We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Minervetta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison La Minervetta
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2009

My husband and I spent a night at La Minervetta during our recent trip to the Amalfi Coast. The minute we walked in, we knew that we hit the jackpot. Everything about La Minervetta was perfect- the location, the decor, the view, the room, the service, the breakfast- everything!
Chiara checked us in and helped us with everything from making reservations for dinner to making reservations for hotels for the remainder of our trip. Warm, informed and invaluable service. Francesca's breakfast was a real treat- not only the food itself, but the energy and love with which she prepared and served it.
La Minervetta was a hard act to follow. Nowhere else in Italy did we have that attention, or see that heart.
We wholeheartedly recommend La Minervetta to anyone who plans to be anywhere near Naples!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LorLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

We used Sorrento as a homebase for our trips to Pompeii and Naples (a trip made solely to get pizza at Da Michele) after already having visited Capri, Ravello, Amalfi and Positano. Let me tell you, Sorrento itself isn't that amazing compared to the rest of the coast, but this hotel made our stay here stand out and, as a result, it's one of the more memorable legs of our trip.

The decor is so fresh and fun you can't help but be happy when you are there. It is like a breath of fresh air relative to the traditional furnishings and decor you get at a hotel in Italy. We loved our room (6/ Deluxe Double Room Sea View) with the giant picture window, all bath products were excellent and replenished liberally, and the books and knick knacks around the hotel were delightful.

The best part of La Minervetta was breakfast. It was delicious and the best we had while we were in Italy (better than the breakfasts we had at 5 star and much pricier hotels in Capri and Rome). We looked forward to the made to order omelettes every day. I would suggest that you not order the pancakes though (just not as tasty).

The recommendations the hotel made for dinner were excellent (try Da Filippo for a non-touristy dinner and order whatever is fresh from the day, we had the best linguine with cuttlefish we had ever had there), as was their help with directions, itineraries.

The only criticism I have of this hotel is that on our last morning, we noticed that the breakfast tray with croissants was being swarmed by ants marching to and fro from the outdoor patio. Similarly, the dried apricots were swarmed by gnats. We did not notice this on any other day, but it was, quite literally, disgusting. (When I say "swarmed" I mean not one or two offenders, but more like 20-30 little buggers). When we told the woman preparing breakfast about the bugs, she promptly took care of them but I did notice that instead of throwing all the croissants and other baked goodies out, she shook off all the ants and put them in a bowl. Thankfully, she didn't place the bowl back out for consumption that day, but I wonder if the guests the next day were the unfortunate recipients of those pastries (what other explanation could there be for not disposing of the pastries?!).

Notwithstanding the breakfast incident, we loved this hotel and would still go back. I chalk up the ants/gnats problem as a mulligan because everything else about this hotel was utterly superlative.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The first days we had a pleasant stay.But the 3. day ants started to appear in the bathroom.We told the staff immediately but the next morning we had more ants,obviously they did not used insect killer.
We told them again that please do something about it because we have ants in our stuff.And in the same night a whole ant invasion came around our bed.We called the receptionist,he called the oner who said probably we brought food into the room thats why we have ants!
This was not the reaction what we expected.And of course we had no food.We used the insect killer what the recepcionist finaly brought up and waited one hour with the wild open balcony door to get the smell out of the room.It was in november at 1 oclock in the night.
They had no other room available,only another hotel with 5 star but we would have to pay for it.
They also charged full prise for this night.We left the next morning.
We was very disappointed because many other things were great in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Couldn't fault La Minervetta. Super location with amazing views (all have views, ours had floor to ceiling windows some look like they have balconies), imaginatively designed and furnished. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Good breakfasts, good value. Relaxing place to stay. Not a big hotel, just 12 rooms. Highly recommended. Only possible downside may be that it's a 10 minute walk from central Sorrento. We actually quite enjoyed that aspect. There are super private steps down to the marina area where the best fish restaurants are. Very "james bond"

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthLondonNoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

After staying at the La Minervetta, I don't know how other hotels can stack up. I have stayed in high-end hotels in the past (including the Four Seasons and the Cove at Atlantis) and La Mineretta has ruined me forever! The views are stunning, the rooms are great and the staff was fantastic. While the hotel is not "full service" - no restaurant or spa - but that is not why my wife and I went there. If you want to relax and enjoy views the Sorrento area is famous for - this is your place.

The hotel is just a short walk (10-15 minutes) from the heart of Sorrento with great dinning and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenverLifeisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Breakfast, the view, the hotel staff, location, the rooms...all was fabulous. Would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expatmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The glowing reviews of this excellent hotel already posted by others understate how charming and perfect Maison La Minervetta is. Beginning with a beautifully decorated and comfortable room with a view to die for, and continuing with the excellent breakfasts offered in a scenic setting overlooking the Bay of Naples, through the highly competent, efficient, and friendly staff, this hotel achieves perfection like none other.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webvrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.4 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison La Minervetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison La Minervetta

Address: Via Capo, 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £198 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison La Minervetta 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Maison La Minervetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Hotel Sorrento
La Minervetta Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing