We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Modern, Affordable and Friendly Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Modern, Affordable and Friendly Place to Stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our fourth time overnighting in Sorrento, and in the past we've stayed at much more expensive hotels for the views of the ocean. This time we traveled on a modest budget and chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. The positive reviews were accurate.

It's a two-story building with about six rooms that have balconies facing the street below. The second floor they we stayed on was full of light and had a rooftop bar which looked very inviting but was closed for winter we assume.

Our room was very small, but had a comfortable large bed that took up most of it. The mattress and pillows were very firm, which we like. The bathroom was also tiny, but very clean and modern. We had a little flat screen tv that got CNN, and a small refrigerator with beer, water and coke for purchase.

What we enjoyed the most was the small balcony overlooking the street, and the perfect location. The balcony had two chairs and a table, and we really enjoyed watching the people coming to and from main Piazza just a half block away. There is a great Deco grocery store right next door, a wonderful bakery and a liquor store. The train/bus station was a five-minute walk away.

Breakfast was served in a spotless, attractive room that had a variety of the usual Italian pasteries, meats, cheese, yogurt and breads, but it also had a self serve cappachino machine which we really appreciated. We would definitely return to this property.

Room Tip: The first floor of rooms facing away from the street seemed as though they might be a little dark. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheStreetsOfItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    313
    82
    22
    9
See reviews for
164
354
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now, and have loved it on both occasions. It is very centrally located but costs significantly less than other bigger hotels in the same area. The rooms are small but very clean with a great power shower in the ensuite bathroom. The main reason we love this hotel, though, is the friendliness of the reception staff. They are always cheerful and informative and are happy to give good information about local restaurants, trips etc. We will come back to Sorrento in the future and we will definitely stay here when we do.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony overlooking the street at the front of the hotel to get a flavour for S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oliver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great location for the train, marina, shops and restaurants. Clean room. However noise was a problem, we were on the first floor and near the stairwell and we could hear noise from the reception and other rooms very clearly. No hot water facilities in the room and poor wifi signal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eyeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just stayed at this hotel a few days ago as part of our honeymoon trip. The room was very nice overlooking the main road in Sorrento. The staff was helpful and very nice! We would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Sorrento. The location is in a wonderful city center place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed four nights and used it for a base to visit the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Pompeii and on the last day just wandering around browsing at the shops. The staff were really helpful arranging the airport transfers and the Amalfi Trip. Beds comfortable, room clean, breakfast more than satisfactory. We chose the hotel as it was close to both the station and the central area. Even in late October the town was busy but the hotel was a haven of peace.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear will probably be quieter than those at the front but our front room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed here for 7 days returning on 6th nov, this is our 3rd trip to sorrento and it wont be our last, when we do return next time we will definitely be staying at hotel sorrento city!! it has a great location, great rooms with a lovely balcony over looking the the corso italia. the breakfast is lovely and sets you up for the day. the best thing about this hotel is the staff especially teresa, marco and the owner gillian, all of them went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable and pleasant.

its a 2 minute walk from the station and has everyting you need in walking distance

we loved the hotel and would recommend it anyone

Room Tip: hire a scooter and explore sorrento and the amalfi coast its amazing, also if you like steak go to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Clean & comfortable room , with twin beds as requested, overlooking main street. Usual morning noise for an Italian town, but quiet during the night .Helpful & friendly staff. Excellent base for visiting Pompeii, Capri, Amalfi etc etc. Would happily go again. A lot of cake for breakfast! Visited in November, when days are short, but weather pleasant

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing