We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Oasis in Sorrento”
Review of La Culla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Culla
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Oasis in Sorrento”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Great location with beautiful views. Huge clean rooms with comfy beds. Good breakfast with breads, homemade jams,pastry,fruit,meats and cheese.
If using a GPS to find, be careful. Ours said we had arrived when we were in the previous town of San Angele. You have to continue on to Sorrento. There is a sign on the bridge overhead saying Sorrento. After you underpass sign the road veers to the left and it is right around the curve on the left. A driveway with gate. You get buzzed in and drive up the hill. It is great to have free parking in Italy and secured. We slept with the huge doors open and shutters closed and felt very secure.
Someone had mentioned about the trains being loud. I was worried but wouldn't have even noticed them if it wasn't previously mentioned. It is an electric train, not whistle blowing and it doesn't run at night. Not a problem at all.
Sister Monica was wonderful, always ready to help with anything and her english is getting really good.
The terrace is a great place to come home to in the evening for a little wine and cheese and great views. Woke up one morning to see 2 cruise ships in front of us in the harbor. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a very special place. A working convent on the edge of the main Sorrento strip, it is surrounded by gardens and has great architecture. The convent is fitted out simply, but with large rooms, grand staircases, and stunning views. Our room was large, with high ceilings and a spotlessly clean ensuite, and opened out onto the large terrace. From there the views over Sorrento and across to Mt Vesuvius are simply stunning. But best of all are the nuns, who go about their business with warmth and goodwill. We arrived from Naples, having had my wallet stolen, and the nuns could not have been kinder or more helpful -- with internet access, phone assistance and real concern. Sister Monica, who does most of the talking with the guests, is a real gem. We could not rate this place and its experience more highly. A smattering of Italian helps, but goodwill will do the rest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosedale87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2010

La Culla has a warm feeling about it and the lovely Sisters make me feel very welcome every time I stay there.

The rooms are clean and spacious each with own bathroom. Enjoyed magnificent views from the large balcony. Continental breakfast to start the day (including freshly made marmalade made by the Sisters, yummo!) If I wanted to eat in for an evening meal I just let the Sisters know and there would be a scrumptious homecooked meal waiting for me at around 8pm (with a bottle of wine on the table as well!). There is a TV room if you haven’t worn yourself out looking at Sorrento and the beautiful sights.

There is a chapel you can use if you so wish. It was about 10-15 minutes’ walk to town but I also caught the public bus if I didn't feel like walking. Not the worst traffic noise I've experienced, but there is some. Didn't notice it when looking at the amazing views.

It was a lovely place to come back to at the end of a day of sightseeing. I found plenty of transport options from Sorrento, (train, bus, boat) and lots of places to see. Have stayed there twice now and will come back again next year for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeniBona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The sorrento.cc website stated that the convent "is in a quiet place and far from the traffic". However, the windows from our room opened directly over a railway line, and parallel to that a very busy road. The trains thundered past until around 11.30pm, and traffic continued strongly throughout the night. Given the lack of air conditioning, the windows do need to be left open during the night when it's as hot as it is in july/august. So make sure if you're staying you get a room around the back - although then you lose the astonishing views out over the bay. Note though that unlike the delightful Oasi Madre Della Pace up on the hill, there are no mosquito guards, so only open your windows after lights out, to limit the number of bites!

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment - the bread seemed to be stale, and on the days we were staying, there was no fruit or yoghurts like at Madre della Pace. There was bread with jam and butter, and cake. And my mother so disliked both the coffee and the tea (I don't drink them) that she stopped having them (which is a big thing for her!).

Be warned that if you don't speak Italian then some things can be a struggle. There was a very polite and helpful gentleman who spoke good english, but he's not always present. It meant that for instance dinner was a total confusion for us. We had no idea what was going on - different tables were given different dinners, although we were never asked what we wanted, and it all pretty much came at once. Much to our amusement, after being served a very tasty rice based dish, we (english) were given meat with mashed potato, whilst the french table nearby got meat with french fries. And the italian table behind us got ham and cheese with salad (no amount of smiling or "scuze"s secured us any salad from the helpers). But with it all coming at once or at random, my mother ended up having her cold rice dish with hot mashed potato, followed by a piece of meat with one slice of cheese (a lone slice given by one nun before that tray of cheese and ham was whisked away by a different nun to the italian table!). I'm sure the dinner would have seemed less confusing and frenetic if you spoke the language, but all was served, eaten and cleared within about 45mins! I personally would recommend heading in to town and getting a more relaxing dinner of your choice for less than the eur18 they charge at la culla.

The room we were in was enormous - we booked an ensuite twin room, and got a twin room, a double room, and a bathroom plus utility room. We had three sinks in all! Although it was very spacious with fantastic views, it was not particularly clean (but the noise was our main concern as above). The bedding was fine, but the floors didn't feel clean when in bare feet. The shower hook had broken so you had to hold the shower head up to have a shower, and there were quite a few ants around.

We also had a confusing time at the end when paying, as the convent seemed to think we should only be charged eur202 for the three nights, whereas the agent had said the total was eur282 as it was eur94 a night for our room. The nuns (translated by the gentleman) first said that if we had paid eur80 already then it would be eur122, but then another nun said nothing had been received from the agent and we had to pay eur202. Then after talking to the agent on the phone they said actually the total is eur282, the agent has eur80, so we must pay eur202 to cover the rest. So it seemed to us that the eur80 difference was an agency fee - we may have misunderstood, but it seemed to us that the agent was absolutely fleecing us.

All in all, we weren't best pleased. We didn't make any form of complaint about anything, as it didn't seem right to do so in a convent, despite being paying guests! But as long as you don't mind a long walk/bus ride in and out of town, I would thoroughly recommend Oasi Madre della Pace up the hill over La Culla.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

I would certainly agree with the previous reviewers of La Culla. The only negative that I would have would be the breakfast...........so bring your own coffee made in your travel coffee maker and a wonderful fresh Italian pastry on the balcony, heavenly!

The rooms are ordinary but very large. You come here for the view and the relaxing atmosphere of a convent. The website picture does not do the place justice. It is a very charming house with lovely common rooms, The nun in charge didn't crack a smile while we were there but the old nuns from the balcony always had a smile and a wave as we came in.

And can you beat Sorrento? Loved it!! A short trip to Capri, Pompeii, and the for sure, don't miss, Paestum. Lemons falling from trees to the sidewalk, what a place!

  • Liked — The location and view
  • Disliked — Unfriendly nun in charge
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnniefromelgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

La Culla is good value budget accommodation - very spacious room if basic (5 beds for 2 people when we stayed!), large and spotless bathroom and decent, simple breakfast of bread/preserves, tea, coffee included. Views from roof terrace and balcony amazing. But - be prepared for 10-15 minute walk to Piazza Tasso and old town along a busy, noisy road. La Culla is set back from and above the road so it's not too bad but at busy times you can hear the traffic when your windows are open. There are buses every 20 minutes to Piazza Tasso and beyond and I would recommend catching these and saving your energy in the heat for more enjoyable walking.

  • Liked — Views from roof terrace
  • Disliked — Walk to centre of town
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghCitybreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We stayed at La Culla for a week. It was quiet, and we had a spacious room. The nuns didn't speak English and they had no tourist information. The Gardenia Hotel over the road was extremely helpful in this respect, booking tours and restaurants for us. The nearby shop made wonderful gourmet sandwiches for picnic lunches and in the evenings we could sit on the enormous terrace high above Sorrento with wonderful views in all directions over the Bay of Naples. The nuns made wonderful homemade marmalade for breakfast. The agent was very helpful.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank Aussiesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
1.3 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Culla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Culla

Property: La Culla
Address: Corso Italia 377, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday house La Culla is 10 minutes from the center of Sorrento, Is managed by the Oblate Sisters of the Child Jesus. The hotel has 16 spacious rooms all with private bathroom, some also have available a corner with kitchen to be put to any apartment. From the last recent renovation all the rooms have air conditioning, a mini fridge, wifi in all rooms, TV, telephone. TThe house is equipped to accommodate disabled people. The rooms are cleaned by the staff each day and is included a change of linen every 3 nights. It is offered free breakfast from 8:00 to 9:30. To promote relaxation, the return at night is expected by midnight. The house has large terraces, and free parking where you can leave the car to enjoy all the wonders that the area offers. Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Massa Lubrense, Pompeii are just some of the destinations that you can reach easily from our hotel by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your La Culla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Per Ferie Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing