We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This was a really nice family run hotel. We had a room on the front of the hotel but the road noise didn't disturb us. The room was quite a good size but lacked any kind of shelving in the bathroom so it was a bit of a balancing act when washing/shaving. Tea and coffee making facilities would of been nice even if there was an extra charge. Breakfast was really good with fresh cakes made by one of the owners also they put trays out so you could put all your breakfast on and take it outside to sit in the lovely gardens. At the pool they had really nice home cooked meals during the day but not in the evening which was a real shame as if you had been out for the day it meant going back out again for the evening meal and it would of been nice just to relax in the gardens with your meal. I would say the walk is at least 20 minutes into Sorrento as previously stated you can use the back roads which is a nicer walk but to us this was a big down side to us and would stop us going here again. Nice touch they have a large shower room downstairs with clean towels for you to use before your flight home. Overall a lovely quaint hotel with very friendly owners and if you don't mind the walk would recommend this hotel. Sitting in the bar at night was like sitting in their front room with the family playing cards and always willing to join in with the conversation.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back for the views
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear friends,
everyone at the Girasole would like to thank you for your kindness. Making people feeling like in a big family is our purpose. Hoping to see you again we send you our kind regards
Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Girasole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

It is difficult to fault the hotel. It was clean and attractive inside. The rooms were not over large, but were well serviced. We were in the front of the Hotel, but the traffic noise caused us no problems. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The garden was really nice with Lemon and Orange trees surrounded by flowers. The pool was very pleasant. On the downside the walk into town was nearly 1/2 an hour with the first few minutes dodging traffic where the pavement was missing. The bus times are not reliable.

Room Tip: Pay extra and have a high rear room as the view over the bay to Vesuvious is spectacular. In St Agn...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnno186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear friends,
it's a great pleasure to read your lines and know that you have had a good time at the Girasole. All of us send you our kind regards and would be really happy to welcome you again in the future!
Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A lovely family run hotel set in beautiful gardens with a short 20 minute walk to Sorrento. My husband and I stayed here for 11 nights and it was a good base to explore Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri and Naples. The family that run the hotel are really friendly and so very helpful, I couldn't fault them at all. We booked last minute with Thomson but they said they only had a twin room on the ground floor, I had read previous reviews of this hotel and wanted a double room with balcony overlooking the garden and out to Mt. Vesuvius. After speaking to Monica on email, when we arrived she had sorted us a lovely room with balcony overlooking the garden and Mt. Vesuvius - it was a great view.

The continental breakfast has a good selection - with fresh lemon and orange juice made from the fruits picked in the garden. The pool is a 2 minute walk (if that) from the hotel out the back through the beautiful garden. The only thing is they only have deck chairs so you have to pay extra for the sun loungers (if you want an all over tan) which is slightly annoying as you would have thought this would be included in the price of the hotel.

The hotel itself is on the outskirts of Sorrento in San't Agnello on the Corsa Italia. San't Agnello has its own restaurants and bars and it's about 20 minutes walk to Sorrento along the Corsa Italia. This is a really busy road with skinny footpaths, sometimes no footpaths at all - it's an interesting walk as it's so crazy but I wouldn't recommend families walking it with young children. There is a slightly quieter route if you go out the hotel and take the first right down a tiny road (mind the cars do manage to squeeze down here!) and then go left at the bottom and follow it along. It's slighty longer but quieter and you get to see a different view en route to Sorrento.

We had a great time at hotel Girasole as we just wanted a base to explore to local area and didn't want to spend too much on a flashy hotel. It's slightly dated but I kinda liked it's retro homely feel. I did have a little niggle though...the walls are paper thin so you could hear everything, and I mean everything! I didn't mind the road noise at all, it was more the noise from inside the hotel. All in all though, if you are looking for a more traditional family run 3 star hotel to explore Sorrento and the surrounding area then Hotel Girasole is good for location, pretty gardens and is run by a friendly family who are really helpful .

Room Tip: We had room number 44, it's on the first floor, overlooking the gardens and has a spectacular vi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopyLoo1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Friends,
we would like to thank you very much for your kidness. We all work in order to satisfy our guests and make them feeling like at home. Hoping to see you again we send you our kind regards
Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Have just returned from a week stay at the hotel girasole, and are extremely glad we chose this one! This hotel is perfect for couples as the lemon and orange trees and flowers along with the beautiful views provide a romantic setting. The hotel was better than we were expecting and we felt surprised it was only a three star (although this is probably due to the busy main road at the front). The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was clean and full of little Italian quirks. The hotel is situated about 15 minutes from the main town and has lots of small streets around it that are perfect for exploring and finding shortcuts to get to the beach and beautiful coastline. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and variety.

Small criticisms we have lay with the confusion about whether the hotel had a functioning restaurant or not as one night we did not want to walk into town but it was not clear if we could have had food in the hotel or not. Perhaps in high season when there are more guests they serve food?

The pavement just off the hotel is very narrow so I would not recommend this setting to families with small children or anyone with walking impairments.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauz01_2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear friends,

thank you very much for your "FANTASTICO". It has been a great pleasure to have you in our hotel and we hope to see you again. Kind regards. Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just got back from a week in Sorrento where we stayed at Hotel Girasole.
This is a lovely hotel and much nicer than the understated facia that faces the busy Corsa Italia road that runs through Sorrento.
It is a family run affair and have great knowledge of the area to help out with any queries you may have. We stayed in room 48. It is on the top level with an amazing view over the bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background. You can also see the beautiful hotel gardens with fruit laden trees and pool below.
We paid a little extra for this room but glad we did, and it also included free fridge and safe which in other rooms you pay 10€ each per week. I think the two sea view rooms on floor 4 were the only rooms that get the sun on the balcony in the afternoon and evening. I would definitely not have a room over looking the busy road.
The rooms were spotless and towels changed everyday and bed linen changed twice in the week and I think all rooms have air con.
Take a travel kettle and cups etc as there is no tea making facilities in room.
Breakfast was continental, with fresh fruits , and homemade cakes and pastries etc and was very good and spotlessly clean and fresh. Light snacks available poolside through day and is all delicously homemade.
Free parking available for your hire car which we found to be great as it saves waiting for public transport which although cheap seemed crowded. Taxi s are extremely expensive 15€ for a little over a mile after 10 pm!
The roads around Sorrento are naturally slow due to being narrow and tight corners but motorways and other roads are good but the locals especially moped riders are NUTS. Petrol is same price as UK.
Hotel is about mile walk down to Piazza Tasso which is lovely and the pedestrian lanes offer nice shopping and good restaurants. Walk along the back streets not down the narrow Corsa Italia.
We did a lot of days out...Vesuvius Crater walk 10€ each a little expensive and closes at 5pm.
Pompeii was good and very reasonable 11€ entry, wear good shoes.
Capri and AnnaCapri is a bit of a rip off. On a Saturday we paid 35€ return each for the 30 min boat ride. It is very similar to everywhere else but on an island, but the restaurants/ bars are very expensive, be selective where you drink or eat.
The Almalfi drive was great and glad we had our own car. Tour buses are available and are reasonable but crowded and private drivers in mini vans etc seem popular. The scenery is amazing and the villages you come across are lovely with Ravello being our favourite.

Sorrento is not wheelchair or pushchair friendly.
Negatives about the hotel:
don't expect to sleep in. The tiled floors and electric blackout shutters make it noisy in morning when people getting up. Take ear plugs.
Although sun chairs around pool are free if you want a sun bed so you can tan your back it will cost you 3€ each per day which I have never come across before and I think is terrible.
Would have been nice to have a cooked breakfast maybe on alternate days or at weekends.

We enjoyed our stay. Sorrento is very expensive and locals very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear friends,

thank you very much for your nice revue. We feel very sorry if you have had some inconveniences during your holiday. Waiting to see you all again we send you our kind regards. Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just got back from this hotel and loved it. We had a room with a balcony on the first floor, which overlooked the beautiful garden and had mountains in the background. It is true that there is a busy road outside but we didn't hear it from this room. The continental breakfast had a wide choice of rolls, cakes, cereals, fruit, drinks etc. Excellent!
We are not swimmers so just used the swimming pool to sit around, after our day trips and before dinner, and we used the snack bar there for drinks.
Its a clean hotel and the staff are all very pleasant.
All in all, a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: I would not have a room overlooking the road because of noise from traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear friends,

thank you very much for your nice revue It has been a great pleasure for us to have you in our hotel and we hope to see you again. Kind regards. Rita and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from Sorrento and I just want to say a big thank you to everyone at this hotel who made our holiday enjoyable. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a base to see the area and islands in the bay. Like all hotels there are rooms in the front and back of the hotel and when we arrived we were not happy with our room and this was quickly changed within a hour to a more suitable room and all our luggage had been moved for us while we were out. Also it has a lovely pool in a sunny spot for any sun worshippers. The room linen was changed every other day and towels as and when you required clean ones the ladies who did this were very professional. The breakfast on offer is exactly as it says on the website a nice continental breakfast. There is a walk into the centre but there are at least 3 different routes that can be taken to get there instead of the main busy road. It is a busy road but there is also a bus that goes into the town and of course the noise previously mentioned is the locals coming back and forward to work in the mornings and evenings on motorbikes. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Friends,

we read your revue and we like to thank you very much for your beatiful words and hoping to see you another time we send you our kind regards. Rita and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £89 - £745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing