We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up for Villa Monica, Pasquale and Limocello!!”
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #3 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Two thumbs up for Villa Monica, Pasquale and Limocello!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sorrento was our 2nd stop in Italy during our 2 weeks honeymoon. From the meeting and greeting, the drive up, free upgrade of the room, DELICIOUS Limoncello upon arrival to a daily tasty bfast, transportation, beautiful views - everything was perfect! Pasquale is a great host, and we had lots of fun with him. He even shared his wife's special Limocello recipe which we ll try to make here in NYC. Stay here and you wont regret it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    47
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
577
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a week at Villa Monica. We had read all the reviews praising Pasquale's extraordinary hospitality--and they were all true. Pasquale is the most congenial host you'll ever meet--he's warm and helpful and will make you laugh with his stories and observations. Our first night we enjoyed a generous and delicious dinner cooked by Monica (Pasquale's wife and namesake of Villa Monica), with a large assortment of antipasti, pasta, gelato for dessert, and a bottle of wine and limoncello. We had a fun evening dining and talking with the other couples staying there--Pasquale creates an atmosphere of friendship and comradery among his guests.

The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable, with fantastic views of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples from the terrace. Sonya made fresh cappuccino and fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning to accompany the assortment of pastries, cheese, yogurt, cereal, and fruit offered for breakfast (she also cleans all the rooms, so don't forget to leave her a tip!). Ask Pasquale for restaurant and tour recommendations--he knows his stuff! Pasquale really made our trip enjoyable and memorable--we can't recommend Villa Monica highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view--rooms on the bay all offer spectacular views of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dream_genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our 3 night stay at Villa Monica was fantastic! The view from our room & from the outdoor patio on back of villa was awesome - great place to enjoy breakfast with yummy pastries! And Pasquale was so much fun - he was the perfect host, entertainer, and chauffeur. He made us feel at home at Villa Monica - he even picked us up at the grocery store in town after a long day of touring the Amalfi Coast and let us relax in the kitchen & dining room to feast on our antipasti dishes & wine! The rides back & forth to town were always an adventure with Pasquale! It was a very enjoyable trip and we highly recommend Villa Monica!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Staying at villa Monica was the highlight of our trip around Italy. From the moment we booked our room, Pasquale was incredibly helpful in helping us make the most of our 4 night stay at the guest house, even making a reservation for me at a top local restaurant for my boyfriend's birthday.

Upon arrival, Pasquale was helpful and informative of where to go, what to see, how to get to the best spots etc, and had a lot of information on local tours that he recommended. Our room, the Sorrento room, was large, had a breathtaking view, a great balcony and was clean and even had very reliable wifi. (Something that was not common on the rest of our hotel stays!)

The breakfast was very good, the freshly squeezed orange juice and cappuccinos were perfect and the setting outside in the garden to eat breakfast in was a great start to our days in sorrento. Monica's evening meal is also fantastic and amazing value, 17euros for 3 courses, wine and water, with fresh home cooked Italian food using ingredients from their garden. Foodie bliss! Oh, and the free wine in the communal area was also a lovely touch!

Pasquale also runs a frequent (free!) shuttle from villa Monica to the centre of Sorrento, up to 11:30pm at night, which is a very short transfer and makes it very easy to get in and out of Sorrento. Staying in the hills is perfect as the view is stunning and it is very relaxing to get out of the touristy centre.

Most of all, however, was the treatment that Pasquale and his wife gave us when my boyfriend broke his foot in town. They made sure that we knew they were available if we needed to go to the hospital again (even in the middle of the night) and when we had to get a boat to our next destination the next morning, Pasquale was a life saver dropping us off right by the ferry and even contacting us to make sure we arrived ok and safely with the injured foot!

Pasquale and his wife run an excellent guest house, in a beautiful setting which we could find no fault with. We felt very looked after and in the best spot in Sorrento and because of that, I will recommend villa Monica to anyone who is planning a trip to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Chose the Sorrento room for a great size room, comfy bed and great view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestLondonNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was our 4th visit to Villa Monica and we loved it as much as our first. We took my Mum on this trip and she fell in love with Villa Monica, and a little bit with Pasquale...more or less ;)
Everything we have said previously still stands and it was just as perfect. It was lovely to see more of Monica as she is helping Pasquale. Monica is now offering beautiful food, several courses for 19 euro per person, this is a great addition. Especially when you have had a long day and not in the mood for dressing up and going into the centre. Well done to our wonderful Italian friends for another fantastic holiday and we will be bringing Sheila again next year.

Room Tip: There is an additional room which does not have the view and is being offered at a budget price. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a wonderful spot this is! We loved it so much, we just had to come back. I won't repeat what so many others have already said so well. Instead I will try to offer helpful advice that others have not mentioned or emphasized...though the best advice I can give is to stay at Villa Monica, and for as long as you can.

Last year we stayed in the Sorrento Room, this time the Napoli. We have seen all of the choices, and they each should provide a wonderful stay, including the new 5th room, which will have its own jacuzzi. Overall, we preferred the Napoli, which provides views to the bay directly from the bed, but that's a personal choice.

During your time in Sorrento, you will be surrounded by lemon trees. Pasquale now makes his own limoncello from the lemons, and offers it free to his guests. He also offers wine, all set out for your enjoyment in the common room, which can all make for an enjoyable ending to a delightful but perhaps tiring day.

The pastries at breakfast are scrumptious. Nobody on this first page of reviews has mentioned that they come from the Pasticceria Monica, which is the meeting point for Pasquale's chauffeur service. Yes, I did buy more than a couple of their cannoli during the week. Somewhat related to that, Sonya, his assistant, will help make those breakfasts even better with her excellent service and wonderfully creamy cappucini.

Pasquale is one of the most affable and personable hosts you will ever encounter. He is also one of the most talented. He writes, composes, sings, and plays the piano. If you are fortunate enough and the timing is right, you will be serenaded, and it will be memorable.

My final comment is for me the most important...and I am guessing it will be the same for him. During this second stay, we were privileged to get a wider view of Pasquale and his family, rather than Pasquale the B&B owner. The interaction between him, his wife Monica, and their two children is a joy to watch. They are very fortunate...We are very fortunate...Hopefully enough to return for a third time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a paradise vacation in Sorrento. My grandparents originally came from Sorrento and growing up I remember my nona singing Italian songs one of which was "Come back to Sorrento". After she passed away I promised myself that one day I would visit Sorrento. I booked our stay at Villa Monica for several reasons. It is conveniently located so that day trips are easy, it is close to the city center and all the fabulous restaurants and of course all the wonderful things that were said about Pasquale the owner in each and every review. Our arrival started with Pasquale picking us up after a grueling day of travel. We each got 2 kisses on our cheeks and a genuine welcome. I knew that everything they said about how nice Pasqaule was, was true. In 10 minutes we were brought to our beautiful room with a jaw dropping view. Everything that followed just got better. From a bountiful breakfast in the morning, to immaculately clean room and bathroom, to every amenity you could possibly ask for. Think slippers and bathrobes. The best amenity though was Pasquale himself. You could not ask for more in a host. He was always available for questions, suggestions and many, many drives into town. He is funny and charming with a sharp Italian wit. He is a perfectionist who strives for better. Pasquale, wife Monica and Sonya who served breakfast and did house keeping were all like family by the time we left. They are all genuinely warm and giving people who only compliment the beautiful views, sunsets, vistas, food, wine and of course limoncello.

After staying in Villa Monica for seven nights I now know why my grandmother sang "Come back to Sorrento" I wish I could go back right now.

John and Yoko

Room Tip: Any room in the back has views of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
540 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
998 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Property: Villa Monica B&B
Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service all day. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing