We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O Mio Dio!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #2 of 126 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“O Mio Dio!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a wonderful spot this is! We loved it so much, we just had to come back. I won't repeat what so many others have already said so well. Instead I will try to offer helpful advice that others have not mentioned or emphasized...though the best advice I can give is to stay at Villa Monica, and for as long as you can.

Last year we stayed in the Sorrento Room, this time the Napoli. We have seen all of the choices, and they each should provide a wonderful stay, including the new 5th room, which will have its own jacuzzi. Overall, we preferred the Napoli, which provides views to the bay directly from the bed, but that's a personal choice.

During your time in Sorrento, you will be surrounded by lemon trees. Pasquale now makes his own limoncello from the lemons, and offers it free to his guests. He also offers wine, all set out for your enjoyment in the common room, which can all make for an enjoyable ending to a delightful but perhaps tiring day.

The pastries at breakfast are scrumptious. Nobody on this first page of reviews has mentioned that they come from the Pasticceria Monica, which is the meeting point for Pasquale's chauffeur service. Yes, I did buy more than a couple of their cannoli during the week. Somewhat related to that, Sonya, his assistant, will help make those breakfasts even better with her excellent service and wonderfully creamy cappucini.

Pasquale is one of the most affable and personable hosts you will ever encounter. He is also one of the most talented. He writes, composes, sings, and plays the piano. If you are fortunate enough and the timing is right, you will be serenaded, and it will be memorable.

My final comment is for me the most important...and I am guessing it will be the same for him. During this second stay, we were privileged to get a wider view of Pasquale and his family, rather than Pasquale the B&B owner. The interaction between him, his wife Monica, and their two children is a joy to watch. They are very fortunate...We are very fortunate...Hopefully enough to return for a third time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    45
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
565
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a paradise vacation in Sorrento. My grandparents originally came from Sorrento and growing up I remember my nona singing Italian songs one of which was "Come back to Sorrento". After she passed away I promised myself that one day I would visit Sorrento. I booked our stay at Villa Monica for several reasons. It is conveniently located so that day trips are easy, it is close to the city center and all the fabulous restaurants and of course all the wonderful things that were said about Pasquale the owner in each and every review. Our arrival started with Pasquale picking us up after a grueling day of travel. We each got 2 kisses on our cheeks and a genuine welcome. I knew that everything they said about how nice Pasqaule was, was true. In 10 minutes we were brought to our beautiful room with a jaw dropping view. Everything that followed just got better. From a bountiful breakfast in the morning, to immaculately clean room and bathroom, to every amenity you could possibly ask for. Think slippers and bathrobes. The best amenity though was Pasquale himself. You could not ask for more in a host. He was always available for questions, suggestions and many, many drives into town. He is funny and charming with a sharp Italian wit. He is a perfectionist who strives for better. Pasquale, wife Monica and Sonya who served breakfast and did house keeping were all like family by the time we left. They are all genuinely warm and giving people who only compliment the beautiful views, sunsets, vistas, food, wine and of course limoncello.

After staying in Villa Monica for seven nights I now know why my grandmother sang "Come back to Sorrento" I wish I could go back right now.

John and Yoko

Room Tip: Any room in the back has views of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

First let me say that if you want a convenient and beautiful area to stay in while you visit the Amalfi Coast then you must choose Sorrento. Located on the Mediterranian Sea, it's very accessable to all areas of the coast and is a warm, inviting city. Having said that, the hidden gem in the area is a bed and breakfast named for it's charming hostess...Villa Monica. This lovely place has all the charm that Italy is known for plus owners who cannot do enough for their guests. Monica's husband Pascal is a virtual free taxi service for the people that stay there and he does it with a smile. The food is a feast and she even offers dinner for those weary travelers who just want to relax after their busy day. It'clean, spacious and has a view to die for. Five stars for Villa Monica.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimK604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in villa Monica and left yesterday. It was a great experience.
The views from the room to the mountains and the bay were amazing. The room was clean and pleasant. Nice shower which included bidet. We had a spacious room with a balcony to a view we will never forget.
Beside the great shuttle service to town we met a warm, funny, and a great host. No other than Pasquale!!! It is such a change to move from hotel service to a personal and warm hospitality.
Pasquale is a young, energetic, funny who works hard to makes his guests happy.
We had a great time , and would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle service to town rather than use your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TALI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Monica. Having not been to the Amalfi Coast before, we wanted to stay somewhere special, and this was the perfect place. The views from our room were stunning. We thought at one point that we might stay in the town of Sorrento, but we were so glad that we chose to stay in the hills because of the views, the ease of getting everywhere we needed to (thanks to Pasquale), and because we liked being a little removed from the hustle and bustle of the town. Also, our bed was very comfortable and the breakfast provided each morning is delicious. You can't beat sitting on the terrace, eating a pastry, and looking out at the water and Mount Vesuvius.

As others have mentioned, Pasquale is incredibly accommodating. He is kind, funny, and generous. Though his "shuttle service" has set times, he drove us and picked us up from places outside of those times. His knowledge of the area is invaluable, and he was able to help us figure out the best boat to take to Capri, the best time to go to Positano, where to get buses from, etc. Overall, a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Isernia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable B&B, there is a beautiful view of Sorrento, every morning the breakfast under the sun watching the sea and the city is good to start the day with smile also tanks to Pasquale and his family which are very very good persons. The shuttle service offered by Pasquale gives you the opportunity to move from the B&B to the city simply. I recommend it to you if you are not looking for an hotel experience but for a real Italian house and family. I can tell you that because I'm Italian.Sorry for some mistakes :)
P.S: Pasquale advice's about the city or about where eat or what see are the best!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ludovinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Pasquale and Monica are such amazing and hospitable hosts. They really do take care of you and it's like staying with extended family. The views are breathtaking. A week was simply not enough and we were really sad to leave. However, we will be back as soon as we are able to. We love Sorrento and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when we're there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eniale168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Property: Villa Monica B&B
Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing