We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the staff!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Pity about the staff!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Our experience began with the worst welcome we have ever received at a hotel reception-welcome being the operative word!We had very much looked forward to our stay in this hotel as it appeared to have such fantastic reviews however we were thoroughly disappointed!Although the location was superb we found the rooms average,the hotel staff poor and the food and drink over- priced!We had several incidents where we were let down by staff members which we will not go into in detail!Needless to say our holiday is over and we have yet to experience this Wow factor that everyone has been writing about!!!

If you want a top hotel in sorrento go to the Bristol!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear guests, thank you for your review! Though appreciating positive comments and words of commendation about our facilities, service and staff, we do welcome constructive criticism as we aim for excellence. In your remarks however you are always quite vague. Our staff has the reputation of being extremely professional, friendly and helpful and we cannot understand what truly went wrong during your stay.
In conclusion, we are very sorry that you missed the "wow factor" that, as you say, the great majority of our guests experience visiting the Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    373
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
354
919
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

You will love the location of this hotel in Sorrento. It’s near the shops, the bus, the train and the port (to take ferry to Capri). You can walk to all. There is a great restaurant in the alleys in the shopping area. Ask at front desk (the older gentlemen with white hair). The room reminded me of a college dorm room but everything was clean and nice. Bathtub is very high. Ask for a mat for the tub. Otherwise slippery. I loved the bar downstairs (say hello to Frank). I thought the hotel employees were wonderful. They followed up with the airport when our luggage was delayed. There is a nice pool (small) on the roof overlooking the beautiful city of Sorrento. Don’t go to any restaurant where they come and pick you up. We went to a couple of those and we were pretty much eating in empty restaurants. We found better food at the restaurants in the alleys near the shops. There are two restaurants on the corner as you walk down toward the shops. They are ok, but the best restaurants are in the alleys. Also, there may be a service charge as well as a tip so try to find one that only requires one of those charges. Tipping is not expected in Italy; therefore, you don’t have to leave a tip. If you do, it doesn’t have to be 15%. Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here due to good reviews, to sum it up terrible decor, small rooms with terrible views, tiny pool, not enough sun loungers and believe me I could go on, only good point is the location and I def wouldn't return here !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1174stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Really great hotel with lovely staff and clean modern room. The breakfast was gorgeous and the pool on the roof was extremely relaxing with an amazing view. A great honeymoon hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Recently returned from The Plaza after a 10 day stay at the end of August. We had a room on the 5th floor with a front facing balcony on the end so had a great view down towards the Piazza Tasso (which is only a minute walk away) and the sea. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy. The rooftop terrace was great although the pool is very small and not big enough to swim in.There is a snack menu available at lunchtime which is also of a very high standard. The breakfast buffet was excellent, a vast array of cereals,fruits, eggs, bacon and pastries that were replenished constantly. The staff were always friendly and made us feel very welcome. The only negative thing I found with the hotel was that every afternoon the staff at the skybar would finish work at 3 o'clock and there was about a 30 minute wait for the next staff member to start work so if we wanted a drink during that time we had to go downstairs and walk to the shop over the road. Other than that it was perfect, I will forever remember Giuseppe and Diego waving goodbye to me from the breakfast room as I was leaving for the airport..a great memory! I can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the front of the hotel, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishrose1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stay for 7 days at the end of august and can say what a pleasure it was to stay at the hotel. The staff were very welcoming and attentive and special thanks goes to the bar/sky bar staff frank, maria and carlos who made you feel very relaxed serving your drinks or food to your table or wether it was around the pool or in the hotel bar. Fantastic modern hotel which is literally one minute walk from the main square, where we had several relaxing evenings with a few drinks, people watching and seeing the crowds walk on by. The rooms are spacious, and the cleaners come every day replacing towels and generally tidying which is good. The view from the sky bar and pool area are amazing and although there are a minimal amount of beds around the pool if you get there around 9.30am then there are plenty to choose from. If you want to relax by the sea the reception can give you a discount on a local beach/solorium by the sea (short walk away) and they will phone down for you to let them know your coming. I must say that the people there where very friendly and accomodating even though it was packed and we moved to catch the sun a few times.
The buffet breakfast had plenty of choice to start your day whether you were relaxing by the beach or on a trip to the fabulous sites around Sorrento.
Overall we had an amazing time and would without fail recommend to friends and relatives and would stay there again when we come back!! cant recommend enough!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dre1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Read reviews of this hotel and booked it based on them.It more than lives up to the high praises of previous reviewers.For us the quality of the staff employed there is this hotels greatest asset.All in all it is a great hotel in a central location with wonderful staff.Hope to return there in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaandjaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing