We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Location is fantastic, short walk to restaurants, train, bus, marina and supermarket next door (the deli there will make you a packed sandwich - first get the rolls and any salad you want then proceed to the deli and they will make them, very cheap very good!). Room tiny, beds tiny - hardly any room to store luggage or walk around. Room not always cleaned with attention to detail. Staff nice but not very open with information - you must ask all the questions. Breakfast included cakes, bread, cheese, tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, juice and fruit (badic/adequate). Didn't use the room very much as we spent our days exploring the amalfi coast so to use it as a base is more than ideal. No frills but did the job.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a great hotel located right in the heart of Sorrento only about 5 minutes from the train station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a balcony over looking the main street which was fantastic to sit out on and have a drink there was a bit of noise at night but if you can put up with that it is definitely worth asking for a room with a balcony. Room was comfortably and very clean breakfast was included but only typical Italian breakfast which was fine. Good wifi in hotel. This hotel was the cheapest hotel we stayed in on our trip to Italy would highly recommend. If you are staying in Sorrento make sure you do a day trip to Positano it is a magic place we got the local bus to the top of the town and walked down then got the boat back to Sorrento fantastic day out

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 7 nights in June 2014. Easy walk from train station, bus from Airport, and other busses. Short bus ride to Marina for trips to Capri, Ischia and other Amalfi Coast destinations.
Hotel staff were most helpful and informative. Room was on front of hotel - plenty of bustle outside to see and hear from the balcony! (Italy had a win on football World Cup one night resulting in vibrant celebrations in the street most of that night!)
Regular trains to Pompei and Herculanum.
Restaurant just around the corner, recommended by staff was excellent in value and quality.
Only downside for us was the lack of a pool.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit of street noise have a room with a balcony on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bears30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights (20 April - 25 April), rooms were small but comfortable and clean. We had a room on first floor overlooking the street, which proved quite noisy. After speaking to reception we were given a different room, towards the back and a level higher which was much better. The hotelmis in a great location between the train station and the town centre with easy walking to many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicki020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, the rooms are small but have balconies and adequate as only really used for sleeping!! The location is fantastic. Near the port for boat trips and train station also around the corner to go to pompei and naples. We travelled to capri, naples, pompei, amalfi coast, positano, ideal for this. The location could not be better, right in the centre with restaurants and bars within minutes walk. The staff are fantastic and always friendly and helpful. The only downside is the breakfast, not much variety which is a shame but there is restaurants nearby that can be used. We had 2 front facing rooms on the second floor and would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again if in sorrento.

Room Tip: you want a front or side facing room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marc h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our first stay in Sorrento and the hotel was very well placed. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The room was small but otherwise ok. We came in a car and the staff organized parking. They gave us good advice when we were leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was my second year staying at Hotel Sorrento City! I brought university students last year for one night and it was so great, that I brought this year's team for TWO nights! Already planning to come back next year for 4 or more nights with my husband. The location is so convenient near the Circumvesuviana train station and just a short walk to the touristy shopping district. The rooms are clean and well-appointed with free WiFi and televisions. Breakfast is typical (cereals, breads, spreads, fruit juices) and also includes delicious cakes and treats! (Try the lemon cake!!). Since I only stayed one night last year, I was surprised that the hotel staff seemed to recognize me. They were so friendly and welcoming that it felt like "coming home." Take their recommendations for restaurants... I went back to the places they suggested last year! The only drawback is that not all of the rooms have good views of Corso Italia. But who needs a view when you spend most of your time out and about in beautiful Sorrento!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £64 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing