We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and clean, tidy accomodations”
Review of Villa Monica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Monica B&B
Ranked #3 of 129 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln NE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views and clean, tidy accomodations”
Reviewed 8 November 2009

For travelers on the cheap, Villa Monica and host Pasquale offer a great way to enjoy a hilly region without blowing our knees or our budget. This clean place, tucked into the winding hills above Sorrento, was a great haven for us with views that made us feel like rich people! Pasquale's rides into and out of town, along with his good humor and willingness to do a little laundry, made this a memorable stay indeed. Great meals with the tolerant locals at nearby Vino Vera also were a highlight.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    45
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
569
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Search no more, everything people say about the place and the owner is true. Don't waste any more time, Villa Monica is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RioGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We spent a month traveling through Italy. I loved Villa Monica as one of our stops, but as wonderful as it was, you have to take into consideration that it a simple B&B. In its simplicity, lays its beauty. The rooms are very clean and extremely comfortable. Pasquale the owner is eager to please, and make sure if you stay there, you ask him to play the piano and sing. There are three rooms now being used, with two more to be opened in the future. We had the only room that has the bathroom in the room. The other rooms, although having private baths, you must leave the room to get to them. Pasquale the owner, manager, maid, chauffer, cook, and all around pretty much the only presence within the Inn, is the secret ingredient that makes the whole experience come together. The Inn is not in walking distance of anything. When staying there you are dependent on a ride from him. He is very agreeable to bringing you back and forth to town, and even to a restaurant of your choice if within reasonable distance. If you are looking for a big glitzy showplace with New York amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a quiet and real Itaian experience, check Villa Monica out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We toured all over Italy during our 2 week vacation. I did extensive research searching for the perfect places to stay in each town. We stayed in some wonderful places, but this one was the best.

Despite the weather being blah, the room heater working but underperforming (calibration issue with the thermostat I think), and the bathroom down the stairs and through the "family room", this was our favorite stay. Why? Because of Pasquale. He is a wonderful personality, and this care for his guests shows in the entire experience of your stay. Fresh cake and water were provided on our arrival. A computer which can be used by the guests (ask first though!) There were extra pillows in the room, just like I like. He made a dinner reservation and chaufferred us back and forth to a great, non-tourist restaurant. His witty conversation and sense of humor make it impossible to believe he just started learning English 4 years ago. If that is truly the case, Pasquale is a genius.

Anyway, the place was wonderful. Postcard views from the room terrace. Chauffer service everywhere, so our tired walking legs got a welcome break from the extended walking we did in the other cities we visited. It was also one of our least expensive stays. Highly recommended - thanks Pasquale!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendswithdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We arrived in Sorrento and called Pasquale (the owner) - who led us up the hill to Villa Monica. It's a few minutes out of the city center, but this was just what we were looking for after a few noisy nights in downtown Rome. The rooms are lovely. Clean, well decorated, and very quiet at nights - with amazing views off the balcony of Sorrento, Naples and Mt. Vesuvius in the distance.

Pasquale was an great host. Breakfast in the mornings was very nice. He also provides a shuttle service from the Villa to the center of Sorrento and gave us plenty of tips on what to do and what to skip during our stay. His recommendations were spot on and it was nice to have someone from the area give you the "insider scoop" on what is best to avoid.

Sorrento is a nice (but somewhat touristy) town with easy access to Naples and Capri. We took the train from Sorrento to Pompeii which was around 30 minutes.

Overall - we loved our stay at Villa Monica and Sorrento. If we're ever back in that part of Italy again we will be looking up Pasquale's phone number!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2009

What more can be said about Villa Monica B&B that hasn't been said already? We spent 4 nights at Villa Monica last September and had an excellent stay. Pasquale is a wonderful host. He is funny, well organized, very helpful and always professional. Eventhough the B&B is located 4km from the town centre (at the top of a very steep hill... do not try to walk up... believe me!) we had no problem getting around. Pasquale has established a shuttle schedule and it works perfectly. We stayed in the Sorrento room. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, we had an ensuite bathroom and a spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and the Vesuvius. Every morning we enjoyed fresh fruits, cereals, selection of cheese, cold cuts and pastries for breakfast and Pasquale makes the best cappuccino! If you're planning on staying in Sorrento this is the place you have to go! Thanks again for everything Pasquale!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We spent 3 nights in Sorrento at Villa Monica and it was a great finale to a wonderful trip! Pasquale was friendly, personable, helpful and had a great sense of humor. He picked us up at the train station and drove us up to the villa (and you will want the ride, or you can drive - but don't take a big car!). The room was large, very clean, with a comfortable bed, sitting area, a balcony, and an incredible view of the Bay of Naples and Mt .Vesuvius from the bed! It was wonderfully quiet. While not within walking distance of downtown (hence the reason it is quiet!), Pasquale has set up a very convenient "shuttle" schedule for getting up and down to central Sorrento (it is about a 10 minute drive and a 1500' climb up the hill). His suggestions for dinner were spot-on, and wonderful! Breakfasts at villa monica were served outside on the lower deck, with a full selection of fruits, yogurt, breads and pastries (from Monica's pastry shop!), cheeses, cereal, cappucino, etc. - no excuse for going hungry. With a satellite tv in the lower family room, we even caught a little of the Napoli/Milan soccer match (although Naples didn't have a good game, which was disappointing to our host!). I'd highly recommend Villa Monica for someone who wants to interact with their host and other guests, does not have to be staying right "in the middle" of everything, but has easy access to everything and values a quiet, (and my wife adds - romantic) and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monica B&B

Property: Villa Monica B&B
Address: Via Campitiello 14 | Casarlano, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monica B&B is a charming Bed and Breakfast on the hills of Sorrento. With a beatiful view !! For our guests a convenient free shuttle service. Breakfast and wifi free..!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa Monica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monica Bed And Breakfast
Villa Monica Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing