We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Regina Giovanna
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed in the main hotel building in August 2011. Room we had was lovely, large, clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view. Setting of the hotel amid Olive and Lemon groves was spectacular. The place is really relaxing and the small shingle beach is a beautiful spot.

But...we arrived in a taxi only to be told that the hotel didn't do lunch and dinner and had no hotel bar. When we asked how to get into town we were told to 'walk up the hill to the shop and ask for the bus times'. There was no mention or sighting of any shuttle bus either. This meant a 15 minute uphill walk to get the bus or any food during the day, longer if you are going from the beach. At night the walk from the bus stop down to the hotel was pretty scary down a quiet barely lit lane.

There was lots of signs around the hotel of things being not quite finished. In particular to get to the beach you have to walk through a not-even half built beach house. Suffice to say there was no facilities at the beach other than a few chairs, loungers and towels.
The hotel building itself was complete and beautiful though.

Do not stay here if you don't have a car or if you are traveling with young children or if you have any elderly or infirm people in your party!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sc0tt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Relais Regina Giovanna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

For some this could be a great experience, just need to be aware of what you're getting into first. We were in a guest house that was about a 5-10 minute walk from the main house. Our space was huge with two bathrooms, sitting area and kitchen--which we did not need. Also no sea view. Unless you need the space stay at the rooms in the guest house. Walk from reception to our house at night was verging on scary due to adequate lack of lighting along the way (and many bats). There are shuttles running at 9,11,1 and 3 from main house to downtown Sorrento so you must plan accordingly. If you want to take the bus into town you must walk up the steep hill to the main road and down a bit along a stretch of highway with no sidewalk. The bus ride from the store is only about 5 minutes into town. If you want to catch a cab back to the hotel it will run you about 20-30 Euro. Beach is stoney. Apparently there is a sister hotel whose beach you can use, although the staff did not mention this to us, heard from other guests. Breakfast was typical of our stay in Italy. Although this place is cheap I would not recommend unless you have a car of your own or are planning to just stay on the grounds for most of your visit. Taking day trips out of town took much planning and correct timing. Next time we'd stay at some place closer to town to meet more of our needs and vacation style.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MidwestGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Great location if somebody wants to enjoy the beach. Very quite nice surrounding, bit further from the city center but easy to manage to get in. Buses are relatively punctual and running until midnight. The rooms are spacious and have a nice atmosphere.
Unfortunately the internet connection is very limited like wifi works only 2 meters around there internet station. Breakfast was ok we missed some vegetables.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Overall I suggest the place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The location is stunning and we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room and emaculate grounds and surroundings. We may have been lucky with room 10 which was clean, spacious, tastefully decorated with a view over the lemon groves on one side and sea view through balcony windows (which could be shuttered for total black-out). A little annoying that there were no English speaking or subtitled channels on the TV (apart from a couple of news channels), when its quite nice to have an option to relax and catch a film

The comments about the distance from Sorrento and lack of shuttle are correct but once we worked out that the bus picks up from practically outside the gates and runs every 20 mins until 11:30 pm, we bought some tickets from the local shop and never looked back (be even better if these could be sold from reception).

Good so far, however the location combined with the total lack of services was a problem if you want to spend any time at the hotel. Apart from breakfast (which was fine) there is no food or bar service. The local shop is a strenuous 5-10 mins uphill from the main building to the gates (further if you are in the other building) then 500 metres along the road. If you are at the beach then you can add another 15 mins, all up-hill in 30 degree temperatures - not fun or relaxing! We had a car the whole time but using the car for such a short fiddly journey was actually more hassle. The mini-bar in the room was perhaps an opportunity to compensate for this situation but I'm afraid the prices were unreasonably high (8 Euro for a beer, 6 Euro for a small bottle of pop).

The beach is beautiful with loungers available if you get there early. However the building work remains incomplete and so there is no shower, toilet, food or drinks available and its a long trip to reach any of these things.

Maybe the size of the hotel means the provision of these services cannot be justified but this is of no comfort to the guest. What you're left with is very nice 'apartments' but with no catering and my suggestion to the owners would be to accept this an install some level of kitcheen facility in the rooms - fridge, micowave, kettle, etc.

This place could be amazing with a few tweaks, but without its simply 'OK'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloGeoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My wife and I arrived in Sorrento later than expected due to traffic in the area after our drive from Tuscany. We were greeted by staff who rushed us to our room during check in, explained that their restaurant was "closed for the night" and then took us to our room which was in the far building, about 1/4 mile from the main one.

You better have a car if you stay here, especially if you are in the far building and since the hotel itself, as others have said, is far down off the main road. We later learned, after asking, that the AC only works if you shut all your windows and that they in fact no longer have a restaurant at the hotel. Again, the staff who we talked to did not seem overly anxious to help us out.

The room itself was good, and the bed was very comfortable. The area was very peaceful and scenic set among the lemon and olive trees. We were able to relax in the evening as the sunset while we enjoyed a bottle of wine. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the spot.

Overall, we would not recommend staying here unless you have a car for your entire stay (we dropped ours off the day before we left). The shuttle service which has also already been discussed, does NOT work as the hotel keeps stating. We were told that the shuttle will not go unless there are reservations for it the night before, that they really only take people in at 9 and 11, and bring people back at 1 and 3. Again, the staff seems indifferent and slightly put off when helping their guests. However, if you don't need their assistance and have a car, then you should be fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Even before we entered the room we understood we've made a mistake.
No cell phone signal in the rooms and around them ... combine it with the fact that there's no option to get internet connection in the rooms (Despite what they advertise on their site and on other traveling agencies!) - and you got yourself a Bad start ...

When we entered the room we were disappointed to see dust and hair on the floor among with some spiderwebs around the corners. It didn't get better the next days..

Breakfast - very poor and boring and for some reason they don't really want you to have forks ... Even the cafe is bad.

Location - if you don't have a car while staying there, do not book this hotel. Not only that the hotel is not a walking distance from the city, the rooms are at least 500 meters downhill the hotel gate.

The hotel declares they have shuttle service to the city - well... not really.
only 1 shuttle a day, not even to the center of Sorrento, coming back at 15:00...
The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable - but that's it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Public Relations Manager at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Unfortunately the area where the Relais Regina Giovanna is located has a very weak signal for cell phones; it does not state on our website that we have internet connection in the rooms; our website only states there is an internet point in the hotel lounge where guest can use our laptop to connect to internet free of charge.

The Relais Regina Giovanna has two buildings at about 150mt. and 250mt. from the hotel entrance.

This is the first complaint we received about the cleanliness of the rooms, obviously we will look into the matter.

The continental buffet breakfast is composed of a large variety of croissants, cake, cereals, yogurts, cooked meats, cheese, fruit juices, tinned fruit, tea, coffee, chocolate etc. so it is by no means poor.

The hotel shuttle runs four times a day at 09.00, 11.00, 12.45 and 14.45 from the hotel to the centre of town and four times a day at 09.15, 11.15, 13.00 and 15,00 from Sorrento centre to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We're getting married in Sorrento in 2011 and stayed here for a night as part of our wedding prep to see if it was suitable for our guests. In terms of value for money the Relais is excellent value, almost too good to be true. The issue is the location. We got a taxi here from another place in town we were checking out, but the driver dropped us at the main road. It's then a long walk down an unmade track to the hotel, with luggage a real pain. Coming back after a night in Sorrento and the taxi did drive all the way down so make sure you ask. They advertise a courtesy bus service but it runs only twice a day and not in the evenings....so....if you don't have a car and want to eat out in the evening it's a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus stop and then wait for the bus to turn up..or pay €20 to €30 for a taxi 1 way. It's a fair way if you want to walk, can be done but there are no pavements for part of the road and traffic is busy.
Our room was at the top, there's no lifts so be prepared to walk with your luggage a few flights, reception didn't offer to help carry the suitcases. The room was really a suite, beautifully finished and lots of space but very dark due to the tiny windows which you couldn't even look out of, a real shame because the views are superb. We had maintenance guys turn up twice while we were there (just 1 night) to fix things. Seems that both the aircon and tv had been malfunctioning.
We had a chance to wander the grounds and walked down to the beach area but this was not as great as I'd imagined, lots of litter and debris; it's quite a wild spot though and could be great if they get it right.
Breakfast in the restaurant was a decent spread.
Checking out, the courtesy bus times did not fit our schedule so we asked if they could drop us to the top of the lane; was hoping they might take us in to Sorrento, but they went as far as the bus stop. Fair enough I suppose but there are many upmarket B&B and smaller hotels in the area which are family run and they will take you in and out of Sorrento whenever you ask.
If you're happy chilling out at the hotel and not sightseeing, or if you have a car, then this is a great place; otherwise it's just too inconvenient to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robocob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Dear Guest,

We refer to your remarks on Trip Advisor but unfortunately there is no solution to most of your comments.

The Relais Regina Giovanna is located only 3 Km. from the town centre but there is a bus stop near the hotel (only five minutes walk) and there are local buses (Line A) to the town centre every 20 minutes, even late at night.

Our taxi drivers know that they have to drop our guests outside the hotel reception, therefore we do not feel responsible if we do not call the taxi.

The hotel does not have a lift but the staff has always offered to help the guests with luggage.

The beach will official open at the beginning of June and by that time everything will be ready; if the guest wishes to have a walk down, we always point out that the beach will not be ready before the end of May.

We however wish to thank you for the preference given to Relais Regina Giovanna and hopefully you will return to Relais Regina Giovanna with your car.

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Regina Giovanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Regina Giovanna

Address: Via Calata Puolo 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £104 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Regina Giovanna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 6 minutes walk from the beach. Offering a restaurant and a private beach area, Relais Regina Giovanna is located in Sorrento. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV, air conditioning and a minibar. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and a bidet. Extras include a desk and a safety deposit box. At Relais Regina Giovanna you will find a 24-hour front desk and a garden. Other facilities offered at the property include luggage storage. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Regina Giovanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Regina Giovanna Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing