We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're reading this review now, believe us when we say, "You'll be staying in the BEST B&B in Italy."”
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #3 of 142 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

NOTE: Do book your stay in Sorrento, Italy with Villa Monica (Pasquale), right away. Do not hesitate, or you'll regret it! It's been 2 months (we stayed in March 2012), but we had to ensure that we write the best possible review for Villa Monica, because this place is truly awesome and it deserves the best reviews!

Deciding to stay with Villa Monica during our (very short) stay in Sorrento for our Italian Honeymoon was the best decision we made. Pasquale greeted us cheerily as he picked us up, and showed us how the best Italian driver, drives. We were impressed - he has mad skills! He drove us up along a windy road to Villa Monica that is perched up on a hill overlooking the most breathtaking view of the coast and beyond. The room was romantically decorated and two steps from the bed is the balcony overlooking the same spectacular view. The bed was covered with warm, thick and comfortable sheets, lined with fluffy pillows. Looking back, we stayed in 5 other B&Bs during our Italian honeymoon - we concluded that we slept BEST and that we were most relaxed in Villa Monica.

Pasquale will give you all the information that you ask for and give you suggestions that works the best for your needs. He recommends the best places to eat too, delicious and authentic Italian at its finest. Patisserie Monica serves amazing, finger licking good pastries (I loved their chocolate and custard filled ones). His shuttle services between Villa Monica and Sorrento town was convenient, which allowed us to plan and change our itineraries easily around it. Pasquale is your one and only Go-To guy, what he says, goes. Apart from his knowledge and recommendations on itineraries, places to visit and restaurants to try out, he shares with us the most fascinating real life events and personal experiences, coupled with witty humour, like we were long time friends. He is friendly and made us feel at ease, importantly we felt that he really cared for us and was honest with his opinions and suggestions, which we deeply appreciated. We love how he'd always ask us at the end of each day we stayed with him, "Are you happy?", we'd both chime in "Yes!"

How could we forget - Freshly made croissants every morning fills the air, delicious cappucinos, a wide breakfast spread and Pasquale's company during our daily breakfast meals were the best times as well! During summer, we imagine having freshly baked croissants al fresco overlooking the gorgeous view of the coast in Villa Monica, as one of the finer things in life - all this, at affordable and reasonable rates.

We were so glad we chose Villa Monica (the previous reviews had us tempted from the start of our planning stage) and we can't wait to go back. Pasquale and his family are beautiful, friendly and easy to get along with, you'd feel at home almost immediately. It's the best home stay, away from home!

Aileen & Shann, March 2012~

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AileenSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Villa Monica B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the the Villa Monica for two nights. All of the reviews I read here were dead on. The view was amazing. Sitting on the balcony at night looking out at Vesuvius in the distance was priceless. Pasquale, the owner, was great. His recommendation for restaurants netted us our best meal of the entire trip (Vino and Vero). Though it is up the hill from town, his regular shuttle service made it easy to manage. When we had to go to another location for the next two days (due to the Villa Monica being booked), he took us right to the door. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thero_Kenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A bit late with this review as we traveled last fall. After a miscommunication about pick-up time, we arrived at this lovely villa with views, views and more views. Everything was spotless and the personalized attention helpful. Only a few downsides: our room door jostled everytime any other door in the villa opened/closed and pipes clanged after showers or flushes. These were really minor issues and wouldn't keep me from staying again. I should also mention the biggest help was when our luggage was 3 days late and we were due to transfer to another b&b in town. Our gracious host stayed in contact with the airline and our next inn keeper to make sure the luggage transfered safely. This was invaluable in a country where we did not have a phone or speak the language! Thank you, thank you Villa Monica for a lovely introduction to Italy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a place not only with beautiful views of the countryside, but also with great location to tour other surrounding areas. The host is fantastic and the owner Pasquale is very helpful and hospitable.
We will recommend this B & B to everyone visiting Italy, Sorrento!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Villa Monica is a beautiful place in Sorrento - it is better to say, above Sorrento. The Villa is placed near the top of a hill above town, and the view is litterally breathtaking. Moreover, the place itself is surely above the upper average B & B - Villa Monica is a place pour les connaisseurs! Why am I saying this? Because it is a built-by-the-book italian house, a real villa, which you will very much enjoy if you decide to stay there. The rooms are relatively small, but you won't feel that at all, since they are beautiful and very inspired decorated. Also, the quite tiny bathroom - if you have over 100 kg, think again - is so beautiful, it is a small juwel. Every room has view on Sorrento, the sea and the surrounding mountains, and it's own terrace, which is quite big.
At the lower floor there is a big living room and attached to it a beautiful kitchen, very much local like, modern and traditional at the same time. You have a laptop with acces to the internet in the living room and confortable sofas. (When you are very sensible, like me, you might here some very moderate noises at 7.30 in the morning from the kitchen where breakfast is prepared, but this doesn't matter after some 8 hours perfect sleep, and besides, you are there to walk around, not to sleep all day).
The breakfast is richer than we expected after some Toscana gem-and-coffee experience. You can really eat nice and enjoy a good cappucino.
Pasquale, the hotel owner, is a friendly guy, he drives you down to and from town at fixed hours, quite often. He is intelligent and can give you a lot of tips about the surrounding, has a refreshing sense of humour (spiced up with some witty irony). We enjoyed staying there and would have stayed more if the room were free for more nights. Of course, all this has a cost, which is not low - at least not for an east-european budget! - but you won't regret any cent of the 10 - 20 euros per night which you spend more. Sorrento itself is very nice and worth a day of walking around, but from there you can go to Amalfi, Positano, Pompei, even Neapoli, and to Capri, which is very close.
To conclude, I definitely recommend this place if you are interested in some romantic or quiet but very interesting tourism - but if you want to party, go somewhere else - it's better for the tipical guest of this place.

Room Tip: All rooms have terrace with perfect view. I don't know if there are many differences amongst the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent our honeymoon in Villa Monica and we found it absolutely spot on. We are not the big sunbathing types so the location of the villa was fantastic on the hillside. It has been mentioned many times before that Pasquale is great for the recommendations and shuttle service and we concur. Pasquale’s recommendations are good authentic Italian places to go and eat which is right up our street. Vino Vero restaurant was a highlight. The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable and nothing was ever a problem. Waking up every morning to the stunning views is truly memorable and we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Napoli room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in April, and found the property to be exactly as reviewed. Whilst the access road is a bit of a goat track, the property is really nice with a great view. Our room had a separate (private) bathroom, which was fine. The breakfast is fairly simple, but fresh. The host, Pasquale, is fantastic. He provides a personalised shuttle service to and from the town, and excellent advice on restaurants, tours, connections etc. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.3 mi away
Surriento Suites - Bed&Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £79 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a family charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service all day. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing