We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We have just returned from Sorrento and I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff are great, helpful and friendly. Breakfast gives you a big buffet choice of cake, buns, cereals, toast, juice, coffee, croissants. The location of the hotel could not be any better. Close enough to the city centre and train, bus station. We were lucky enough to get a room which faced the street with a balcony which proved an excellent vantage point for the Easter processions which both go down the street the hotel is situated on. We were able to watch the first parade at 5:00am from our balcony view point. We also watched the second parade the next night at 8:00pm.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sorrento City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Sorrento City during the second week of March 2009. I am 7 months pregnant, so it was important for us to be in an area that was accessible to all the major attractions and somewhere comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel! The manager of this hotel is more than welcoming with great ideas of places to see and how to get there. We showed up last minute and were shown around the hotel and put in a cozy room with a view of the strip. I was craving a hot chocolate one night, and Roberta was right there to make me a cup! She went WAY above and beyond our expecations. The hotel is right in the middle of all the restaurants, shops, 2 blocks from the train station and bus station, and right up the hill from the Capri ferry. We loved it and are looking forward to returning during peak season. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanglerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

My wife and I got off the train from Pompeii and walked a few blocks to the Sorrento City hotel to check on availability and rates. The staff was very helpful and let us look at a room first, then surprised us with a rate lower than expected. Next door was a great supermarket for picnic supplies, and the bus stop was close enough to make easy trips to Positano and beyond. We stayed 2 nights and overall it exceeded our expectations, and the town was within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's a small and clean hotel with wonderful location and good price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missfish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This hotel is right in the center of everything, and couldn't be more convenient to attractions like Pompeii, Capri, and the Amalfi Coast. It's modern, charming and clean; and has everything you could possibly need, with an ample continental breakfast and Internet.

But its biggest selling point is the staff. No request or concern was too big or small for owner Roberta. Thanks also to staffers Marco and Dorotha.

They helped make our stay a very pleasant and memorable one.

Thanks again!

Laura, Mitch, Toni and Glen
Lancaster, PA
USA

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkipperLancaster_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

This little hotel is on the main street and just down from the main square. Restaurants are close by and a supermarket is next door. Not far from the train. Staff here are extremely helpful - they made our stay so easy. Nothing was too much trouble at all. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

2 mins walk from the bus and rail station. Situated on the main street but good double glazing cuts out the traffic noise.
Great coffees and hot chocolates available at breakfast. Unfortunately no coffee making facilities in rooms.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable with a small balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SorrentoBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £52 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing