We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Chic”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

La Minervetta was the first stop on our honeymoon. When we arrived after a long red eye from New York we were mesmerized by the boutique hotels' fabulous design. Its blue and white open air backdrop evokes the breezy Mediterranean vibe, but it's the many details that make La Minervetta so unique. Its walls and book cases are filled with the most diverse array of color-popping eclectic art -- from old black and white photography, to countless piles of art books, to ceramic heads and sculptures. We fell in love with the hotels' main area filled with couches and chairs to relax on (one rainy morning I read a book on Audrey Hepburn & Jackie O), a gem of a kitchen that evokes both kitch and vintage Italian, and a sprawling terrace that overlooks the Mediterranean. The hotel's structure is a feat unto itself--it's built into the side of a cliff, and guests can walk down its private 200 or so steps down to the marina. En route, you'll encounter more sculptures, along with a grassy landing that has a cozy, but but totally glamorous pool (more for lounging, than swimming--but incredible loungy). The complementary breakfasts were also phenomenal-- delicious pastries, meats, fruit, yogurt, and the most melt in your mouth Buffalo mozzarella we've ever tasted. The chef will also make eggs and delicious espresso doppios al lattes (cappuccinos)! While we would definitely consider it an expensive stay, we felt the unique experience was well worth it and would go back again. It's in walking distance to Sorrento's central shopping and historic area. The only thing guests might find frustrating is that there's no real room service or daytime restaurant, so if you're hungry after breakfast you must find food elsewhere. But a totally sexy and unique experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    42
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
96
741
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

All the recent reviews describe it really well. So my summary:
intimate hotel (it has 12 rooms) - (it is like staying in a good friends spacious villa)
stunning design
breathtaking views
the best breakfasts ever, anywhere
young ,vibrant, knowledgeable, friendly, trendy staff
superb terrace and library area - you could spend a month here - just chilling - reading and admiring the views
modern - everythng works and is high quality (compared to many of the older but expensive italien hotels)
lovely nooks and crannies , furniture, ornaments etc
lovely sun deck overlooking the fishing port (down 300+ private steps)
roped off swim area in the sea
access to delfino restaurant - great great food and setting
free parking
easy access to capri
gets our view as the best hotel in amalfi having been fortunate enough to stay at the il san pietro and the carruso
..and very good value for money

possible negatives + my view:
you have to climb 300+ steps from the sun deck - it has beautiful views but is a physically demanding climb
no gym or pool - ok so swim in the sea for a change - specific roped off area
10/15 minute walk into sorrento - personally i enjoyed the walk and being slightly outside of the main tourist area
wifi is not free - but it is not expensive and works well
if you like big corporate style or "traditional" and old italien hotels - this is not for you

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOUISCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is a small botique hotel built into the side of a cliff in Sorrento. All rooms overlook the Meditteranean and are each uniquely decorated. Apparently the owner husband and wife are an architect and a designer....it is apparent because this place is beautiful. I can't say enough about the amazing views. The lobby and outdoor patio are beautiful.

In the morning they have a huge spread ready for breakfast, but you can also request anything you want made to order. Some of the restaurants in Sorrento offer transportation to/from for dinner which is convenient because the hotel is a bit of a hike up hill from downtown Sorrento.

We cannot wait to go back to La Minervetta!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oehler_melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

From the setting to the service it could not have been better. A short walk into town with a fantastic view along the way. Rooms were very comfotable and the staff was great. Breakfast on the terrace was breathtaking and the food was unreal... Try the pancakes!!Only 12 rooms so book early...it's worth it!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duddie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. This hotel is owned by an interior designer and it shows, the hotel is beautifully decorated and has so much character with a personal touch, you feel as if you are in a friends home who has impeccable taste. The rooms are all individually decorated and offer stunning views of the grand marina. We stayed in a corner room and had massive windows that looked out to the ocean, Mount Versuvius and Naples in the distance. The room was comfortable and of a reasonable size, it would have been nice to have a TV that was slightly bigger though.

La Minervetta is ideally located and is only a short walk to the town centre. The hotel also had their own private stairs down to the Marina where you could choose to sit on a deckchair on the beach or eat at one of the restaurants offering some of the most delicious and fresh seafood. The hotel also has a beautiful pool area.

The breakfast was the absolute best, I looked forward to the freshly baked cakes and pastries every morning, not the mention the array of fresh fruits, juices and pretty much anything else you could think of made fresh in the beautifully decorated kitchen by the 2 lovely italian ladies. On that note, all staff were wonderful and friendly, even the owner, who lives on the premises was around and happy to chat.

One day we were there is rained, of coarse it was disappointing from a sight seeing perspective, but we were so thankful we were staying in a place that was so comfortable, with such a lovely atmosphere. We spent a few hours on the comfy lounges in the common area reading.

I could probably say even more great stuff about staying here but I will leave it here as Im sure you would get my point by now, if you are travelling to Sorrento or the Amalfi Coast, stay here you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannetAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Am convinced this is the funkiest hotel on the Amalfi coast. Beautifully decorated and very large lounge area. The rooms are each decorated differently and all have a fabulous view making you feel you are floating above the cliff. The hotel has a very trendy kitchen in which a 5 star breakfast is layed out. In the evening, they were kind enough to alllow us to use the kitchen to prepare food for our toddler. It is expensive, but well worth it. We stayed here off season and enjoyed it at half the price. Great base to explore the rest of Amalfi and Sorrento is a charming town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmerjanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at La Minervetta. The location is excellent, the rooms are terrific with stunning views. Breakfast adequate. Seemed on the expensive side for what is just a chic B&B with not many facilities on site.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Property: Maison La Minervetta
Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing