We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed in july 2013”
Review of Hotel Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A Thomson small and friendly hotel which is a good 25mins walk into sorrento centre, often with no footpaths on a very busy & dangerous road especially with kids. Much closer to sant Angello only 5 mins away. This hotel is a pleasant hotel with friendly staff and a good size pool with plenty sunbeds, rooms are small and basic but clean and continental breafast was good and had lots to offer. The only down side to this hotel is its position that its on a main busy road with lots of traffic noise all day n night especially with the noisey motor bikes......and that its closer to sant Angello than sorrento after a week walking up n down the road every day and night all our legs were aching!

Room Tip: garden view rooms might not be AS NOISEY but will still hear some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in a small twin room. Balcony overlooked the main road but this didn't matter too much as we were never in to use it! Good double glazing kept the worst of the road noise out at night. Lovely pool and snack bar. Good selection for breakfast including 'proper' tea! 15-20 minute walk into town - the footpaths aren't great and there are busy roads with fast moving mopeds to cross. Bear this in mind if your mobility isn't good or you have children.

Sorrento a great base for sightseeing. We went to Pompeii, Vesuvias, Heraculaneum, Amalfi, Ravello, Capris and Ischia - nearly all by public transport (which is cheap and has regular services).

Sorrento itself is a haven for gluten free eating. Restaurants f note that cater well for coeliacs are: Pizzeria Aurora (Piazzo Tasso), La Fenice (on Via Degli Aranci), Villa Rubinacci (on Via Correale), Fauno Bar (Piazzo Tasso), The Foreigner's Club (on Via l. De Maio). These all usually had pizza, pasta and bread available. La Dolce Sorrento on Piazza A. Laura had delicious GF ice cream cones/gelato - top tip, try the nutella flavour!

Further afield in Ravello, Cumpa Cosimo on Via Roma had GF pasta. R. Buonocore in Capri on Via Vitt. Emanuele had GF ice cream cones.

If in doubt with regards gluten free food, just ask! The Italians seem to have a good understanding of it in general. They don't always mention the availability of GF pasta etc on the menu though.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra to have a room looking over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I wanted to have a relaxing 10 days in the sun with the added bonus of having a range of historic sites and places of interest nearby. The Hotel Girasole provided an ideal base to do this. The gardens were beautifully maintained and an ideal breakfasting location. The pool was well supplied with sunbeds and deckchairs and the home made poolside snacks were delicious! Our garden room was spotlessly clean and free from traffic noise. The hotel staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and were very encouraging and patient when they realised we really wanted to try our basic Italian! The local station gave easy access to Herculaneum and Pompeii and there were a few local restaurants. Sorrento itself was a beautiful town with plenty to do and enormous variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden and the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently enjoyed a fantastic stay at Hotel Girasole. It was an experience of all that is good about Italy and its culture and Rita, her family and staff go beyond providing hotel accommodation - they make it a special time.

This is a well-run, clean and efficient hotel, which provides outstanding value for money. Location is very good for Sorrento itself and visiting the major places of interest in the area. If you want the best advice on where to eat and how to travel to other locations - ask Rita and her team.

The pool is fabulous and Dave's lunch-time specials - made from his own-grown produce, are not to be missed. Also, the weekly Italian food and music evening is great fun.

This hotel far exceeds its published star-rating .We will return.

Weightman- Rutland

Room Tip: Garden, family rooms are spacious and provide pleasant views of the grounds and coastline beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

we returned here to this wonderful little hotel. This was our first time during the summer as wehad stayed here for 3 easters running.
our room was room number 47 we have had this room 3 times and it ideally situated on the second floor. yes the main problem we experienced was keeping the showwer curtain nicley stuck against the tiles to prevent water finding its way onto the floor. but after 3 previous visits all of which were of 2 weeks each holiday stay we had got it off to a tee.
we had the view over the garden and the view of vesuvius across the bay.
we did attend the tuesday enchanted evening and this was lovley. the food was wonderful. nice to have a chance to sample a range of local foods in a buffet style i.e can have a bit of each.
i would advise you spray plenty of mosquito repeelent as the only time i got bitten was during this evening and i had put some on.

food was good value at 15 euro each

drinks were reasonably priced and as other trip advisors had stated the option was to pay in cash at end of holiday . W e opted to pay cash as we went along but you need the exact cash as the bar doesnt have a cash till.to give change.

the homemade lemonade was wonderful and refreshing

the hotel if you request it will provide filled rolls which we had daily so we could enjoy nice picnics in the area.
this can be charged to your room.

the pool was wonderful yes its not a heated pool but we we went during 13th till 27th july wehn very hot weather and the pool was warm. it didnt make me gasp when i stepped into it.
we rented the use of the fridge for 10 euro a week and this was great as we could buy our bottle of wine and chill it in fridge ready to drink in the evening on the balcony.
the safe we also rented for one euro a day and was adequate size to stow our valuables in like passports and wallets

we didnt bother putting our camera in it as we were happy to leave it in the room in a drawer but should we have wanted to it would have fit in the safe.

we had a wonderful lady that looked after our room and gave us plenty of clean linen.
the reception can offer you a towel to use for the pool area as they prefer room towels not taken to the pool.

the staff at this hotle are wonderful it was like returning to family and rita and her staff treat all there guests like a family. Rita and her family go that extra mile to make all there guests feel welcome and special.
Rita had left some flowers in our room and a welcome card for when we arrived.
this was very lovley thankyou rita.

breakfast was wonderful and ritas sister makes the cakes they are wonderful.
the staff work hard and work long hours to make there guests holiday special thankyou all

this time we braved going into naples rita said id we didnt wear jewlery we would be safe.

we didnt go via circumvesuviana but we took the boat across it was a lovley crossing.
we had a amp and we headed for the archeological museum which is a 20 to 25 min walk from the boat stop.

naples welll what part we saw looked a bit rough and i am being polite.
i would not want to ever explore naples further
the banks had armed security staff manning the doors to the bank as a norm this seemed to be the trend as we passed a few banks with this set up

shall i say naples is a rough place

the archeological museum was dissapointing not much there.
i expected many many exhibits and a couple rooms were closed in these rooms were the bits i wanted to see the potsn pans and preserved foods from pompeii

we didnt go to pompeii scavi this time the queue was immense at the start of the opening times we were there at 10.45

we went up vesuvious that day then we walked into pompeii town to see the marian church of pompiee town

this was the most beatiful church i have ever been in and i have visited a lot in italy well worth a walk

the store holders on the side of the roads are a bit of a pain but keepeyes front and just walk without looking there way and act deaf.

they are toying for custom

w e also went to capri for the first time very beatiful beware the funiculare has a massive queue we walked up to the town it was a steep up hill walk but very pleasant we went to tiberius villa jovis was a long uphill walk it cost 2 euros to get in but beware as we went on a wednesday and it closed at 1pm there is an information point up in the upper town and they can give you directions and info on opening times

Room Tip: garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radleyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A 'small and friendly' hotel situated amongst lemon and orange trees with great views of the mountains and Vesuvius. The staff make you feel very welcome and become very friendly during your stay, they were always very helpful and enjoyed having a laugh and joke with the guests. The room décor is dated and the walls paper thin, and we were disappointed with our 'balcony' which wasn't at all private - we just used it to dry our towels each night. However it was all very clean and requests for a blanket and extra pillows were all no problem. On a very busy road, treacherous at night. We only walked into Sorrento town on a couple of occasions, preferring to find restaurants at the San'Angello side of town (which we far cheaper and more authentic). We were not aware until we arrived that we had to pay cash for all drinks and bar snacks at the end of the week (they do not take credit or debit cards). However drinks were reasonably priced, and it was a real treat to be able to get a really good quality bar snack home cooked/prepared by David or one his team at lunchtime (7 euros). The kids loved the pool and there were always plenty of loungers by the pool. Popular with the Italians too.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden facing room so you are away from the road and on the second floor or higher to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel Girasole is well located just 500 meters from the main centre.

The Family that run the hotel are so helpful and welcoming.

The hotel is always clean and has everything you need in terms of amenities.

They do an enchanted evening on Tuesdays with home cooked food for 15euros which is great value and lovely.

The breakfast doesn't have any hot food but there is plenty to choose from cereals and toast plus all the continental pastries etc.

The pool bar is great David serves some amazing pasta and his speciality number 1 is amazing! David is so friendly and his wife cooks the Tuesday night food. It's very reasonable at 7euros a dish they are worth it

The rooms are clean we had room 49 which had great views of Vesuvius the bathroom was a little small but perfect for us and clean.

The only downside was paying 3euros each a day for sun beds but this did stop the 6am towel culture.
Also it's 10 euros for the fridge and another 10 euros for the safe so you can add £50 to the weeks price straight away.

That said I would definitely recommend this hotel the family are lovely and so is the hotel!

Thanks everyone at Girasole!!!! Ciao xxx

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dijluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
715 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £92 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing