We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful discovery overlooking the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful discovery overlooking the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

A hotel -- more a house with many rooms -- that lives up to its reviews: a place of delight, to be explored over several days, filled with interesting objects, colours and impeccable design. The top floor contains a kitchen, where breakfast is served, and doors open out onto a spectacular view of the Bay of Naples, looking out to Vesuvius. In summer, a path leads down to a small harbour and an enclosed area of restaurants and other hotels. Rooms share the same view, and are spacious, airy and equally impeccable in design. The Maison is a short walk from the Corso Italia, a main street running through Sorrento, and on the edge of the historic centre, which puts the hotel an easy distance from a number of good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    40
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
91
699
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerwood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four days. Breakfast was superb, lots of breads, cakes, fruits, fresh squeezed orange juice, cheeses, hams. Plus they would cook to order eggs or pancakes. The hotel itself is decorated with art and ceramic pieces everywhere. Our room was very large and nicely done. The walk to town was fine, slight downhill into down, slight uphill back. The staff was wonderful! They were all helpful, recommending places to eat and see in town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As usual, we chose this hotel based on the ranking on Tripadvisor. My friend (who was travelling with his wife) suggested this hotel and I'm glad he did.

This is a quirky and "different" hotel that's not even easy to find the first time. Our sat-nav and us had a big argument about whether our destination really was on our right when all we could see was a huge mountain drop.

Eventually we found a car park and a little lift hidden next to it. This takes you down into reception. Strange, but quirky and different!

The rooms are ok. The TV was tiny and only had BBC World, which made it a bit boring in the room if/when the weather's not great.

The best part of the room, and the hotel in general, was the view. They are quite simply stunning! Incredible.

The rest of the hotel is clean, comfortable and has a mix of old-fashioned taste and modern technology.

The breakfast was good and the reception staff were always friendly and helpful when we needed them.

I suppose the only complaint I would have (apart from the small TV) is that the wifi in your room disconnected EVERY time you leave it for more than a few minutes unused. You have to physically type in the whole login and password again every time. A bit annoying.

Overall, a lovely little place with friendly staff and amazing views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoscowJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have just come back from staying at Maison La Minervetta. I was umming and ahhing about whether to give the hotel a 4 or 5 star rating but decided on a 5 star as the service, rooms and hotel itself are excellent.

The hotel is situated around 10-15 minute walk from the main square Piazza Tasso but the walk has a wonderful view.

The hotel has 12 rooms and although I only saw 2 of them, they are beautifully decorated with AMAZING views of the coastline and Sorrento Harbour. The rooms are really well equipped and my only complaint was that the TV was small and I think the hotel could have provided a DVD player so that guests could relax with a DVD. There are no English speaking channels on the television which when the weather is poor could have been nice to have. An iPod docking station for Music would also have been a good idea.

The main lounge and terrace area of the hotel is beautiful and I can imagine that staying in the hotel in Summer would mean lots of relaxing on the terrace which would be a hot spot! The hotel does have a very small outdoor pool. If you like a hotel with lots of pool area then this isnt the hotel for you in my opinion.

Breakfast at the hotel is a wonderful experience. Lots of amazing, fresh foods and an amazing range of teas, cakes and pastries.

I must also say that the service from the hotel (both before we got there and whilst we were there) was wonderful. The team were always happy and available to help and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

So, all in all, i give this a 5 Star. It is a small boutique hotel and if your idea of a holiday is staying in a hotel with lots of facilities, large pool etc then maybe La Minervetta is not for you.

If however you want a hotel which is immaculate, funky, full of character, has amazing views, amazing service all within a 10 minute walk of the main centre then i would totally recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 9 is not one of the most expensive rooms but is a good size and has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jijwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great location for us, lovely views and breakfast was just right.

The staff were very helpful in suggesting where we should eat and the walk into and back from the centre of Sorrento was not a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view and very large windows. You will enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oamthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous! It's beautifully decorated with ornate Mediterranean treasures.
It's located on the side of a cliff which offers panoramic views of the sea with Mount Vesuvius!
The staff is very accommodating and helpful with local attractions and restaurants. Breakfast each morning is a treat, Francesca is there to make you cafe, omelets, pancakes....anything you want!

Room Tip: All rooms are uniquely decorated and offer stunning views. We stayed in room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

What more can be said about Maison La Minervetta that has not already been said in the previous reviews. Great views - fantastic rooms and a warm welcome by all staff. Fantastic and we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Property: Maison La Minervetta
Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing