We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, would recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at this hotel and would recommend it. It was in a good location for the centre of Sorrento and the train station and we had lovely days out at Pompeii, Capri and Naples. Do the trips yourself rather than going with Thompson - we felt they overcharged.

Couldn't fault the staff (reception, waiters, cleaners) We were disappointed not to get a balcony, but appreciate there aren't enough for everyone. A fridge in the room would be good but we got by. We thought the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    208
    82
    33
    27
See reviews for
92
266
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here with family for two weeks and really enjoyed our time both at the hotel and throughout the area.We have been to Italy many times and this was one of the best.Hotel was spotlessly clean and staff unfailingly polite and helpful,even complimenting me on my hesitant attempts to speak Italian(although all staff speak decent English).Food was of a good standard to expect from a 3 star hotel and offered a range of authentic local cuisine.Some music at dinner would be a good idea though.The town is easily accessible on foot as are the trains and buses which were cheap and frequent for getting about to view the region - don't go on organised trips.Pompei in particular is only a short train journey but go on a guided tour once you get there which costs 12 euros.Definitely "Torna a Sorrento" for us

Room Tip: Rooms on the side overlook a lemon grove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Thomson picture swimming pool looking out to sea over bay my balcony swimming pool underneath garden small road then cop shop went hunting for this picture are roof terrace with good lens pool still in wrong place very clean hotel breakfast a let down same every day with stale rolls diner good would like a fridge in room when we arrived at evening kitchen was closed in room was some bits of meat no drinks not much when you been without all day

Room Tip: Where we were 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineLangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband and teenage son the first week in July 2014.
I had read the reviews before I booked, so I was aware of the food issue, but still decided to stay here because of the location; which was very good, near the center of Sorrento, the train station and bus stops. However there are other hotels in the same area, if you didn't want to stay here.

To be fair I do think that this hotel would ever be a 4 star no matter what they did to it because it just doesn't have the space. However it is an average 3 star and could possibly become a good 3 star if the owners just took on board the constructive criticism given by their customers.

Good points, excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Very clean rooms and public areas. Good house keeping. Decor okay. Small pool area, very clean. Roof top terrace, okay.

Areas to improve: the food, breakfast was very underwhelming, needs more variety, like different meats and cheeses, maybe the addition of some soft cheese and tomatoes. Tea is like dish water, but the coffees not bad. Don't understand why they couldn't do scrambled egg every day and maybe freshly cooked omelettes to order.
Dinner is a whole different ball game, not everyday was bad, but there were more bad than good. To start with the dinning table is not set with side plates and when you order wine it is just plonked on the table not even poured into your wine glasses, not very professional. Just the general standard of the meal is not great, I don't know of any other hotel that would serve a cheese sandwich for a main course! The salad selection was okayish, sometimes if you went to the 8pm sitting there was nothing much left and it was not replenished. Some days the salad was quite good other times it was very poor. The escalopes were good, so were the soups but the squid was really in edible. I think you can get the idea, however there are many lovely restaurants in Sorrento, so you will not go hungry.
A big improvement would be addition of background music in the dinning hall, which is really a very nice room but has no ambience.
One of the main reasons I chose this hotel is that the third person in the room has a proper bed and not a camp bed. The room was okay, not a bad size, like I said, very clean, could maybe done with brightening up a bit and definitely needs a fridge. The bathroom was spot on, very clean, good shower and clean white towels every day.

My tip would be to be take your own hair dryer as the one in the room is not very good and go to the pub on the corner, Banana Split, for a drink and use their free wifi.

I think I have given a fair assessment, we really enjoyed Sorrento and this hotel is worth using as a base.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife, son and myself have been back a week now and we all enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding area. The hotel is a bit dated and could do with being modernised. The food, well what can i say apart from eat out. The staff though were great and could not do any more for you. The pool area is small but it is clean as Luigi looks after the pool area very well.
If you are going to sorrento and you do want to go on any trips avoid going with Thomson and do the trips yourself. You pay way over the top. We did all the trips ourselves and saved a lot of money and was not tied to any pick up times. The train station is not close by and will get you to all the attractions. If you are in sorrento during the 1st sunday of each month we know that Pompeii is free to get in not sure of any other sites.
Please do not do the Rome in one day trip you are stuck on a coach for over 4 hours and when you get there you only get about 4 to 5 hours in Rome. Not enough time to see anything then back on the coach for another 4 to 5 hours.

Room Tip: Top floor and on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenjoluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week half board on the 7th July, we'd purposely chosen a central hotel as we'd previously stayed up in the hills and found it awkward to rely on a shuttle bus down to the town.

The good:
The hotel is situated right off the Corsa italia, a slow 10 minute walk into Piazza Tasso (The main square) . Corsa Italia has plenty of shops, restaurants, bars and even a supermarket as you get closer into town. Despite it's location we had no issues with noise being on the fifth (top) floor. We'd requested a sea view with balcony which was spacious and got plenty of sun throughout the day.

The rooms are very clean, the housekeeping staff do a great job keeping the place tidy on a daily basis, the rest of the staff were also very accommodating and friendly.

The pool area, while small, is well maintained and we never had an issue getting a sun lounger in the afternoon. The pool bar is basic but served a decent selection of beers and snacks at very reasonable prices (€2.50 for a large bottle of peroni).

Round the corner from the hotel is a bar (Banana Split) it's geared for tourists (sky sports/English menus) though it's got free wifi and has a great selection of cocktails.

The air-con worked effectively (sometimes a little too cold in the mornings ended up turning it down) though it was turned off mid morning while the housekeeping were in.

The bad:
While the room we had was a decent size, the furnishings were quite worn. Everything in the hotel felt quite tired and while functional its not somewhere you'd want to spend a great deal of time.
The rooms could do with a lick of paint and some modernisation. A fridge would go a long way to improving the quality of the stay and modern in-room amenities like kettle/tea/coffee/iron would be greatly appreciated. The bathroom was a fair size though the shower cubicle would have been too small in a dolls house, barely any room to move.

The bed was akin to a prison mattress, solid and unforgiving on the back, it might be so some peoples preference but certainly not mine.

While the view was technically a sea view it was to the right of the hotel and not facing the room, our immediate view was of the buildings (police station) but you're high enough up on the top floor that the view isn't spoiled.

We tried the breakfast 3 times, but really beyond the toast there wasn't much there either of us would eat. It is continental as you'd expect with lots of cakes, some ham and cheese, yogurt and cereal.
In terms of hot food there was scrambled egg on one of the days we went but that was all and the bread was always rock solid. Though the staff were good, providing tea and coffee and there was fresh juices on offer each morning.

We never ate in the hotel for evening meal (the menu goes round at breakfast for you to select in advance). There was nothing really on the menu any night that both my partner and I would eat, coupled with the impression we got from breakfast and other trip advisor reviews, we thought it best not to waste one of our nights on a sub-par meal though not having tried it myself i cant really comment on it. Sorrento has some fantastic restaurants so we didn't really mind eating out every day.

Despite Thomson advertising free wifi at the hotel it's actually a pay per day system which wasn't cheap.

Overall:
If you're looking for a no-frills, well staffed central hotel then this would be a pretty good choice. If you're looking for a little bit of luxury and modern amenities then i'd look elsewhere. It works well as a base to explore Sorrento so long as you know what you're paying for.

I don't think i'd return in it's current state, if it got rejuvenated then i'd consider it for the location, cleanliness and staff, but probably on a room only basis.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hagbard247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Don't go for a ground floor room [they are numbered 105, 106 etc], they are small. dark, pokey and have nowhere to hang anything like a damp towel. 105, 106, 107 etc. are near the bar and lounge area so can be noisy, especially in the morning when the staff are preparing for breakfast 5.45am onwards]. Upstairs facing the road are also very noisy with cars, bin collections etc. The housekeeping staff do a great job, as the rooms were spotless.
The food is dreadful, particularly breakfast, which had little choice and worse, tinned fruit [despite there being a lovely fruit shop opposite the hotel!], plenty of cakes and quiche type things were also on offer. However lunch at the hotel is lovely, especially the pizza! Evening meals are extremely dull and soaked in oil.
The pool is small and it's pretty busy with loungers in rows and close to each other.
There are 2 real positives to this hotel - the location [7 mins straight down the road into the old town] and the lovely attentive staff, especially Luigi who takes care of the pool area,

Room Tip: Don't go for the rooms on the ground floor [they begin with 10, eg 107], they are small, dark an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing