We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly Family Holiday”
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A 'small and friendly' hotel situated amongst lemon and orange trees with great views of the mountains and Vesuvius. The staff make you feel very welcome and become very friendly during your stay, they were always very helpful and enjoyed having a laugh and joke with the guests. The room décor is dated and the walls paper thin, and we were disappointed with our 'balcony' which wasn't at all private - we just used it to dry our towels each night. However it was all very clean and requests for a blanket and extra pillows were all no problem. On a very busy road, treacherous at night. We only walked into Sorrento town on a couple of occasions, preferring to find restaurants at the San'Angello side of town (which we far cheaper and more authentic). We were not aware until we arrived that we had to pay cash for all drinks and bar snacks at the end of the week (they do not take credit or debit cards). However drinks were reasonably priced, and it was a real treat to be able to get a really good quality bar snack home cooked/prepared by David or one his team at lunchtime (7 euros). The kids loved the pool and there were always plenty of loungers by the pool. Popular with the Italians too.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden facing room so you are away from the road and on the second floor or higher to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel Girasole is well located just 500 meters from the main centre.

The Family that run the hotel are so helpful and welcoming.

The hotel is always clean and has everything you need in terms of amenities.

They do an enchanted evening on Tuesdays with home cooked food for 15euros which is great value and lovely.

The breakfast doesn't have any hot food but there is plenty to choose from cereals and toast plus all the continental pastries etc.

The pool bar is great David serves some amazing pasta and his speciality number 1 is amazing! David is so friendly and his wife cooks the Tuesday night food. It's very reasonable at 7euros a dish they are worth it

The rooms are clean we had room 49 which had great views of Vesuvius the bathroom was a little small but perfect for us and clean.

The only downside was paying 3euros each a day for sun beds but this did stop the 6am towel culture.
Also it's 10 euros for the fridge and another 10 euros for the safe so you can add £50 to the weeks price straight away.

That said I would definitely recommend this hotel the family are lovely and so is the hotel!

Thanks everyone at Girasole!!!! Ciao xxx

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dijluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were visiting Sorrento for our Honeymoon and decided to stay bed and breakfast at the Hotel Girasole as it seemed like such good value for money. We were certainly not disappointed! Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly welcome from the family, and shown to our room. They had provided a complementary bottle of champagne, two glasses and a congratulations card which was a lovely touch. We were very happy with our room and couldn’t have asked for any more for the price we paid; clean, comfortable and bright. The view from the balcony was worth the hotel fee in itself! The hills and mountains overlooking Sorrento, Naples bay and of course, the great Vesuvius in the distance – stunning!

The hotel is located on one of the main roads into Sorrento which is great for access into the town, most days we strolled into the centre of Sorrento which is approximately 15-20 minutes as we enjoyed the walk, otherwise buses or taxis are easily accessible and relatively good value. Whilst there are a number of reviews that mention road noise, we didn’t find this a problem at all.

The gardens were delightful with Orange and Lemon trees growing throughout. The pool area was nicely located just away from the hotel in a peaceful spot away from any road noise or passing traffic. The pool snack bar offered a lovely variety of homemade food and drinks, the lemon water was one of our favourites on a hot day!

Breakfast was excellent, a wide choice including various meats, cheese, breads, cereal, toast, pastries, juices, tea and fresh coffee. It was especially lovely eating breakfast under the fruit trees in the gardens. We would recommend the Thursday night event – the hotel lay on a huge spread of homemade food, with live music and drinks – great entertainment after a busy day out when you don’t feel like venturing far from the hotel.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and we will look forward to returning on our next visit to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwiksliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had always wanted to see Pompeii so I suggested to my husband to be that we stay in Sorrento, we booked our holiday with Thomson and they suggested hotel girasole, we didn't have a big budget to spend and we were never really fussy on where we stayed as long as it was clean and within walking distance to the town.
when we got dropped off at the entrance of the hotel I was pleasantly surprised, I don't think the photos in the brochure do it much justice.
inside was very clean and the staff were very welcoming, everyone spoke good English and were very approachable. (I will say the young boy was especially helpful, I forget his name)
I cant lie, I was slightly disappointed with the room size but soon forgot about that when I stepped onto my balcony and saw a brilliant view of Vesuvius and the sea.
our room was on the side of the hotel so I did experience a lot of noise from the road but we didn't let this bother us and it never really disturbed our sleep. (the heat from the day made us so tired!)

my only real negative was the shower as said in other reviews, it was tiny, we are both in our early twenties and are both reasonably slim but I cant imagine what a bigger individual would do, still, this didn't overly affect us, our honeymoon was quite active, we went on excursions everyday and didn't really care too much about our room.
the staff had left two little bottles of champagne and two glasses for us on the table in our room with a little note to say congratulations which was very nice of them.
the pool was a lovely way to finish the day especially as it was so hot, you could pay for nicer sunbeds which were 3 euros a bed but we settled for the ones already out. the pool isn't heated and it took a while for me to get in as im a bit of a wimp with cold water but nobody else seemed to have a problem.
all drinks and snacks were put on a tab which you pay at the end of your stay which was helpful to us as we didn't have to carry money with us wherever we went and could just relax.

I am very nervous with a busy road and hung onto my husbands arm for dear life walking to the piazza tasso, the pavement is VERY narrow and uneven and the people driving the cars and mopeds go so fast so I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families are older couples really unless they are ok with spending a lot of money on taxis.

my husband was in heaven with the breakfast as it was mostly made up of cakes and doughnuts, (it obviously had toast and cereals too) im more into the german contintental such as bacon and sausages x)

a highlight for us was sitting in the garden at night surrounded by the orange and lemon trees sipping a cold drink and relaxing after a long day.

all in all, clean,friendly,helpful and would stay again

Room Tip: choose a room at the back of the hotel on top floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

There are some VERY plush hotels in Sorrento, but they charge a small fortune. The further out of town you go, the less you pay, but finding a good value, central hotel with a pool is tricky.

Hotel Girasole is about 20 minutes' walk from the centre (the pavements are narrow, but this would only be a problem with a pushchair or wheelchair), rooms are reasonably priced and there's a fantastic, deep, outdoor pool. This makes it an obvious choice for package holiday operators.

The rooms are small and old fashioned but comfortable, with air conditioning, balconies and plenty of hanging space. The rooms at the front overlook the main road and can be noisy, so make sure you stay at the back, or better, in the garden complex, which has no view but is very quiet.

The breakfasts are good (although no vegan alternatives to milk & butter) and include delicious fruit grown in the hotel garden. There's a bar but it's rarely used. During the day, a small selection of reheated food can be served at the pool. There is no evening food, but the local takeaways are excellent and good value.

Some of the extras that you might expect to be free are not, for example:

- A garden room is an extra £13 or so per night
- Use of the fridge in the room is €10 per week
- Use of the tiny safe (not big enough for an iPad or SLR camera) is €10 per week
- The WiFi is free for an hour; after that it's €10 per week
- Use of sunloungers by the pool is €3 per day
- "Tourist tax" is €1 per person per night

At the end of your stay these, plus any food and drinks you have had by the pool, have to be paid in cash. Be prepared - the nearest cashpoint is in town.

The owners of the Girasole are friendly and welcoming and for the area the hotel is well priced.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are noisy, so go for the back. For a little extra, the garden rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ_and_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week at the start of July.

I'll start with the positives. The reception and cleaning staff are great, very friendly, always smiling and greeting you warmly. The room was clean, and the pool area nice enough. Breakfast was a continental, and the choice very limited, but it was the enough to start the day. We also had an early morning transfer back to the airport and were provided with a decent packed breakfast. 1 hour internet per day is provided free of charge, which is more than adequate to plan the next day's activities and check email. There is as charge for the safe and fridge, but no more than expectnothing here were a few minor negatives. The shower was tiny. I'm a small person and could barely turn round in it, never mind my tall partner! The breakfast staff weren't particularly friendly. One morning we were sat finishing our drinks as the click ticked to 10 (when they stop serving) and checking a map on a phone and were rather rudely told to go outside and play on the phone. The bed, especially the pillows, were rock solid. There was also a 3 euro charge for sunbeds which you don't expect when you're a paying guest.

However, the main reason for the average rating is the location. It took me and my partner, a physically fit couple in our 20s, 15 mins on a good day to reach the main square in Sorrento. This wasn't really a problem. The main road location was the issue. It was impossible to sleep with the window shut due to the heat, but with the window open the noise was unbearable. I'm normally a very heavy sleeper, but the combination of the solid bed, flat pillows and noise meant I didn't get an uninterrupted night's sleep for the entire week. Our rep brought this up with us, and we were told the staff would let us know if a room became available but nothing more was said.

I know this is not something much can be done about, but we would not stay here again, as nice as the staff were.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sorrento.
We read your revue and we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't pay much for our holiday to sorrento so didn't expect much. We were suprised with the room. It was decent sized, clean and had a small private out door area with deck chairs. Very basic but was expected. Being on the main road was not a problem as we still slept well. The pool was lovely not really big enough for lots of children to be playing. More of a couples place. Breakfast was great lots of choice. Ten mins walk from centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIBBYLIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Direttore at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Guests,

we like to thank you very much for your nice revue. We are happy you have appreciated our Hotel, our work and our authenticity. We hope you come back soon.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Settimo Cielo
Settimo Cielo
#65 of 100 in Sorrento
546 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rivage Hotel
Rivage Hotel
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £91 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing