We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Hotel Girasole, Sorrento”
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just got back from a week in Sorrento where we stayed at Hotel Girasole.
This is a lovely hotel and much nicer than the understated facia that faces the busy Corsa Italia road that runs through Sorrento.
It is a family run affair and have great knowledge of the area to help out with any queries you may have. We stayed in room 48. It is on the top level with an amazing view over the bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background. You can also see the beautiful hotel gardens with fruit laden trees and pool below.
We paid a little extra for this room but glad we did, and it also included free fridge and safe which in other rooms you pay 10€ each per week. I think the two sea view rooms on floor 4 were the only rooms that get the sun on the balcony in the afternoon and evening. I would definitely not have a room over looking the busy road.
The rooms were spotless and towels changed everyday and bed linen changed twice in the week and I think all rooms have air con.
Take a travel kettle and cups etc as there is no tea making facilities in room.
Breakfast was continental, with fresh fruits , and homemade cakes and pastries etc and was very good and spotlessly clean and fresh. Light snacks available poolside through day and is all delicously homemade.
Free parking available for your hire car which we found to be great as it saves waiting for public transport which although cheap seemed crowded. Taxi s are extremely expensive 15€ for a little over a mile after 10 pm!
The roads around Sorrento are naturally slow due to being narrow and tight corners but motorways and other roads are good but the locals especially moped riders are NUTS. Petrol is same price as UK.
Hotel is about mile walk down to Piazza Tasso which is lovely and the pedestrian lanes offer nice shopping and good restaurants. Walk along the back streets not down the narrow Corsa Italia.
We did a lot of days out...Vesuvius Crater walk 10€ each a little expensive and closes at 5pm.
Pompeii was good and very reasonable 11€ entry, wear good shoes.
Capri and AnnaCapri is a bit of a rip off. On a Saturday we paid 35€ return each for the 30 min boat ride. It is very similar to everywhere else but on an island, but the restaurants/ bars are very expensive, be selective where you drink or eat.
The Almalfi drive was great and glad we had our own car. Tour buses are available and are reasonable but crowded and private drivers in mini vans etc seem popular. The scenery is amazing and the villages you come across are lovely with Ravello being our favourite.

Sorrento is not wheelchair or pushchair friendly.
Negatives about the hotel:
don't expect to sleep in. The tiled floors and electric blackout shutters make it noisy in morning when people getting up. Take ear plugs.
Although sun chairs around pool are free if you want a sun bed so you can tan your back it will cost you 3€ each per day which I have never come across before and I think is terrible.
Would have been nice to have a cooked breakfast maybe on alternate days or at weekends.

We enjoyed our stay. Sorrento is very expensive and locals very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear friends,

thank you very much for your nice revue. We feel very sorry if you have had some inconveniences during your holiday. Waiting to see you all again we send you our kind regards. Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just got back from this hotel and loved it. We had a room with a balcony on the first floor, which overlooked the beautiful garden and had mountains in the background. It is true that there is a busy road outside but we didn't hear it from this room. The continental breakfast had a wide choice of rolls, cakes, cereals, fruit, drinks etc. Excellent!
We are not swimmers so just used the swimming pool to sit around, after our day trips and before dinner, and we used the snack bar there for drinks.
Its a clean hotel and the staff are all very pleasant.
All in all, a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: I would not have a room overlooking the road because of noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear friends,

thank you very much for your nice revue It has been a great pleasure for us to have you in our hotel and we hope to see you again. Kind regards. Rita and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from Sorrento and I just want to say a big thank you to everyone at this hotel who made our holiday enjoyable. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a base to see the area and islands in the bay. Like all hotels there are rooms in the front and back of the hotel and when we arrived we were not happy with our room and this was quickly changed within a hour to a more suitable room and all our luggage had been moved for us while we were out. Also it has a lovely pool in a sunny spot for any sun worshippers. The room linen was changed every other day and towels as and when you required clean ones the ladies who did this were very professional. The breakfast on offer is exactly as it says on the website a nice continental breakfast. There is a walk into the centre but there are at least 3 different routes that can be taken to get there instead of the main busy road. It is a busy road but there is also a bus that goes into the town and of course the noise previously mentioned is the locals coming back and forward to work in the mornings and evenings on motorbikes. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Friends,

we read your revue and we like to thank you very much for your beatiful words and hoping to see you another time we send you our kind regards. Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A delightful, friendly, family hotel for a relaxing break in Sorrento.
Many rooms have beautiful views over the Bay of Naples, there is a wonderful pool, a comfortable lounge/bar and an amazing garden in which to breakfast. This garden is packed with flowers and fruit trees, including those bearing more than one fruit as a result of subtle grafting in so, with lemon and orange trees, there are orange-grapefruit trees and orange-lemon-kumquat trees, some with fruit growing to a gigantic size.
Best of all are the hosts, a family for whom nothing is too much trouble in ensuring guests have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony, but not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Friends,

it has been a great pleasure for us to read your revue. We were very happy to meet you and have you as our guests. Thanks again for your beatiful words. Hoping to see you again we send you our kind regards. Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

When the driver took us from the airport to the hotel (kindly organised by the hotel at an honest market rate), we asked how the hotel was. His reply was "Normal". That summarizes it nicely.
We paid 130 euro per night for a room with a nice view (though the hotel is not adjacent to the sea), this is an okay rate for this kind of property in Sorrento (not really the cheapest city in Italy). However, the hotel was much further from Sorrento than we thought when booking the hotel. It's about 20 minutes walking to the Piazzo Tasso (which is the starting point of Sorrento town). So, you're a bit out of the way (not dramatic, but good to know). It turned out that the St Agnelo train station was closer to the hotel (10 min) than the Sorrento train station (20 min). Rooms were clean, the hotel and surroundings were nice (including a swimming pool just two minutes walking from the main building).
The main reason to give 'average' and not 'very good' was the hospitality. The two ladies behind the reception were very friendly and helpful (same for the night receptionists), but the staff in the breakfast room didn't really care about our presence (let's say we didn't feel too welcome). One morning when we arrived we wanted to take a table of six (as we were a party of six) but were not allowed to take that table as it was 'reserved'. So we split and took two smaller tables (indeed, they did not suggest to put two other tables together) and stayed until the end of breakfast (10 o'clock sharp without a notification things were going to be removed - too bad if you liked a last cup of coffee). Noone else had used the table (we suspect it was the table where staff was going to have their mid-morning break...). As a consequence we never really considered to have dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was just okay (we had booked for four nights, if we had stayed longer we might have gotten bored with the breakfast selection).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopheDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sorrento, and thank you for the nice words that you say about me, Monica and the night porter.
I apoligize for the inconveniences that you have had in the breakfast room because normally the boys are very kind and helpfull with all the guests.
Hoping that you have had a nice journey home I send to you and all you family my best regards.
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Hotel Girasole is clean, the reception staff are friendly and it has a lovely garden.
The road on which the hotel is situated is busy twenty four hours a day. The traffic passes about six feet from the front of the hotel. We paid a supplement to have a room overlooking the garden, it was noisy. We could hear traffic and the nearby railway line.
Sounds from the other bedrooms and public areas were intrusive. The swimming pool is a few yards away down a pretty lane used by vehicles to access local properties.
The walk into Sorrento or Sant'Agnello is on a narrow and at times nonexistant pavement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crinabottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear friends,

thank you for choosing our hotel for you holiday and thank you for your revue on Trip advisor. We feel very sorry that you have had problems with noise. Kind regards. Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The family that run this hotel are lovely people and make you feel very welcome and are very accomodating. Beware of the time of year you travel as we have just returned and the pool wasn't in use (although in fairness it says that on the website) which means the pool bar and a couple of other facilities weren't available. Main criticisms? Only continental breakfast available. Road outside VERY busy so room location important as VERY noisy. We booked twin room and it says cot space. In reality, 2 beds and that was all the space taken up. No chance of fitting 2 people in bathroom at same time, it had the floorspace of 3 shower cubicles, had to step into bedroom to dry off after shower as not enough room anywhere else to do that! Choose room carefully! Sorrento 15 min walk away - lovely place.

Room Tip: Back of hotel to avoid noise from road. We booked twin - thought it would have been fine for 2 of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 43JennyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#72 of 100 in Sorrento
727 reviews
1.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £94 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing