We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel -recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel -recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Plaza for a long weekend in August having reviewed the hotels on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Check in was easy and our room was actually ready early for us.

Having read the reviews we requested a balcony and, although we were only on the 2nd floor and facing the front of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a view of the Valley of the Mills, from the side of the balcony, there was not a lot of noise despite being just around the corner from the busiest area the Piazza Tasso.

This hotel is exellently located for the town and port, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly if you wanted them to engage in conversation, if not they left you alone, which we think is the most professional way to be.

Hotel pool was busy but we always managed to find space at the Skybar on top of the hotel which serves excellent snacks and has a constant supply of fine water spray to cool you down.

Rooms were cleaned daily, beds made etc and the room was extremely comfortable, didn't use the minibar which seemed expensive, but being right next to the busiest part of Sorrento why not just journey out!

Breakfast was great, an unbelievable variety of food to choose from for a continental style breakfast... try the pastries they are amazing!

We hadn't put too much thought to booking parking before we arrived but this wasn't a problem for the hotel. They had prebooked spaces in the municipal car park opposite the hotel and valet parked our car for a very reasonable price per day considering other prices charged in the region. Would recommend pre-booking a space however to avoid being disappointed if you have to drive (driving into Sorrento is not for the faint hearted!)

All in all an excellent few days away and would recommend the Plaza to anyone visiting Sorrento, we will definitely be booking back in when we return.

Room Tip: Book a balcony ideally at the top of the hotel if you want a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    358
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
333
861
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. The hotel is in a good location, the rooms are decent size and the place is clean. Front desk was ok....all in all very average and no suprises.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We booked the holiday through Thompson. We did request a balcony room. When we arrived we had a small room with a patio doors but no access outside. The view was none existant. It looked at other rooms. We then paid an extra £20 per night to upgrade. this got us a bigger room with a front balcony. Really worth it especially to sit out at night with a drink as the prices in sorrento are very high. You are talking about £5 per drink. £8.00 forn a cocktail.
The hotel did have a great location but no real view. If I was going again I would not stay here and stay in the grand hotel which is not too far away and had a sea view.

Room Tip: Upgrade! The basic rooms are not that good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolleybear1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for a week on our recent trip around this area of Italy. We are a family with teenagers and we had two rooms.

Both our rooms were on the first floor and had balconys overlooking the front of the hotel.

Our rooms were very spacious and cool with great, quiet airconditioning. The bathrooms very also very large an everything was very clean.

The hotel has a rooftop pool with great views as you swim up and down, it's not a large pool but we swam in it everyday and I don't think it could be classed as a plunge pool as some other revewers have said. It is true that there aren't a huge number of sunloungers around the pool area and so if you are planning on spending the day there you probably have to get there early. However, with so much to do in the area you rpobably wouldn't want to spend all day up there anyway.

The hotel also has an arrangement with one of the local beaches (leonellis beach) so that you can buy a ticket for a sunlounger for a day at a discount price. We spent a couple of days down there which was really nice.

There is a cocktail and piano bar on the ground floor and we had a couple of very nice cocktails there.

the location of the hotel is excellent - it is right next to the main square and shopping streets and so all the restaurants are within very easy walking distance. (The hotel doesn't open it's restaurant at night).

The hotel is really close to the station from where you can get trains and busses to many interesting places in the area such as Pompeii and Amalfi.

Breakfast was fantastic - there was so much choice. Over the week I tried to try everything but didn't quite manage it - although I did try hard! For our family one of the highlights of breakfast was the juicer - you could operate this yourslef and a huge variety of fruits and veg were cut up and layed out ready for juicing (carrots, celery, melon, plums, pears, apples etc). The cakes were great too.

If I ever go back to Sorrento again I'm sure I will stay at the Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki2007England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very nice hotel, stayed for a week with my 14 year old daughter. Excellent location for visiting local places of interest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is a gem of a hotel in Sorrento. Great size - not too big, not too small - kind of a boutique hotel. Great position a few steps from the main piazza, and no noise. Rooms are very well double glazed and cut off any noise.

Breakfast is amazing and has everything you would need - all fresh every day. I defy anyone to walk away hungry from it! Food available at the pool on the roof - delicious! The rooftop pool is terrific and has showers and clean toilets, towels and loungers. Cool areas to relax as well. Rooftop bar has everything you need if you don't want to stray far.

Rooms are very clean and modern, air con, tv and free wifi internet access throughout the hotel. Small business centre as well with free access and a printer for free - handy for boarding cards before you leave!

Staff are just fantastic - from housekeeping to the management - everyone was so friendly and determined to make sure your stay was fantastic.

There was a pianist in the bar twice a week while we were there - very nice. Bar does good cocktails too.

Can't recommend highly enough! Hope to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front. Higher floor gives best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love_good_quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay- Our rooms were inviting and the decor had a hip vibe. The location is wonderful and the staff are most professional. We enjoyed drinks on the roof terrace as well as the very smart lobby bar.. Our kids loved the dipping pool after a hot day in Pompeii. The view from up top was amazing. The lounge chairs are in high demand so grab one while you can. The breakfast room was uplifting and the buffet was elegant and delish!
The Plaza is chic but not stuffy....loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italianfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing