We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coltur Suites Sorrento
Ranked #77 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Coltur Suites. We had to pick our keys up from the Central Hotel which is a half an hour walk from the train station. Not easy with two teenage children and small cases to pull. Serena greeted us the Coltur Offices located next to the Grand Hotel. She is a very pleasant and helpful young woman. After completing the paperwork she ordered us a taxi to take us to the apartment which is located on the other side of the town on the waterfront - this cost us nearly 20 euros. The apartment is in beautiful location. We had a balcony from where we had superb views. The apartment was very clean, and the kitchenette areas was reasonably well equipped. There is no kettle, but there is no problem boiling water in a pan. Unfortunately, the gas ran out on the hob on our last evening. It was a Bank Holiday so we did not bother to try and resolve this issue as we were leaving early the following day. Other reviewers have mentioned the church bells - we were not unduly disturbed by them, rather they enhanced the ambiance. The location provides incredibly convenient access to all the shops, hotels and restaurants. This apartment represented extremely good value for money for a family of four and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tavycleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My niece and I spent 4 nights here in a one bedroom apartment with two single beds. We were on the first floor with a nice little balcony overlooking the bay. It was so nice to just sit out and relax at the end of the day with a glass of wine and watch the night colours descend. The beds were rather firm but we survived, the bathroom had good hotwater and pressure which can often be a problem but not here. The kitchenette was functional however we had no toaster or kettle, so we made do boiling water in a pot, otherwise it was perfectly modern clean and comfortable. The double glazing helps with the church bells that chime every 15 minutes but if your out all day as you should be you tend to sleep pretty heavily of a night. The apartments are at the end of town but its an easy 10 minute walk to the main street and shopping although the large supermarket is at the other end. We made do with a smaller one closer. Serena was lovely to meet us at the apartment and to let us in and to give us the run down of the facilities and a map with suggestions including the location of the lift to the port rather than the 300 stairs. that was handy. I would stay again I had no real issues with the property as a negative, there is no WiFi but they tell you that before you book, and really, I'm on holidays, ditch the computer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at a one bedroom apartment on the 1st floor for a week. The view from the balcony was great (especially the sunset) but felt the many other things let it down.

We arrived on a Sunday and had to pick up the keys from the Central Hotel which was on the other side of town. When picking up the keys, they insisted on a €100 cash deposit, even after taking my credit card. This wasn't explained and was unexpected. After picking up the keys we had to take a taxi to the apartment which cost €20!

The apartment was clean but showing age and some previous damp problems in some corners and part of the ceiling. There wasn't an iron or ironing board although did have facilities to hang washing etc. There wasn't an electric kettle either or any kind of kettle. We couldn't heat anything on the first night as the gas ran out after about 2 minutes, so no means to heat water or have anything hot.

There is a bell tower very close to the apartment and the bells ring on the hour, half hour, and quarter after and to the hour between 5am and midnight! The walls are very thin as we can hear all noises (kids running, people talking, chairs scrapping etc) from all the other apartments. Balcony is only big enough for 2 plastic chairs and the bathroom could do with more hooks and shelving.

The apartment is in a quieter part of town and about 10 mins walk to the main square. And it was nice to escape the main tourist bits and enjoy the sea and sunset at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topaz315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just returned from one weeks stay at Coltur Suites. The apartment was very clean and spacious for two people. We had one bedroom with two bathrooms, a small kitchen with good sized fridge and a spacious living area with two little balconies overlooking Marina Grande below. We loved sitting watching the goings on in the harbour every evening. The apartment is about a 10 minute walk into Sorrento and 20 minute walk to the train / bus station. We enjoyed walking and exploring the local area. Go for a walk up into the hills on old Roman roads through lemon groves and past spacious villas, take the 1st turning before Hotel Bristol and keep going up. We took the local bus to Almalfi (be at the station early ....very busy bus!) and visited Pompei, Vesuvius and Herculaneum. Definitely worth doing all these trips but be at ruins early as they get very busy and very hot.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lins001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at Coltur Suites with our two teenage sons. We had two separate bedrooms and two bathrooms. There was a small kitchenette area to prepare breakfast or a light cold meal but I don't think it was equipped for cooking. There was a private terrace with amazing views down to marina grande which we didn't really use as the weather was quite cool for the time of year. Apart from the beds in the Procida apartment there was just a small table and 4 chairs so no actual settee.

Compared to 2 rooms in a hotel this was an excellent price. The apartment looked knew and was spotlessly clean. I really had no complaints about it at all. It is a really quaint location - I got the impression most of the apartments around Coltur Suites belonged to local people.

There are lovely restaurants nearby and a supermarket 5 minutes away. You are 5 minutes from the old town (the drains) and another 5 minutes to piazzo tasso.

Serena met us at the apartment with the keys and was extremely helpful with everything. She will do anything you request of her and she will contact you about a week before your stay.

I think this is the best location in Sorrento. A lot of hotels and apartments are on busy main roads on the way out of Sorrento and this can't be beaten.

The only thing to bear in mind is you are near a quaint old church facing the sea and the bells ring 3 times an hour, staring at around 6 am. If you are a light sleeper I wouldn't let this put you off, perhaps buy some ear plugs!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed in this apartment for 12 nights at Easter 2012.
We had an apartment with a lovely terrace, 2 bathrooms and 1 bedroom.
The view from the terrace was wonderful.
The beds were very good, even the extra bed for our 20 year old daughter in the livingroom.
The apartment is in walking distance from the town center and several supermarkets.
The best thing about Coltur Suites is Francesca.
She is a lovely young woman who speaks perfect English and who provided us with all the information we needed before departure and during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveladdict3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Coltur Suites isn't fancy, but it's very clean, up to date and enjoys a quaint location with beautiful views of the sea and fishing village. The staff was very helpful, the price/value was excellent, and it was great to be within a very short walk of the center of Sorrento, but still have a peaceful, private respite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank comiller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#83 of 100 in Sorrento
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coltur Suites Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coltur Suites Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 28, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £67 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coltur Suites Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coltur Suites , located in a great panoramic area of the little port of Marina Grande inSorrento, with a very particular prospective on the Bay of Naples. Composed by eight elegant apartments, residence Coltur Suites is fully furnished with tv sat, wi-fi internet connection, air conditioned and telephone, appreciated by our guests for the relaxing atmosphere and the nearby city center of Sorrento. Gay friendly. From our apartments you easily reach the most known places of Sorrento and many restaurants with typical Sorrento specialities. From residence Coltur Suites various excursions can be made to the most famous localities of the Amalfi coast, like Positano, Ravello, and of course the isle of Capri . Guests may use, free of charge, the pool and fitness club of the Colonna Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coltur Suites Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coltur Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing