We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, cozy B&B just off Piazza Tasso.”
Review of La Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Magnolia
Ranked #42 of 143 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We are a group of 9 (2 fairly well-travelled families whose members range in age from 18-56), and we have just returned yesterday from Italy. We looked for an economical, centrally-located B&B in Sorrento because our splurge was a week in a Tuscan villa afterwards. La Magnolia worked perfectly for us. The owner, Carlo, was extremely helpful both before our trip and during. He kept us charged up with espresso and cappuccino at all hours of the day, and was always ready with suggestions and a smile. Carlo is a good resource for reservations and tours of all kinds. He also owns a restaurant which we never got time to eat in, but were sorry when we walked past it on our last night (after dinner) and realized that it looked like fun (lots of outdoor seating, a roaming singer, nice-looking menu).
Breakfasts were your typical coffee/juice/yogurt/pastry, and we enjoyed them on the little balcony outside our rooms. We had all 4 rooms on the bottom floor (Sorrento, Capri, and I don't recall the other 2 names). I slept in the Sorrento room that had a window to the street below. There was definitely street noise, but with the a/c on and the window closed, the 3 of us in that room had no problem sleeping.
The rooms were extremely clean, and the bathrooms had good plumbing. We were quite happy there and would also be happy to return any time. La Magnolia is located just off Piazza Tasso so it is an easy walk to restaurants, shops, gelaterias, etc., and it was a good jumping off point for our trips to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Carlo is ready to greet you and provides fantastic advice! 10 minute walk from train station and about 50 meters from Piazza Tasso which is the center of town. Breakfast is more than adequate for a European B&B with fresh cappuccino or espresso every morning. Rooms have locally crafted wood furniture, very clean, some with doors that open to the small breakfast terrace or patio. We booked a little late for the season, but still had the very nice Capri room.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sonopieno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wiFe and I had the pleasure of staying at La Magnolia for 4 nights. We could not have been more pleased. Carlo, the owner, did everything possible to be sure that we had an enjoyable stay. The room and bath were absolutely spotless and had free wifi. Carlo and his wife very kind and offered lots of information about Sorrento. The B & B is only a block from the main square, Piazza Tasso. We had to get an early train back to Naples and Carlo even offered to leave some fresh fruit in our room the night before. This is not a hotel, so don't expect all the services of a hotel. This is more like staying in someone's home. They really care that you have a great experience, and that is exactly what Carlo provided. We often visit Sorrento, and will will certainly return to La Magnolia.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rdespirito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at this B&B and yet again it did not disappoint. Room cleaned each day, secure, and staff very friendly. When I return to Sorrento I will certainly stay here again and will never miss an opportunity to recommend this to others. Also location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location to downtown Sorrento was convenient, basically 1 block from Piazza Tasso, the center where all the action is. We found this good and bad in our case which I'll explain, but overall this B&B seemed as though it could be a reasonably good option depending on the room you were given.

This small B&B is located directly on Via Caruso, one of the busiest streets in town, about 1 block from Piazza Tasso. There is a *lot* of traffic on the street outside which is typically backed up from the piazza out front.The rooms each had names and we had what was called the Sorrento Room. This room was 1 floor up from ground level directly on Via Caruso and the traffic noise was very significant in the room late into the night even with the shutters and windows closed and the AC running. Given the unique layout of the B&B this may be the. Note, it appeared as though this may have been the only room positioned so close to this street like this but I am not sure. My wife and I used ear plugs which helped but I am not sure I'd chance it again unless I request a room away from this street. To put this in perspective to those of you that know Italy, the week before we had stayed in Rome in a room also 1 floor up from the street just 1 block from Piazza Novona and that room was very quiet in comparison.

Breakfast was just OK. No options. We were each served a croissant and a cup of cappuccino/esspresso.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in any room but the "Sorrento Room" (see review for detail).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

La Magnolia was a perfect location - close enough to both the train station and the center of town in Sorrento so that we could walk everywhere we needed. Carlo, the owner & manager, was very gracious and helpful. La Magnolia is a small bed-and-breakfast type hotel. We stayed in the “Sorrento Room” on the first floor. Our room was clean, spacious, and nicely furnished. We were there May 2013, and the air conditioning worked great. We also had reasonable Wi-Fi access. The only issues were that the bed was too hard and the shower did not have an extra shelf to hold toiletries. (We did not see other rooms to compare, so this review is for the Sorrento Room.) Our schedule required us to leave early each morning, so we did not choose the breakfast option. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay at La Magnolia. In fact, it was one of the best places we stayed throughout our Italy trip including Venice, Florence, and Rome before arrival in Sorrento. I would highly recommend La Magnolia and the Sorrento Room. Thanks to Carlo for providing us a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the “Sorrento Room” on the first floor. Our room was clean, spacious, and nicely furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

After reading up on lots of rave reviews we decided to stay at la magnolia. This place was located perfectly in the heart of sorrento and was so clean and well kept. If you need wifi the access is not all that great. Recommended stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
Hotel Villa Di Sorrento
#76 of 100 in Sorrento
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agora Apartments
Agora Apartments
#30 of 73 in Sorrento
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#15 of 143 in Sorrento
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Villa Angiolina
Relais Villa Angiolina
#24 of 143 in Sorrento
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#16 of 143 in Sorrento
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia

Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 14, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £65 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Magnolia 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Magnolia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing