We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our first stay in Sorrento and the hotel was very well placed. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The room was small but otherwise ok. We came in a car and the staff organized parking. They gave us good advice when we were leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sorrento City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was my second year staying at Hotel Sorrento City! I brought university students last year for one night and it was so great, that I brought this year's team for TWO nights! Already planning to come back next year for 4 or more nights with my husband. The location is so convenient near the Circumvesuviana train station and just a short walk to the touristy shopping district. The rooms are clean and well-appointed with free WiFi and televisions. Breakfast is typical (cereals, breads, spreads, fruit juices) and also includes delicious cakes and treats! (Try the lemon cake!!). Since I only stayed one night last year, I was surprised that the hotel staff seemed to recognize me. They were so friendly and welcoming that it felt like "coming home." Take their recommendations for restaurants... I went back to the places they suggested last year! The only drawback is that not all of the rooms have good views of Corso Italia. But who needs a view when you spend most of your time out and about in beautiful Sorrento!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed our short stay in Sorrento. Our room was small but comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is just a shot walk from the train station and from the center of town. It is located next to a supermarket where we got snacks to enjoy on the roof top deck.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Fireauntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Super close to the train station. The rooms were small but manageable. The bathroom was also small but not the worst. The patio upstairs has no shade but definitely worth a visit. The balcony in the room was small but again, we didn't need too much space. It was great for us.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pickyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my wife just for one night. The location was very closed to railway station, bus stops and historic area. This was very convenient. The receptionists were in general friendly. On the other hand, the room was small and the size of bed was not enough for two of us, although the room was clean. The cost of breakfast was just 4 EUR p.p and it was very reasonable. The price was 150EUR even though I booked this hotel around two months ago.
If your priority is the location, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Hotel Sorrento is located on a relatively quiet street near the center of town. You can walk everywhere. I enjoy walking a city to see everything. The waterfront an the upscale area where you can eat at one of the hotels there. Good shopping as well as many restaurants near the Sorrento Hotel. The staff is very accommodating. I chose a room in the back with a balcony, a good choice. Reasonable rates, pleasent place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Sorrento (April 5th - 12th 2014) and this hotel was absolutely perfect, so central, right in the middle of the town which is so convenient for dinner etc.. we spent our days on various day trips and the hotel is 2 minutes from the train station which was ideal. A supermarket is on one side and a delicious bakery "Bar Rita" on the other- (the suppli is amazing!). The staff were always polite and so helpful. We planned our day trips always just the evening before and reception helped with information each day including printing out boat timetables for our trip to Capri etc..

I was a bit concerned that rooms might be tiny due to previous reviews but they were perfectly fine, the little balcony was lovely to sit out for a quick beer before dinner. The bathroom was perfect, great strong shower which never ran out of hot water and the place is spotless. Daily housekeeping was great and we always came back to a love clean room with crisp sheets. The breakfast was also fine, with lots of biscuits and cakes but also toast, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt and a nice coffee machine.

Happy to recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Caroline & Paul (Dublin)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £52 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing