We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paul, liz, layla”
Review of Hotel Zi Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zi Teresa
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
bradninch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paul, liz, layla”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

hotel was fab, really clean, cleaners were super in putting toys on bed! Made us laugh. Lovely staff in reception, pool and restaurant. So helpful and kind and funny. Thankyou!
It made the stay. Food was lovely always fresh. Cannot say enuf abt staff in restaurant as they were brilliant. Pool area great, terrace overlooking bay fantastic. Be good to have a bit of lighting in eve,parasols for day up on terrace. Would def go again..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    218
    85
    35
    29
See reviews for
101
281
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I have to admit that I had never really thought about going to Sorrento, until some of our close friends invited us to their wedding, being held in the Cloisters in Sorrento town.

After much research my wife found the Hotel Zi Terisa. The process of elimiation involved closesness to the town centre and beaches and the hotel facilities.

The hotel is really nice. The staff very friendly, including the head waiter and very helpful, even if your children lock their key in the room!

The food is nice and varied, there is usually a fish choice everyday. Breakfast is good including chocolate tart and flans. Wouldn't like to be eating it at home everyday though.

The view from the rooftop is brilliant and the swimming pool area really nice.

We went here with Thompsons and I believe some of the trips offered are expensive. We did go on the half day Volcano and Pompeii trips which were good but costly.

It is worth walking down to the marina and booking the Amalfi Coast boat trip. Only €28 and well worth it.

All in all a lovely place to visit and a very nice hotel.
Do your research but keep the Zi Terisa in mind.

P.S. there is no free WiFi in the hotel. But there is a bar called Split Irish Pub that has WiFi 24/7 only about 30 seconds walk from the hotel. They even provide a bench for out of hours customers.

P.P.S The wedding went really well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank johnmw159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is a lovely little hotel tucked away along a small street leading off the main street of Sorrento, 2 minutes from the train station. Perfect location! The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with air con - excellent showers, plenty of hot water and towels and a lovely pool. Staff are friendly and helpful and dinner in the restaurant is excellent with large portions of food! Breakfasts however are not good. Virtually every Sorrento attraction is within walking distance and a handy ATM is next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony room - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

They sit there at breakfast looking like they have chewed on a wasp & they are going to find something to complain about whatever. And so it is at the Zi Tereza which is an excellent hotel in Sorrento.

The staff at the hotel are excellent, They are always friendly & helpful from the receptionists & restaurant staff through to the cleaners. As always you will get back what you put in & if you interact they will bend over backwards to help you. An example was the plates of food in the room when we arrived late on the first evening

The food at the hotel is varied & enjoyable. Breakfasts are a mixture of croissants, meats , scrambled eggs, fruit & cakes- If you want a fried breakfast then I suggest you go to Butlins or Haven.
Dinners are 3 course with choices for starter & main. Food is authentic, tasty & hot despite what some say & is served with a smile by the waiters. We ate in the hotel for all bar one night & thoroughly enjoyed the choice & the food

After dinner we usually went to the roof to watch the sunsets. The view is one of the best in Sorrento over the bay with Vesuvius & Capri in the background. Later on in the evening there may well be a firework display somewhere in the bay (they like their fireworks) & this is an ideal place to watch from

The hotel is within a 10 minute walk of the town with lots of bars nearby. Sorrento is busy during the day but comes alive at night as everyone goes walkabout in their best clothes. The old town and marinas are beautiful both day & night

The rooms are spotless & cleaned daily with towels also changed daily. Most rooms have a balcony

There is a small pool with sunbeds which were being reserved by visitors who would then wander off. We were all delighted when the hotel clamped down on this much to the annoyance of some!

The people staying at the hotel that we spoke to were all very friendly & all had nothing but praise for the place. No-one could understand the poor reviews. Some people must go looking to find fault!

We are looking forward to going back again soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnbBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Zi Teresa!
Enjoyed our stay in this hotel, the staff were brilliant and nothing was to much trouble, reception , restaurant staff, bar staff, pool staff and cleaners were all lovely and friendly. The hotel was spotlessly clean and towels were changed every day, the sheets every other day. I had seen on other reviews that the food was not good but that was not the case, the meals were cooked fresh everyday , there was also enough to choose from for breakfast, the food is Italian because it is Italy. If people want English breakfast of fish and chips holiday in England !!!
There is also a roof terrace which looks over the whole bay of Naples which is amazing. Loved every minute of our stay in Sorrento and will most definitely return to the Hotel Zi Teresa and Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanpbeacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Zi Teresa Hotel exceeded our expectations, we found it a very relaxing hotel and, good value for money. It is very well located, only 10 minutes walk from the main Piazza Tasso with several bars, ice cream parlours and cake shops en-route to the centre.

Room

Our room were spacious, clean and comfortable with fresh towels every day. Our room had a fantastic sea view from the balcony, i.e. room 407.

Evening food

Being of italian origin, the food was authentic and quality especially the pasta dishes. Perhaps a choice desserts could be offered to guests, because you had a choice of first and second courses, but not dessert. Dessert was a surprise and not inspiring.

Breakfast food

Basic and sufficient with some nice cakes. Extremely pleased to see no fried breakfasts were available at this hotel, sticking to italian food only. Suggestion with the coffee/tea, please keep it on a hot plate as on some days it was warm and not hot after being left on the waiter's trolley for too long.

Pool and Reception Area

Very clean, pretty and nice little pool which suited my 10 year old daughter well and for us adults perfect for cooling off. Plenty of shade available on hotter days in the middle area of pool area. It was nice to see the hotel staff enforcing their no reserving sun beds policy due to compact nature of the pool area. Bravo to the hotel staff!!

Sun Terrace on 6th Floor

A must visit after evening dinner around 8-8.15pm (in August) when the sun is setting, fabulous views and if lucky on feast day you may even see fireworks!

Staff

The staff were all helpful and friendly. Special mentions to Daniele on reception who promptly resolved both our minor problems with our room. Luigi on the pool bar friendly, smiling and kept the pool area very clean. Finally, the head waiter Gianfranco, enthusiastic and welcoming to all guests.

All in all a value for money hotel which I would recommend highly. It is not the Ritz, which the hotel doesn't portray itself as but, it is a very high standard for a three star hotel. Thank you for the lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 407 has a brilliant seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoScalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you want an Olympic size swimming pool, multi channel flat screen TVs, swish cocktail bars and masses of different meats for breakfast, then the Zi Teresa isn't for you. Mind you, if you wanted all that, you'd have to pay a lot more!

The ZT is a GREAT VALUE, 3* hotel staffed by people who clearly care for their customers, and we had a great week there.

Why so good?

Our rooms had comfy beds, bathrooms where everything works fine and great chambermaid service. We had a balcony too - but I know not all rooms do. Air con was top notch (and needed) and shutter kept out the noonday sun

Service from the staff on the front desk was great too, the pool and surrounding area was small but fine for relaxing, with snacks and drinks easily available.

In the dining room, the waiting staff were unfailingly cheerful and helpful with tips for places to go etc. My daughter has coeliac disease, so had to have gluten-free pasta and cereals - but again, the staff went to great lengths to accommodate this.

Breakfast had a limited range - but the cakes and savouries were scrumptious. First courses in the evening were usually very good pasta dishes.

The only reason that I've given 4* not 5 is because the evening mains could be a little uninspired, and accompanying salad had a limited range. Given the excellence of the cakes at breakfast, dessert wasn't always as good as expected.

Other points - good roof terrace with top views of sunsets over the bay, and, being slightly off the Corso, traffic noise a little reduced. About 10 min walk into town.

So, all in all, a great value hotel where we felt really like guests and looked after. If I was staying there longer than a week, I might pass on a couple of evening meals and enjoy the greater delights in Sorrento itself

Room Tip: If you can get a balcony room, that's nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zi Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zi Teresa

Property: Hotel Zi Teresa
Address: Vico III Rota 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zi Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zi Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zi Teresa Hotel
Zi Teresa Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing