We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional hotel.”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An exceptional hotel.”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Read reviews of this hotel and booked it based on them.It more than lives up to the high praises of previous reviewers.For us the quality of the staff employed there is this hotels greatest asset.All in all it is a great hotel in a central location with wonderful staff.Hope to return there in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaandjaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    368
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
348
905
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Perfect hotel - location, staff and cleanliness! Located one minutes walk from Sorrento square yet very relaxing with a roof top pool and sunbeds. Breakfast of meats, pastries, scrambled egg, etc. to set you up for the day. Towels provided for sun beds and a good selection of snacks available for lunch on the roof top. Staff very helpful especially since one of our party ended up in a wheelchair after breaking his ankle whilst on holiday. Rooms adequate size although we were too late to get a balcony overlooking the street. Tips - be careful walking down to the marina as the 200 steps are well worn! A short walk of the main streets finds you cafes with drinks at half the price. Visit the icecream shop at the far end of the main street (near the hospital) for fantastic icecream. Visit Capri and the Amalfi Coast - absolutely spectacular scenery. We'll definately be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetthetraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel.
Good location, peuple friendly and quite helpful. Above all, the swimming pool is a real pleasure as well as the top roof juste aside.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaib52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frome, somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Having recently stayed at the Hotel Plaza, i had to post a review as soon as i could!

We loved the hotel. It is in a great location, just a minutes walk to the main Piazza Tasso, which is where everything is happening in Sorrento. We had the best room in the hotel, on the top floor, with a lovely balcony. The rooms are simply furnished and are light and cool. It is great to come in after a trip or after a few hours sunbathing on the Sky Bar to a lovely air conditioned room. The bathroom is great, nice bath, rain shower etc. It is also very quiet at night, which was vital! The room and the whole hotel is immaculately clean, and real credit must go to the team responsible for this.

The Sky Bar on the top of the hotel is a great place to relax and sunbathe. The pool though is more of a place just to cool off. It is impossible to swim in it. However,that said, the views of Vesuvius and Sorrento are pretty fantastic from it. The lunch menu in the Sky Bar is excellent. We always tended to go out at lunchtime, but we wish we hadnt as the lunch in the Sky Bar was far better then anything outside.

Where do i start with the breakfast! There was everything there that you could possibly want in a breakfast buffet and it took pride of place in the centre of the room. However, and this is my only complaint of the hotel, as someone who loves coffee, the coffee at breakfast is awful! We got up every morning and went for coffee at Fauno Bar, in the Piazza Tasso before breakfast.

Finally,i must mention the incredible staff. A big thankyou to Alessandro, Guiseppe,Maria and Diego. A real credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: I would say go for a room near the top of the hotel,with a front balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOMERSET1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I agree with all the other reviews posted here. First and foremost the location is superb. A five minute walk to the train station where you can take the Cirumvesuviana railway to a host of different places. The hotel is just a hundred yards from the main square, although when you are in the hotel, the hustle and bustle of the town seems so far away. The air conditioning keeps the hotel really nice and cool and hits you as soon as you walk through the entrance in the height of summer. The staff are fantastic and very professional. Loved Herculaneum - Pompeii too busy and just too big!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at the Plaza for a week to celebrate our Silver Wedding, having read many excellent reports and we were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with a balcony overlooking the main street which was lovely. The roof top terrace and pool were a delight and a great place to spend the last hour of sunshine late afternoon. Breakfast was top class and set us up nicely for the day. Finally the location is ideal and 2 minute walk to the main street - Corso Italia. We loved it, would recommend to friends and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PjReilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Really good location just off of Piazzo Tasso Our balcony looked over a busy road & was great for people watching. However, with the double glazing shut we didn't hear any noise. Agree with all the comments about the breakfast, especially the pastries; they are lovely. All of the staff were helpful and spoke very good English. Best feature was the Sky Bar, which had a fantastic view of Vesuvius & the Bay of Naples. It was really hot when we were staying at the hotel but the bar has a mist feature which helps cool you down. There are lots of seats & sun loungers in the bar area, plus a few near the pool. The pool is fairly small but is big enough to cool down in and have a swim. Top, top hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing