We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #3 of 145 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I would agree with the other reviews. We rang Pasquele from the station when we arrived and he was there within minutes. I would say this accommodation suits travellers who will be staying for three days or more. If you intend to stay for one night well then being away from the heart of Sorrento might make it difficult. Pasquele was very accommodating with driving us in and out of town. The day we went to Pompei he made sure we arrived at the station for the early train and again when leaving he dropped us directly at the station. All that has been said before is right, the breakfast, the views, having access to the kitchen and a refrigerator was great. He even taught my husband how to use the coffee machine. Pasquele lives in a house nearby so the house is virtually yours'. You can actually walk to Positano from Villa Monica or maybe catch the ferry there and walk back. Make sure you ask him about this option. The buzz of Sorrento is great but it is also nice to sit on the terrace at night with a nice glass of vino and view the lights of Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MelbourneCazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2008

This B&B was amazing. Lovely clean, spacious, comfortable rooms with fresh fruit and balcony’s with great views. We had booked for two nights and ended up staying for five! This meant we had to change rooms a couple of times as we were making it up as we went along but each room was equally beautiful and changing was no problem. Pasquale, the owner, was brilliant too, very friendly and hospitable.
The B&B is out of the town but this should not put anyone off. Pasquale took us in and out of town each day which meant we never had to trouble ourselves with getting expensive taxis and the distance also meant we had amazing views and plenty of peace and quiet in the evening. We hired bikes for a couple of days and the situation of this B&B meant we could get over to Positano and other smaller resorts easily. Finally the B&B also has a kitchen so we were able to prepare a couple of simple meals which was a bonus. Definitely highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PopsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Villa Monica is a beautiful B&B in the hills above Sorrento. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have a balcony with a glorious view of the city and across to Vesuvius and Naples. Our room had a bathroom next door with a great jauzzi tub.

The breakfast was delicious, croissants, fresh fruit and choice of coffee, tea, juice, etc. There is a lounge with TV and the free internet is a welcome bonus. We were able to borrow dishes and cutlery. from the kitchen. The view was so nice that we brought back take-out food and ate on our balcony watching the sunset over Sorrento.

As most reviewers have mentioned, Pasquale is a wonderful host, very funny and always going a mile a minute. He was a great source of local colour and information. He's also a great driver!

Villa Monica is not located in the centre of Sorrento, hence the great view. Pasquale has a timetable for drop-off and pick up from the centre, and is flexible with off-schedule times if you give him notice.

We had a wonderful stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Princeoftides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We had a glorious 3 night stay in September 2006. We only wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived in good time in the afternoon and had the pick of the rooms- we chose the one nearest to the bathroom with the wonderful balcony and views of the bay of Sorrento. Quite simply the most stunning view I have ever seen. Pasquale and family were utterly charming and hospitable, and I believe that his pick-up and drop- off service is a great benefit of this B&B, because it is free of charge and most hotels let alone B&Bs will not offer this. We did have a rental car with us but for going out in the evening etc. it was lovely to have a lift available for free. Plus the road up there is a bit hairy and the route is confusing if you don't know where you're going! However, this isn't a problem either, because when we first arrived we got lost in the centre of Sorrento trying to find the way out to the Villa. We telephoned Pasquale and he was there in under 5 minutes to advise us and we followed him up the road. Perfect service, the room was laid out and decorated wonderfully, the bathroom was great, gleaming tiles and large jacuzzi bath, there were mosquito nets too which was great for peace of mind, and because of the location it was blissfully quiet, well away from the sound of scooters and milling tourists down in the town. Everyone should have a chance to stay here, it is a true gem, it may sound like I am exaggerating but even these words are not enough to express the happiness my partner and I felt staying here, and the real sadness when it came time to leave. Supping white wine on the balcony at Villa Monica and watching fireworks over the bay of Sorrento with Vesuvius in the distance is one of my happiest holiday memories.

In response to the few negative points others have raised:
we very much enjoyed the breakfast, with cereal, fresh orange juice and lovely pastries. We also ran out of toilet paper, but my partner asked Pasquale and he immediately replenished the supply. In fact he was as helpful as anyone could possibly be with all of our needs and enquiries.

Thank you for our wonderful stay and we hope that many more visitors are lucky enough to stay at this beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxmaid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This was the second stop on our honeymoon, and it was perfect! The owner had corresponded with me before we left New York and gave me great tips on how to get down there, and when we arrived he picked us up! We felt right at home! Villa Monica is above the town of Sorrento so every morning while we ate delicious croissants and drank wonderful coffee, we looked out over the mountains and water and the town nestled right in the middle. All of the other guests had the same experience we did, and our last night we sat in the beautiful kitchen and talked about how great it was! We are trying to figure out how soon we can get back! Thank You Villa Monica!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nellie1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We had a very pretty room with a wonderful view at this B&B and would recommend this place for those who don't mind being out of the city center. Pasquale was always helpful and personable. He is very accomodating with picking people up and dropping them off at places but this arrangement might not work for everyone. It does take away from your time downtown. That said it is a very nice place and is a wonderful deal! The breakfast was great and I think that Pasquale and his staff goes above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay special.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tmp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

This is an excellent choice of B&B for discovering this region. There is not much to say apart from that we had a fantastic time in a lovely B&B with Pascale as very nice host offering a fantastic service. All rooms have a fantastic view which you can enjoy day and night.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sportsmedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surriento Suites - Bed&Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Carolina Country House
1 mi away
Maison Kalea
Maison Kalea
#9 of 145 in Sorrento
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Magi House Relais
Magi House Relais
#4 of 145 in Sorrento
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a family charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service all day. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing