We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #54 of 124 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Clean, comfortable and great location. We had finished a tour and spent a few days decompressing. This place was perfect for this. Staff was welcoming and very helpful. We had no issues connecting to the WiFi. Garden for eating breakfast was quiet and expect a European breakfast. Their restaurant located a few blocks away was absolutely wonderful. Would highly recommend Casa Dominova for those wanting a special place that is in town but feels like you are secluded from the "normal tourist hubbub".

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    73
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
73
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Casa Dominova is situated in a superb location in the old town at 58 via P.R. Giuliani. The cost, in September 2012, was €95 a night including breakfast. You might think this expensive for a small, very basic hotel - but this is Sorrento! Outside the hotel is a row of excellent bars, cafes and restaurants. We found them all to be excellent in their own way. Our favourite was Ristoranti Sorrento at no. 64-66 (see separate review).

Because we arrived in the early evening, we had to pick up our keys (a hefty bunch) from Ristoranti Da Gigino - only a short distance away at no.15 via Degli Archi. The hotel rooms are rather garishly decorated (ours Room 5 was bright maroon and puce). The furniture is pretty sparse and of cheap quality. Nevertheless, the beds are comfortable. The en-suite facilities were crammed into quite a small area, and consisted only of: WC, washbasin and shower. The shower was excellent however. The air conditioning worked well, keeping the room cool. It had a very quiet “night” mode. There is a pleasant shady garden in which breakfast is served. The breakfast is simple: orange juice, bread, pastries (including croissants), jam/marmalade, fresh fruit, tea and coffee. The garden is also a very pleasant place to sit and read in the day, and/or to sit and drink your Vecchia Romagna nightcap before bed! It is very quiet, with no extraneous traffic or other noises to disturb your sleep.

WiFi is available, but the signal is poor - our room was no more then 8 metres from the router, but I could not connect. Down the other end of the corridor, about 12m from the router, I could reliably connect. With a good connection, I could get 300kBps (2.4 mbps) or more download speed. There is also an Internet-connected desktop computer available for Guests to use for free - ask Gino or Marianna. The proprietors Gino and Marianna are very friendly and helpful. They also run the popular Gigino Restaurant. On departure day, we were not scheduled to be picked up by Seahorse Car Services until 13:00, when our room needed to be vacated by 10:30. Gino & Marianna were very happy to look after our suitcases while we had a last stroll around the old town before picking them up just before our Seahorse bus arrived. On the whole, a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We spent 7 nights at Casa Dominova and we were very satisfied! One of the best points of this house is its location. Very close (10 m) from public garden from where you have a spectacular view to Sorrento and its beach, here you can find also the lift to the beach if you don't want to climb up or down to beach or to the port. The rooms are spacios, clean and modern. During summer time take with or buy a mosquito alert :) it is priceless! Breakfast is "normal" italian, cappuccino, pastries, fruits. Garden is intimate, staff attentive and very helpful and friendly. Everything is close, the train and bus station 10 min. walking. We also higly recommend their restaurant DaGigino. During our stay we didn't find a better place to eat and enjoy our time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a very nice B&B located in a desirable central location. Marianna contacted us just prior to our arrival by train in Sorrento to give us arrival instructions. We met up with them at the family owned restaurant and they brought us to the B&B. It was a good thing because it blends in with the surrounding buildings and is marked by a small sign on the wall, easy to miss. The location is excellent, steps from the elevator that takes you to the beach. Just out the door and a 1 minute walk is a church which must have performed at least six weddings in the four days we were there. The views of the sea and Mt. Vesuvius from that location were spectacular. The B&B is located on a pedestrian street, surrounded by shops, restaurants, ATM's, and constant activity outside. The staff was pleasant and friendly, rooms were clean, inviting and spacious by european standards. The breakfast in the garden was adequate, including fresh fruits from the region. We stayed in Room #5, nice view of the garden area looking towards the sea ( could not see the water). The only issue I had was that a kitchen for a local restaurant is located underneath on the first floor. I attempted to have the window open at night but the noise coming from the restaurant kitchen with a radio blasting music forced me to have the window closed most evenings. With that as the only drawback, I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B, it is in a great location, perfect for sightseeing the streets of Sorrento. We walked from the train station and it's very close around 10 minutes. The breakfasts were great, serving yoghurts, croissants, rolls and fruit. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a meal at their restaurant which is very close by. Excellent food, service and ambience. Would love to return and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Wonderful central location.Close to sea,restaurants,cafes etc
Our room was brilliant.Very clean with comfortable beds.Free use of computer.
Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant..
The owner also has an excellent restaurant closeby(Da Gigino) where
we ate most of the time.
Staying at the Casa Dominova made our holiday special.
Will be back one day.

Room Tip: Our room looked over a lemon grove .Very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leszek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Centrally as well as near the Villa Comunale and the waterfront (across from the Hotel Tramontano), Casa Dominova is a nice place to stay. Rooms are clean, breakfasts typically continental. Gino the owner was helpful. Shower was a bit small even for average sized people.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amosorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magi House Relais
Magi House Relais
#5 of 124 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison San Paolo
Maison San Paolo
#39 of 124 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divinahouse
Divinahouse
#55 of 124 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa a Mare
Casa a Mare
#16 of 124 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani 58, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Casa Dominova is situated near "Sedil Dominova", in one of the most beautiful streets of historical center of Sorrento, a few steps from the sea, from the central Piazza Tasso and Piazza Lauro.All rooms are brand new, finely furnished, bright, colorful, with a great view and with all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dominova Hotel Sorrento
Casa Dominova b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing