We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clever and modern design”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clever and modern design”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay- Our rooms were inviting and the decor had a hip vibe. The location is wonderful and the staff are most professional. We enjoyed drinks on the roof terrace as well as the very smart lobby bar.. Our kids loved the dipping pool after a hot day in Pompeii. The view from up top was amazing. The lounge chairs are in high demand so grab one while you can. The breakfast room was uplifting and the buffet was elegant and delish!
The Plaza is chic but not stuffy....loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italianfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    363
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
339
884
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Plaza at the end of our European advanture. The hotel is located perfectly just a few steps from the main square! The hotel is crisp, clean, accomodating and has a wonderful staff. The rooftop pool is beautiful (only maybe 10 chairs though, so it pays to get there early if you want a spot). The front desk staff was nice and let us know about events and excursions in the area. The rest of the hotel staff was freindly and accomodating as well. We got a basic room and it was a good size with two large windows. The shower was the only issue - water seems to not stay in it and therefore seeps out onto the bathroom floor making it quite slippery.

We would definitely stay here again just based on the location, proximity to everything, cleanliness and helpful staff!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shininghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The location of the hotel was fantastic but the hotel was okay.
Pretty hotel but they were tough on some of the rules (late check out, etc).
Plenty of other nice hotels around - if you had the choice stay at another!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your review and the nice words about the hotel and its fantastic location! However, we could not understand your comments about our supposedly “tough check out rules”. Most hotels in the world set their check out time at 10.00am and that is widely accepted. Well, ours is at 11.00am, a real bonus! Plus we tend to be unusually flexible. In fact, when room occupancy allows, we go out of our way extending check out time to 11.30 or even 12.00. Guests who have a late departure can still enjoy our rooftop skybar and pool facilities knowing that every time is possible we even freely provide a courtesy room where they can have a shower and refresh themselves before leaving. If you were not granted such special courtesy it is simply because the hotel was fully booked on the day that you checked out. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two days in early August at the end of our trip through Italy. They accommodated us in a room with one queen and two single beds. The room was small but adequate. The hotel is very modern and clean. There is a great rooftop deck and infinity pool with terrific views of the ocean and the mountains. Breakfast was excellent, and the most expansive of the four hotels we stayed in on our trip. The location is a half a block of Piazza Tasso, the main square in Sorrento, and a five minute walk from the train station. The staff were polite and courteous and were helpful in providing directions. We definitely plan to return to Sorrento and we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary_bgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My husband and I and two teenage boys stayed at the Hotel Plaza for only one night and wish we had been able to stay longer! It is a charming, small boutique hotel with an especially lovely rooftop pool and bar area. The staff was very friendly, gracious and helpful, and the buffet breakfast was superb. Upon check-in, one of our rooms was upgraded and it was definitely a much nicer room than the one our sons stayed in, though they did not complain. Since we had planned to stay in Sorrento for only one night, we thought it best to bypass the larger ocean front hotels and save a bit of money. But we all agreed that if we were to return, we would definitely book a much longer stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belsier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very lovely hotel, fabulously renovated modern decor. Great concierge, with good recommendations. Supurb breakfast. Lovely close location, up the hill a little. Close to access to Marina though. Hotel is walking distance to/from train station. Little $$ but not unreasonable. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

great hotel,ideal location,very comfortable beds,clean and friendly staff, the roof top terrace was lovely but the pool was very small,i would recommend anyone thinking of booking this hotel to pay the extra for a room with a balcony which we did,we were talking to few people there,there window was looking out onto a wall very confined and at the back of the hotel but all in all i would definately book this hotel if i was returning to sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senorita92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing