We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place! Can't wait to go back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison La Minervetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place! Can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel is so unique. It's a small hotel but with so much style and character.
The owner of the hotel is a well known hotel designer and he has created a real art gem.
Each room is different but I know we had the best room. It had two huge window walls that overlooked the water and the town of Sorrento......it was breathtaking. It was like our room was perched over the water.
We ate our breakfast on the balcony (weather permitting)....again a beautiful view of the water.
It was a ten minute walk to town and that didn't bother us in the least. The walk was a good way to burn off some calories and to take in the views.
i really liked the fact that this was a small boutique hotel with great service and an one of kind style.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    39
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
691
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

What can I say about this amazing place that hasn't already been said. It's a one of a kind jewel with a view that will bring you to tears. We celebrated our anniversary here and are already making plans for a return visit. We had the large corner room (the white one) and it was beautiful. It's like you're staying in someone's gorgeous home filled with art and life and love. The staff are attentive, friendly and wonderful. The breakfasts are delicious (thanks Francesca!) and we woke up every morning excited about enjoying our meal overlooking the water and Mt Vesuvius. Did I mention the artwork? I did, but it is worth repeating. Everywhere you look, there is a little treasure. The ceramics, the coral, the wonderfully quirky rubber vases... everything feels both deliberate and whimsical all at once. We loved our visit to La Minervetta and will dream about this magical place for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scribble96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

La Minervetta is a majestic little hotel in Sorrento. We had a room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Be warned that La Minervetta is not too close to the Sorrento train station (ard 15 minute walk) but the views in the hotel are breathtaking. The hotel was clean and the front desk was very nice. But the best part of the hotel is having the windows open at night and being lulled to sleep by the soft waves. La Minervetta...we will meet again.

Room Tip: I do not believe there are any bad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illshame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

After spending 4 nights at this hotel, I was left a bit disappointed. You would think this top rated and pricey hotel in Sorrento would have free WiFi, but they don't. The breakfast was good, but a bit like a bed and breakfast or hanging out in someone's residential kitchen. It would be nice to have complementary bottled water in the minibar. The location is good, right on the marina. The walk up the stairs from the marina will give you quite a workout after dinner. Overall nice, but lacked that special personal attention and pampering that is normally found in a higher class hotel. I think there may be better options in town that may offer a bit more for the money. Try somewhere else first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Res0rtSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

I've read the reviews and wanted to add my two cents. This is a chill hotel -- if you want staff all over you all the time, this isn't for you. The staff are relaxed (maybe that's not OK with some people) and personable. The room was the cleanest hotel room I've ever been in -- ever (the hotel itself is spotless as well). Lovely amenities, cool furnishings. The sums it up: one evening my husband and I sat in the lobby lounge with a view the ocean and the islands, they served us a glass of wine, we watched the sun go down, Joni Mitchell was playing on the Bose. OK? That's what this place is about.

Room Tip: get a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

La Minervetta is like a woman whose extraordinary physical beauty is exceeded by her kindness, personality and character. The physical beauty draws you in; the caring person makes you fall in love. All the other reviews on this site are true. La Minervetta has floor to ceiling windows, unobstructed views of Vesuvius and sunrise over Sorrento, beautiful and eclectic decor, and the hominess of a boutique hotel with only 12 rooms. However, the people who work there are what really sets this hotel apart. Everyone, from the woman who prepares your cappucino at breakfast to the men sprucing up the hotel for spring, treat the guests like their long lost relative visiting from America.
My wife and I would normally not have been able to afford La Minervetta. Because we vacationed in March and booked one of the least expensive rooms, the stay was within our budget. However, I do not believe a stay at a hotel could be any more pleasant at any price.
We chose to stay two nights at the beginning of our vacation and the last night of our vacation in Campania. La Minervetta arranged for Aldo's Limousine (highly recommend) to take us from the airport in Naples to Sorrento. We were greeted warmly by Floriana who was determined that every aspect of our stay in Sorrento would go smoothly. Floriana gave us advice on restaurants, showed us how best to catch the bus to Positano and arranged a first rate private guide for our trip to Pompeii. Every bit of advice and the arrangements she made for us saved us money and time and ensured a memorable experience.
Other highlights of our stay: La Minervetta serves the best breakfast I have ever had at a hotel on a terrace with plenty of fresh air and a view to die for. We were able to watch the sun come up over Sorrento and the fishermen go to sea from our bed. The hotel rooms are two to three stories below the Via Capo and are very quiet. With the windows open one can hear the bells from the church in the Marina Grande and the motors on the fishing boats as they head out to sea. The walk to the center of town is about ten minutes on a well-maintained sidewalk and the grade is gently sloping. Shopping in Sorrento is great. It has an interesting mixture of architectural styles from a wide range of periods. Sorrento is a town with many family run restaurants. All our meals were wonderful in restaurants recommended by Floriana but I suspect it is hard to find a bad meal in this town.
Ciao Floriana and all the people at La Minervetta who make it special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTCTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Believe what all the other reviews had to say about this place - it's absolutely fabulous! The views (from every room) are stunning, the staff is wonderful, the decor is superb and the cleanliness is impeccable. It's not cheap, but my wife and I thought it was worth every penny. The hotel is small (only 12 rooms) and they don't have a restaurant on site - so if you're looking for a full service hotel, this may not be for you. But they have a wonderful breakfast spread in the morning and will serve you drinks and munchies all day and night to enjoy on the amazing terrace, by the pool, or in your room. It's a short (ten minute) walk to town, but we enjoyed being able to walk off the meals we ate in town. They also have a small parking lot, whick makes the hotel convenient to use as a base to explore other parts of the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GULawTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Property: Maison La Minervetta
Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing