We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I have stayed in many wonderful hotels and this one rates up there. We had fantastic service and the ambiance is unbelieveable. Every where you look there are interesting books, statues, vases etc. The room was wonderful and the view fantastic. There are spots to lounge around in many places around the hotel. The breakfast was such a nice break when traveling when every other hotel only has cold cuts. We had a lovely time and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank furni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    41
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
95
734
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We spent three nights at La Minervetta and had an exceptional stay. We chose La Minervetta based on other travelers' reviews, and they were all correct - this hotel is a gem.

Where to start? Probably the views, which are incomparable - the hotel sits unobstructed on a cliff side perch just above the town of Sorrento. Every room has a beautiful view of the ocean, town and mountains. The hotel is quiet and tranquil. It is located just outside the main downtown, about a 10 minute walk up the main road - not challenging at all if you have no difficulties walking, and very enjoyable (weather permitting).

One important point about La Minervetta - there is one road out of town (the same road that leads to the Amalfi Coast drive) and La Minervetta and many other hotels are on the road. However, La Minervetta sits below the road - its parking is on its roof - while other hotels sit above the road. We could not hear this busy road from inside our room, anywhere else in the hotel, or even outside on the view terrace. I imagine that other hotels with the same view come with plenty of road noise.

Other than location, La Minervetta has outstanding service. The staff spoke near perfect English and was more than happy to speak with us at length about where to eat, what to do, and how to do it. It seems like our room was cleaned every time we left it - sometimes we would go out for just an hour and return to a fresh bed and towels, even after napping and showering in the middle of the day.

Finally, the morning breakfast is sublime - omelets or pancakes cooked fresh to your request, a lavish spread of pastries, fresh fruit and cheeses, and an outdoor table with amazing views are a great way to start your day in Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast.

When we left La Minervetta we were already talking about when we would be back.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sjkatlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

La Minervetta is simply the most spectacular hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in and the lovely and friendly staff complemented the surroundings perfectly. I had high expectations coming into my trip and those expectations were blown right out of the water.

The Hotel: Well you've seen the pictures so I'm not sure my descriptions will add much but it is even more beautiful and unique than the pictures suggest. We stayed in the Junior Suite (Room 12) and aside from being enormous and exquisitely decorated in blues and colors that reflect the surroundings, it was also amongst the most comfortable settings we've ever stayed in. The room had a separate seating area with great books and a small terrace overlooking the bay that is perfect for sipping a wine or anything else you would want to order from the bar. The bathroom was as big as some of the rooms we stayed in and the shower features a large "Rain Shower head" as well as four wall mounted shower heads and a handheld shower head. There was more water coming in more directions than I knew what to do with. From the moment we walked into our room to the moment we left we felt as though we were in the lap of boutique luxury. The hotel is also perfectly located just up the street from downtown and is an EASY 5-10 minute walk.

The Staff: Floriana and her colleagues were beyond accommodating and helpful. They went out of there way to assist us in every way possible. Restaurant recommendations? No problem. Tour suggestions? They had a dozen. Train schedules? They knew them by heart. Drink requests? At the ready whenever and wherever we needed it. Floriana also spoke near-perfect English (certainly the best we encountered on our trip) and was always smiling and asking if we needed anything. The breakfast was terrific and beyond the almost endless display of delicious rolls, pastries, breads, fruits, teas, and coffees, the staff was willing to make anything. I had a caprese omelette most days while my wife switched from pancakes to scrambled eggs to omelettes. It was easily the best breakfast we had. As for checking out, we wanted to leave later in the day so Floriana arranged a very reasonable car service and allowed us to check out an hour late and keep our luggage up in the lobby.

Lastly, we had 14 fantastic days in the greater Naples- Amalfi area but our 4 nights at La Minervetta were by far the most memorable. The hotel, staff and city of Sorrento were perfect. We've recommended the hotel to everyone we know and when we go back to Sorrento we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I was surprised by the last review when I got on to write this. We couldn't have had more different experiences.

Our trip was rearranged after we learned there were no corner rooms available. It was worth it. We stayed for a week at the end of September and the hotel was beautiful. The staff were GREAT, helpful, spoke good english, wore casual color coordinated outifts (looked like the same each day), and took time to show us the other rooms when they were vacant so we could see the design of them all.
The bathroom was beautiful and stylish and had perfect water pressure.
Breakfast had the same PLENTIFUL variety each day, AND they made pancakes, eggs, or omelettes with multiple ingredients on request every day.
It is a walk to town and I didn't see any hotels in that area with shuttles. We found it was easier and quieter to walk down the (300!) stairs of the hotel- it's the only one in that area with stairs down to the water.
The pool is small and cold but we never needed or wanted to use it.
I could not recommend it more highly!!!!

  • Liked — The style.
  • Disliked — Walk to town
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Me and my wife spent 4 nights at the minervetta to celebrate our honeymoon.We stayed in the junior suite. You cannot fault the spectacular view of sorrento, but as for the rest it is just not four star as advertised.
My reasons for this are.
The staff speak very little English,thay also dress casually, i think the reception staff wore the same clothes of jeans and t shirts for four days. you are given no information of the area, there is no shuttle to take you into sorrento area, nice walk , but there and back many times is a strane, taxis are 14 euros for a 2 minute journey.Breakfast is ok, but the same every day lots and lots of cakes, biscuits, stale bread etc.
The room was of resonable size, smaller than i expected though, the shower is quite weak, not great when you expect a power shower for 400 euros a night. No late check out , or area to change , if you have a late flight.
I would say for the views it is four star, but everything else is 2 star service.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank quelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

My husband and i spent the second leg of our honeymoon at la minervetta, our expectations were high after reading such fantastic reviews and we could not wait to arrive. To say the least the hotel is absolutly breathtaking! the views are magnificent and the staff most courteous, always helpful and happy to accomodate. The hotel has a very relaxed atmoshphere, it really does feel like home from home, we stayed in the junior suite which had the most breathtaking views. we intend on returning to this wonderfull hotel sometime soon only next time for a longer stay. we thoroughly reccomend that you stay at La minervetta!.

  • Liked — our room
  • Disliked — the lizards by the pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltonKeynesNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Stayed at La Minervetta last Sept for a week of our honeymoon in Italy - from the moment we arrived we knew we had found somewhere very special and vowed to return. Had a very relaxing week, loved every minute of our stay from waking up to the stunning views each morning, enjoying breakfast on the terrace, lounging around the pool all day and chilling out in the evenings. Can't fault anything about the place - welcoming and friendly staff, inspirational interiors, stunning views, perfect laid-back mood to enjoy your break on the coast. All time favourite place we've ever stayed and hope to stay there again very soon!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave...
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DynamoKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Property: Maison La Minervetta
Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing