can't hold swim meets in the pool, the head waiter is happiest when Napoli win oh and the food is unashamedly italian both in choice and service style. They keep costs down by asking you to choose your dinner starter and main from 3 choices for each at breakfast but are flexible about doing main course sized starters and the fish choices were superb! Breakfast is continental and the dinner quality is superb, we only had one dip and that was when service faltered on the night 100 English school kids came to stay, they became affectionately known as the starlings, they flocked and devoured everything - the head waiter reorganised sittings for subsequent nights and we went back to peace and quiet. The rooms are airy, clean and kept that way as were bathrooms and towels. The pool was small but nice and the rooftop terrace is a welcome place to be (served by the lift). The hotel is sided by Italians in their appartments blocks so no grand gardens but it feels like you are in Italy, and only 10 mins from town centre, train station, bus station and lift down to harbour for ferries to Capri and Napoli.

When we return this will be top of our list to get as close to real Italy as you can on a package holiday!

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Touristnottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just returned from holiday in Sorrento staying at this hotel. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was adequate and well cooked. There was a good choice at evening meal. Breakfast was typical Italian (no full English here). My room was spotless and towels were changed every day. It was too cold to use the outside pool but I was able to spend time soaking up the sun beside it and on the roof terrace. The hotel position just off the main road yet only a short walk to Sorrento town centre is exactly what I like. If you want 5* accommodation and English food his hotel is not for you but if you want friendly service and a spotless hotel this is. An excellent 3* hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a small hotel just off the main Corso Italia. It only takes about 10 minutes or so to walk to the main part of the town where there are numerous bars and restaurants. Zi Theresa has friendly helpful staff and the rooms are spacious and clean. Towels were changed every day and there was always lots of hot water. Would suggest that you take your own hairdryer. Considering the hotel is close to the main road it is very quiet at night and I wasn't disturbed by traffic noise. Sound proofing in the hotel itself is minimal - probably due to the age of the hotel - and you can hear noise from the rooms around, but this didn't disturb me either! Beds are firm but comfortable with sheets and blankets rather than duvets. Air conditioning, but didn't need to use it.
Breakfast is quite adequate and although there are lots of cakes etc. there is also cereal, toast, yoghurt etc. and Gianfranco supplies as much coffee and tea as you wish. Evening meal choices are made in the morning and I found the food to be of very good quality. Beware of your first course being larger than the second course! I didn't always manage the sweet (probably no bad thing!)
Altogether an ideal place to stay, conveniently close to the town centre and a good base from which to explore the surrounding area. Only one day of heavy rain and we were told it was unseasonably hot for October.

Room Tip: Room with a large terrace 210. This is above the reception area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We weren't sure what to expect as we normally book all inclusive. When we arrived we were greeted by the reception staff who all speak very good English. We arrived quite late so we were asked to pick off the menu and we went straight for food. You get a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains. Don't be put off by this, the food is amazing!!! I am quite a fussy eater but I ate all my food every night, I never saw a plate go back into the kitchen with food on it! The breakfast is as dates continental and very Italian, they like their pastries. But there is toast, eggs, cereal and croissants for those not brave enough to have the breakfast pizza! The drinks at the hotel are cheaper than outside bars. A bottle of wine is €8 and water €2. They are very good and will save what you don't drink for the following night so if your like me and don't want to drink a whole bottle of wine then it's perfect!! If you have an early morning flight home then ask for a breakfast bag, they gave us water, juice, croissants, pastries, biscuits, we didn't go hungry!

We went with Thompson but did not book any trips with them, as usual they were too expensive. If you do go with Thompson they do a walk around Sorrento after the welcome meeting which is free and very helpful, plus you get free food and drinks to try all the way round.

We used the train which is situated about 5 mins walk away. Turn left at the bar Kontantino. The train takes you all the way to Naples and stops at Pompeii, Eurcolano. If your going to Pompeii, it takes around 30 mins, it's about €3.50 for a return and then the entrance fee is €11. Eurcolano is where will be find Vesuvius, the train was €4.40 return and when you get to the station you pay €20 to get the bus up, this also includes the entrance fee. Wear sensible shoes as it is very very steep. I wouldn't recommend sandals. We then went down the hill from the station about 5 mins away and went to the ruins at Herculaneum. Also worth a look.

When you are in Sorrento and fancy a meal out there is the most amazing Steak house called The Meating. When you are at the main square turn left past the restaurant and up a side street. The steak is to die for! We payed €38 and we both had steak and 2 sides. You get free champagne, cheese, pizza bread, chocolates and lemonchello. All of this is given without a surcharge.

When eating out be mindful that they will sometimes charge you to sit down, even if you only have a bottle of water. Just ask at each restaurant.

Tea and coffee can be expensive but if you pay Costa prices the. You really cannot moan.

don't expect a beach in Sorrento like one person has reviewed, if you read the brochure it does say. Sorrento is for sight seeing!!! The hotel has a roof terrace, this has limited subbed a but is perfect for catching the rays or even going up at night to see the amazing view.

All in all an amazing holiday and little gem of a hotel!!

Hopefully I have not missed anything out!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank LauraCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned after a weeks stay ending 23rd September.
The hotel itself is quite adequate the staff are lovely,very helpful both reception and restaurant staff,however,the food leaves a lot to be desired,not much choice for dinner plus breakfast is quite poor.

Sorrento itself is quite nice, but there are no beaches as such,except boardwalk types for which you have to pay.

Capri is very expensive, 7euros for a small plate of chips and 5 euros for a tiny sandwich, plus a lot
Of hanging around for transport to take you up the island. a boat trip will cost you an additional €15 on top of the Thompson organised trip cost

Pompeii is very nice but beware if you go on a Thompson organised trip,although its written on the information sheet given, we didn't realise that you have to pay an additional €11 entry fee on top of the half day trip cost which makes it expensive.

Would not rush to re visit

Room Tip: They don't have a fitness centre but I can't delete the "terrible "review entered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherry-Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Zi Teresa in September 2013 and had a great time. The location is perfect with only a short walk into central Sorrento and nicely tucked away from the busy Corso Italia. We had a room with a balcony on the 5th floor with a spectacular view over the bay of Naples and Vesusvias. The room was clean and spacious with clean towels every day and the staff very friendly and helpful. We will definetly be coming back to Sorrento and will be sure to stay at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Broon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent a great week at this “small and friendly” hotel booked through Thomson, and would highly recommend it. The staff are hardworking, friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, comfortable, large and airy, decorated in a typically Italian fashion, with good sized bathrooms (shower good, hairdryer not very effective as others have warned – bring your own!) Towels changed daily, beds every other and shower gel when needed. Most rooms have small balconies: some overlook the pool on the sunny front side; others, like ours (#403) are cooler and overlook lemon groves and on towards the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Ask for a room on a high floor for the best views, but if you can’t get one, there’s always the roof terrace on floor 6 with fabulous views of the Bay, the volcano and the sunsets, with a drink and camera at hand! You can even check out which cruise ships are in port that day (with a pair of binoculars to read the names!) and whilst we were there, we watched TWO firework displays and some natural fireworks – no, not Vesuvius, an electrical storm which went on for several hours!

Buffet breakfast is typically Italian with lots of pastries (both sweet and savoury), as well as cereal, (tinned) fruit salad or prunes, fruit juice (orange and grapefruit), croissants, toast, and, on Thursdays and Sundays, scrambled eggs – worth the wait! Gianfranco, the head waiter, will serve you tea, coffee or hot chocolate and give you a basic lesson in his beloved Italian! If you are staying half board, you choose your evening meal over breakfast, from three antipasti and three entrees; the desert is chef’s sorpresa (surprise)! That way there is little waste and the food is prepared and (almost) waiting for you. If told in advance, the hotel can cater for special diets (both gluten and lactose intolerances were dealt with without any fuss). The evening meal was waiter service and the BEST Italian food we have ever tasted, courses beginning large and getting smaller each time, but you often struggled to fit in the dessert! Coffee/tea can be purchased in the lounge above after the meal.

The pool (small but adequate for a little gentle exercise and cooling off) has a Jacuzzi – ask Luigi if it’s not working - and is open from 10 – 6, and there were plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds to relax on after a long day’s walking round ruins or shops! Watch out for the friendly lizard.

The hotel has a great location: set back from the busy Corsa Italia main road but only 10 minutes’ stroll from central Piazza Tasso, train and bus stations and 15 minutes’ walk from the ferries. If you want a change from Luigi’s lunch or are looking for something for a picnic, on the Corsa Italia across the road close by there is a fresh fruit and veg store and Rita’s Pasticceria, which sells delicious pizza as well as lovely deserts, and a Deco supermarket 5 minutes down the main road.

NB the side road is too narrow for coaches to negotiate, so Thomson guests were dropped off and picked up at the Hotel Flora just round the corner on the main road.

Tip 1: if possible, avoid Friday departures from Naples' small airport - I believe they are a bit of a nightmare and entail arriving very early for your flight (thus curtailing your holiday somewhat!)

Tip 2 for a quieter walk into the centre, turn right out of the hotel and then left at the T junction by the sports stadium. On the way into town you can even walk through shady lemon groves and taste some of the locally produced Limoncello (there were also liquorice and basil flavours when we visited).

Room Tip: High floor (4 or 5) with a pool view if you like it hot, a lemon grove view if you like it cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
476 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £81 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing