We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but not exactly warm and welcoming”
Review of La Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Magnolia
Ranked #35 of 147 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As a previous reviewer mentioned, convenient location is very important, and this B&B has a very convenient location. Close to train station, steps from central piazza and port.

The rooms are clean and that too is very important.

The proprietor is hard to reach. I emailed several times and never got a response. We saw him at check-in and thought it was strange that he wanted us to pay ahead of time, but now I understand it is because we
never saw him again. We asked for recommendations for restaurants, and beyond suggesting his own cafe/bar, he gave us the pamphlet from the chamber of commerce.

He did organize a cruise around Capris for us that turned out to be fantastic (MBS Blu charter) and lent us beach towels, so that was very nice.

One other reviewer mentioned the thin towels, and while they are thin, they are very effective (microfiber? whatever, they work) so don't be put off by them.

One other thing, the bed in our room (positano room) is as hard as sleeping on the floor. If you like a firm mattress, you will like this room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamijud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

La Magnolia B & B is in an ideal position, easy walk to and from the train station and right off the main piazza. Others have mentioned problems checking in and our experience was similar. Another guest had been waiting for 1 hour when we arrived at the locked gate. After buzzing someone opened the gate, but there was still no one at reception. When a lady turned up she seems annoyed that we had all been given access. We had booked a comfort room and I had requested a balcony as advertised on their site. I was told the comfort rooms don't had a balcony/terrace but a big window. Breakfast is an extra charge but I was aware of that before booking. But after a rocky start we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Sorrento and at La Magnolia. Wifi was an issue but the problem was being worked on when we were there. It was the first and only time we seen linen towels during our time in Italy.

Room Tip: Balcony/terrace room would be best, not sure how you organise:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennedys2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I've stayed in Sorrento several times and I feel it's important to stay at a place that's centrally-located. This one absolutely is: It's conveniently tucked away next to a quaint fruit shop just off Piazza Tasso; it's also an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. The accommodations were as described by many others on Trip Advisor, comfortable and spacious. There are no frills, but when you pay economical rates for a B&B, you shouldn't expect the Hilton. Towels were painfully thin (you could practically see through them), wifi was spotty at best, but A/C was fantastic-so wonderful after hot days exploring nearby Capri and Positano.

The lone issue I had was regarding the owner's professionalism---or lack thereof. Others remarked how hospitable Carlo was during their stay. So when we arrived, we were looking forward to meeting our temporary host. Instead, we were left standing at the gate for 20 minutes, until we switched on our phones (incurring international roaming charges) and rang him. Another 15 minutes later, a girl came to let us into our room, and without any apology, was gone within minutes. Only when I logged into my email using the B&B's wifi did I see Carlo wrote me just a few HOURS before to see when we would be checking in; something that should be coordinated prior to our arrival.

The next morning, we asked if Carlo could come to reset our safe (as it wasn't reset prior to our stay) and we finally got to meet him in person. There was confusion as we attempted to pay with our VISA, as Carlo would not use a card machine (he uses an online payment method and was trying to make us turn on our phones AGAIN to receive a link). He began to vociferously complain about guests--including us--booking with Expedia, and was aggressive, to the point where I thought I might actually burst into tears. Never once was he hospitable, gracious, or apologetic for anything.

Would we stay there again? Perhaps, only due to the fabulous location and price, both hard to beat. But, this time we'd be wary of what were were getting ourselves into.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dario_dinardo, Direttore generale at La Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I am very sorry,
but not to be responsible.
we have a new digital service for the payment, for the safety of the client,
but if the client is afraid to use the phone, because it costs too much, it's not my fault,
we have a towel service, Italian cotton, microfiber type, because it is more hygienic.
It is true we had a problem, and the customer and arrived before us,
but we are not a 4 star hotel, and our concierge service, and only in the morning,
but it is possible to check-in at any time, just make a phone call,
or an email alert, but like I said if you are afraid to use the phone,
may be that you have to wait 10 minutes,
Thank you and many greetings to all our loving clients

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed only one night at La Magnolia while touring southern Italy and Tuscany. Big mistake. We should have spent our entire vacation here! The location was perfect - walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and waterfront. Our room was small but had a balcony where we were served breakfast. In our case breakfast was optional (5 Eu extra per person). It was adequate for our needs on this trip, but I would probably opt out of this for a longer stay. Carlo was very friendly and encouraged us to book directly with him in the future and NOT through a travel site as he would give us a better deal. Nice to know - but we thought we got a good deal already! Our traveling companions had a much larger room (with no balcony) overlooking the street which they said was noisy. Our room was in the back and was very quiet. Again, for a longer stay, I would request the other larger balcony room. Overall I loved this property and would stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger balcony room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PigPenVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed several nights a La Magnolia. We couldn't have asked for a better location and overall, the property was great. It is tucked away off a very busy street in the heart of Sorrento, but the way our rooms were oriented away from the street, we heard no outside noise. The rooms and bathrooms weren't overly large but adequate. Breakfast was outside our rooms on charming glass topped tables on our terrace. Breakfast consisted of juice, several cereals, pastry, and beverage (coffee, tea, or cappuccino). When we were there, the mornings were cool so eating outside was probably a bit less enjoyable than it would be in mid-summer. Also, breakfast tables were setup around 8 a.m. so if you planned to sleep in later, I suppose that could be an annoyance. A number of other reviewers also mentioned the towels - they were linen, not what we were used to, but worked surprisingly well. It would be helpful, however, if adequate towel racks were supplied since the towels aren't changed daily. We did find it difficult to get them thoroughly dried before the next day's use. Carlo was friendly and helpful although his schedule (he also operates a restaurant) could be an issue for some guests if they had not communicated with him as to their arrival time. If I were to return to Sorrento, I would most likely try to stay at this B & B again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZC-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our family of 3 spent 3 very comfortable nights at La Magnolia. Our room was spacious, elegantly furnished, with a great bathroom. Carlo is a friendly and helpful host, good to deal with from booking through to end of stay. He is ably helped by the lovely breakfast hostess who remembered our breakfast preferences each day and makes a luscious hot chocolate. Breakfast on the terrace is a very pleasant start to the day. La Magnolia is very convenient to the train station, shops and restaurants but tucked away in lovely grounds. It made a good base for seeing Pompeii and Herculaneum, unfortunately rainy weather prevented us exploring Sorrento as much as we would have liked.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jac009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Carlo was a superb host. He helped us every step of the way, and even met us at the train station to lead us to the Hotel. It is a lovely little place, tucked away from the nightlife, yet close enough to be within easy walking distance. My husband is blind, and Carlos took special care to insure that he had a great time. We both loved Sorrento and thought it was an ideal base from which to explore Pompeii and Herculaneum, as well as the charm of Sorrento itself. We felt completely safe and satisfied with both the food and drink available in the town. Hope to return.

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground floor have lovely terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdjvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B DolceVita
B&B DolceVita
#52 of 147 in Sorrento
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#16 of 147 in Sorrento
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Room Sorrento
Sea Room Sorrento
#17 of 147 in Sorrento
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green House Sorrento
Green House Sorrento
#25 of 147 in Sorrento
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
#22 of 147 in Sorrento
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Kalea
Maison Kalea
#9 of 147 in Sorrento
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnolia

Address: Viale Enrico Caruso 14, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £43 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Magnolia 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Magnolia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing