We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Girasole
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We went to that hotel on a Sunday after we decided not to stay with our rental apartment because of lack of parking. the staff were very welcoming and found out a beautiful room with a view we had no reservation and we got there around 6pm.
all the personal where very helpful there a gorgeous garden and breakfast was included and it was very nice.
Walking distance from everything in Sorrenton. We had this place for 2 nights and the staff found out another hotel for the extra 2 days of our stay in Sorrento.
And also parking was included and secure.
After traveling all the way from Sicily that we were happy to finally have a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mtr1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Girasole as part of a two week study tour. It was delightful to be greeted by such friendly staff who were very accommodating of the needs of our large group. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with stunning views across the Bay of Naples. Dinners were very satisfying, and the breakfast spread was quite reasonable. We would love to have stayed longer than the two nights, and will recommend the hotel to our travel agent for future groups!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Melissa_from_SouthOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay for 5 nights at the Hotel Girasole in Sorrento and I would highly recommend this hotel. We had the pleasure of meeting Rita, the hotel proprietor, the moment we walked in and we felt like family. Our next encounter was with her brother-in-law David who walked us out to the garden and asked whether we would like to try his specialty, prosciutto wrapped mozzarella surrounded in lemon leaves picked from their garden trees. It was amazing.
About a 10 minute walk into the heart of Sorrento, the rooms were very clean, the company was great. Make sure you stop by.
Bryan and Maggie

Room Tip: Get on the upper floors looking over the Naples Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our initial impression of the hotel was not too good as we had requested a garden room, ( due to the previous advice on trip adviser) it was facing the garden on the road level but was on the side of the 'L' shaped building so the views were limited, however after speaking to the owner, when a room became available we moved to a 1st floor bedroom overlooking the garden and the bay of Naples which made so much difference as we were there for 2/52 (having had a last minute change from the Egypt holiday originally booked and the choice of 3 hotels around Sorrento - none were any closer. ) We were there 20/09 - 04/10 2013
As I have some difficulty walking I found the hotel a little too far from the centre of Sorrento so I purchased some 1 euro bus tickets ( worth it to me) and used these from the bus stop approx 50 yds from the door, up to 7pm to Piazzo Tasso, unfortunately after about 10.15pm there are no more buses either way, so we walked back on these occasions as taxis tried to charge between 20-15 euros for the journey of approx a mile!!! Stopping off occasionally at one of the pavement bars en-route.
I agree with some of the previous comments regarding the breakfast, it was very much the same thing every morning but acceptable choices for a continental style. Remember the coffee machine turns on AND off by pressing the buttons and there is no limit to the amount of cups you can have. I certainly don't feel it was as bad as some make out.
The pool was always clean and blue, yes you pay for loungers but deckchair style seats were always available at no extra charge. The meals available at the pool were very good and the drinks prices reasonable for any hotel.
On the plus side the staff are lovely with particular mention to Tony, Alberto and Carmine,who would always try their best for the guests. The night porter was always pleasant and the owner, Rita, always made good any comments we made. One of these being that the shower curtain was inadequate and as a result the bathroom floor became soaked each time it was used, as a result the shower curtain was replaced and 3 bathmats were left each day which we put down the sides of the shower tray and onto the floor to soak up the excess water as it ran down the walls.
The bed was comfortable and the room warm enough, the air conditioning worked ( but could probably do with a service ) and to be able to sit out on the small balcony with a drink whilst soaking up the view was lovely. The rooms are smallish but adequate as most people are out for the majority of their time.
I would like to see free safe/ fridge use and even if extra a drinks tray and kettle.
There is also a plentiful supply of books and magazines on the bedroom hallway sideboards, albeit that they have been left by other visitors. There is also a small lift for the upper floors.
Most of the trips run by Thomsons/First Choice pick up at the hotel which was a bonus.
All in all I understand that for the price this is a nice, family run hotel with a good daily maid service and not too far away from the centre. You can't blame the hotel for the road noise, it is made known in advance

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden and high up for a good view of the Bay, The coffee machine turns on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank petlyn0248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Girasole which was described as 3 star with some road noise. We went to Sorrento to visit the ruins so we weren't interested in paying a premium for a sea view. We needed a room that was clean, with a good bed, so we could get a good night's sleep, this was not a trip to be staying around the hotel.
This hotel failed miserably to provide this basic level of service, the room we were allocated smelt of smoke and heavily overlaid with air freshener, the bed was uncomfortable and had no support, there was no toilet paper but the worst aspect was that it fronted onto the main road into Sorrento. It was like sleeping next to a motorway, the coaches and lorries rushing past, the scooters being ridden fast and tooting, it was impossible to get any sleep.
The hotel proprietor refused to accept the room smelt or that the bed was unserviceable nor would understand that the road noise was unbearable. They refused to move us to another room without paying a supplement of 25 euro a night. Do not fall into the trap of expecting a reasonably priced hotel because you will have to spend the extra to get the noise levels down to something bearable.
Like so many other hotels the WiFi, refrigerator and safe all cost extra. The safe is so small it won't take an iPad. It doesn't stop there as at the pool there is an additional charge to use the sunbeds.
The continental breakfast was poor, with the majority of guests staying from the UK during our visit. A bit of effort to provide some cooked eggs, bacon, tomatoes etc would have been welcomed. But no, every day was the same; stale rolls from the night before, ghastly ham slices, cold boiled eggs, and make your own tea in a cup, there was no sight of a tea pot. There was a bowl of fruit which was usually tinned. A selection of cakes and pastries but not everybody wants these for breakfast.
Overall, this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the noise, the rudeness and unhelpfulness of the proprietor and night porter. Not a hotel that provides any acceptable level of service, and is not of 3 star quality, 2 stars would be generous. Our advice - stay well clear, there is plenty of choice in Sorrento so try and find one that is not on the main road.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Russ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGirasole, Proprietario at Hotel Girasole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sorrento.
We read with great interest your comment, and we are very disappointed for what you have said about our hotel and staff.
We like our work very much and all our guests from the moment that they come through our door they become like a part of the family. We all work in order to satisfy our guests and make them feel as though they are at home.
I'm sorry to see that you did not like anything in our hotel and that you will not recommend us to anyone, but we hope that people understand that this is only your personal opinion.
Anyway we thank you again and we wish you a Merry Christmas and an happy new year.
Your sincerely
Rita Ruocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On a busy road and I mean busy, scooters, sirens from emergency vehicles which are non stop throughout the night but if you can close the windows the silence is amazing and there is air con. Come on what do you expect as the prices are really good value. The room was a good size and very clean, the bathroom was adequate and the shower lovely. We had changed linens regularly and fresh towels etc.
However breakfast was terrible. The coffee was more foam than liquid which ruined our experience and therefore meant we had breakfast at a local coffee shop. The staff were friendly and not intrusive they advised us quickly and were always available.
A great hotel for a bargain price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deb0rahn750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in late October, the positive is that the hotel and our room were very clean. It is located about 15mns walk from the centre of Sorrento, so within walking distance. In the Thomson's brochure it does state that the hotel is located on a bustling main road and some noise may be experienced. The road is by UK standards narrow and very busy with high buildings and embankments all close to the road. This wouldn't be a problem if it were not for the scooters. The scooters are very noisy, they are revved up and so many pass the hotel it is difficult not to be irritated by their noise and fumes. The rooms do have air-conditioning but ours was not switched on until after we asked. We were told that it was on a timer but there was no consistency about when it actually came on. This again represents a problem because you can close the balcony door and overheat or open it for some cooler air and then suffer the fumes and noise.
Brochure pictures and website pictures gave a better impression than our room proved to be. Our room was quite small and there were no armchairs or comfy chairs to relax in. The headboard of the bed was fixed to the wall, so if you sat on the bed and leant against it the whole bed would move forward. The TV was virtually useless to us because there was only one English language channel (CNN). The "occasional dinners" were poor value, limited choice and unexciting for 15 euro each! There was no live music when we used it.
The pool when we used it was green not the blue clear water of the brochure, not sure why. It was covered and closed soon after we used it, so not open all of October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Settimo Cielo
Settimo Cielo
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
546 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rivage Hotel
Rivage Hotel
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girasole

Address: Corso Italia 302, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £92 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girasole 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Girasole Hotel is a nice family hotel in Sorrento which gives a warm and friendly hospitality to its guests. The private pool, immersed in the green of a wonderful orange–grove typical of Sorrento, is surrounded by flowers and plants. The pool bar offers a good selection of local dishes and sandwiches, cold drinks, ice cream and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Girasole Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing